We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great champagne tour.”
Review of La Maison Mumm

La Maison Mumm
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.72*
and up
G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour
Ranked #7 of 77 things to do in Reims
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A visit to the Maison Mumm means enjoying a real Experience. It means understanding champagne "from the inside" as well as encountering the vibrant spirit of the Mumm House that has constantly been under pinned by quality and audacity since it was created in 1827. Visiting The Maison Mumm means treading in the footsteps of those who breathe daily life into it, discovering the production secrets of this "wine of kings", exploring the cellar while savouring remarkable champagnes. ... starting with the famous Cordon Rouge.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Stroller parking
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great champagne tour.”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Decided to take a tour of the caves at Mumm while in Reims. It was very interesting. I had no idea how complicated it is to make champagne (but well worth it, in my opinion). They showed a film of their history, and then took us to see the old and new equipment on our way down to the chalk tunnels (caves) where the wine is actually stored. You pass though a nice museum when the tour is finished, leaving the best part for last: tasting their famous champagne. It was delicious. They also have a nice shop too in case you would like to take a bottle with you. The admission can be pricey, for it is based on the type of champagne you are tasting.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank orangeroof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    218
    65
    20
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Visit and tasting”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Mumm cellar is a nice cellar to visit and the guide we had was really knowledgeable. My guests learnt a lot on the process of making Champagne itself. We enjoyed a "deluxe" tasting with rose champagne and blanc de blanc! Very nice!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank MissMarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good tour with reasonably priced champagne”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Most champagne houses are very much of a muchness and this was no exception. The tour was given by a gentleman who was passionate about the product and certainly knew all there was to know about the production of Mumm champagne.

We were told of the history of the caves and cellars and the tour itself lasted about an hour.

After the tour of the cellars he gave his individual attention to each tasting fully describing each cuvee. This is one tour I would recommend.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rigibann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed and over priced”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

A one hour guided tour of the caverns underneath the Mumm factory in Reims. High level explanation of the process but glossed over a lot f the history and especially the museum section f old equipment

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Really enjoyed our tour of Mumm, but then I've been waiting to tour a Champagne House for a long time. We were only passing through Reims and had pre-booked thinking this would make it easier. There were some problems on arrival but the staff were all very helpful and we soon sorted it out.
The tour itself lasts an hour and you go through different levels of the cellars, having a brief presentation of what it takes to produce the final bottle on the shelf. The 4km tunnel is very impressive as is the priceless collection of Mumm bottles dating back to 1895.
At the end you have your tasting, depending on what you've paid. Those who had paid the most didn't seem that impressed with their choice so we were happy with ours. A quick tour of the shop and off we went.
Staff were friendly, knowledgable and there was parking on site. It really wetted my appetite to tour more houses so can't wait.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JoF-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Maison Mumm also viewed

 

Been to La Maison Mumm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing