We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Let down” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Reims Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Reims Centre
Ranked #12 of 69 Hotels in Reims
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Let down”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is typical of a Holiday Inn and the room we had was large and sunny with excellent facilities. I would say that the hotel is very much part of the IHG Group, but unfortunately it appears to be run by imbeciles, at least at the duty management and front desk levels. We had arranged for a package containing a replacement loaded debit card to be courier end there from NewZealand, following a robbery in Barcelona. I went to the trouble of ringing this hotel fromLisbon to tell. Them to expect it and to receive it. Oui,Monsieur! No sign of it when we arrived and despite several enquiries a day over the 2days to be answered with Non, Monsieur! We have since had AirNZ track the delivery through DHL and the package was received and signed for on 19 Sept a whole 4 days before we arrived. After about 10 international phone calls we finally got a duty manager to talk to us and who recognized the signature and was to ring us back.....still waiting! We rang her on several subsequent occasions and she was unable to be contacted.
Now they don't answer the phone at all, probably recognizing the number! On the advice of another IHGGroup manager, who was appalled, we have lodged a complaint with Group Customer Service, however we still do not have our debit card and have to live on our credit card, which of course, costs interest! We await the outcome with anticipation from Group Corporate level.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cecile d d, Responsable commercial at Holiday Inn Reims Centre, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear guest,


We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention.

I apologize for the problems you encountered in the hotel and for any inconveniences the hotel staff services may have caused you.

Your experience is definitely not representative of the usual high standards of service and quality our hotel pride itself on.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope having the chance to welcome you a second time.

Feel free to contact me to offer you a personalized welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    288
    114
    36
    18
See reviews for
88
330
9
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here recently, we had a great stay. The staff are very helpful and even helped us book a local champagne tour. The rooms are very clean and modern, the bar at the top of the hotel was great and offered a lovely view.

The food (Breakfast) was great and the location is perfect, just a few minutes walk from the main street and all the bars and restaurants.

I would happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_GTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cecile d d, Responsable commercial at Holiday Inn Reims Centre, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your kind comments.

Since your departure, we add nice red curtains in our fine Italian restaurant. The atmosphere on the 7th floor is now even more confortable.

Hoping having the chance to welcome your another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I want to say that this rating of poor is because of two things I require that others might not. But since this is about my opinion, that is what you're getting and it might vary much from someone else's.
First of all, I would like to say it is in a good section of town for the tourist. It's close to the main street with the restaurants and cafe. Not far from the cathedral and an easy walk to some Champagne caves. About a 10 minute walk from the train station.
It is clean and the room is a decent size. Good water pressure and plenty of hot water. Bed is comfortable and I received the kind of room I had reserved.
When we checked in, there were quite a few of us waiting to do so and it might be a good idea for the hotel to add an extra person during the busy times of day. The receptionist was doing her best, and keeping a smile on her face, but there were 3 couples waiting to be assigned their rooms and 2 couples waiting to ask questions about sights in the area.
Sounds pretty good so far and why am I unhappy....because the internet was always cutting out and without warning. Save early and save often comes to mind. And that is certainly the case here. If one is forced to do some work while on vacation, this can be very frustrating. I understand about signing on once per day, and I'm fine with that, but it was more like every 2 hours you had to go through the procedure.
And what is definitely a deal killer for me is noise while trying to sleep. There was a constant slamming of doors, which indicates that the doors were not the kind that close quietly. And the service personnel, who were cleaning adjacent rooms, slammed and banged into walls and made noise in the hallways to the point of rudeness. Certainly not caring if they were disturbing guests with 'do not disturb' signs prominently displayed on doors.
We will not be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alastairdeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Reims Centre, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear alastairdeacon,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are so pleased you liked the fine location of our hotel in the area and the cleanliness of your room. Please accept our sincerest apology for the challenges you had with our Internet connection and the noise which affected your stay negatively. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and take actions accordingly.

Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Given previous disappointments at this hotel I booked in May this year for one night to stop on our return from the South in September. I specifically reserved the Duplex Suite (there are only 2) as it is a nice big room and has a bath - most rooms now only have showers and very limited wardrobe space. We arrived at 1.45 pm to be told - room won't be ready for an hour - not great after an 8 hour car journey. We sat in reception right next to the desk. The main refurbishment was to this area and its rather bizarre as its all based around Alice in Wonderland with lots of figurines and books - no idea what the link is to the hotel. After an hour of waiting I approached the receptionist again who agreed that the room was indeed now ready - how long she would have left us there is anybodys guess! Then I am told that due to a supposed 'flood' the night before I can't have the room I booked 4 months previously but will be given a 'family' room and a refund! The family room has 2 beds and at least did have a bath with a shower - however no shower screen or curtain! The sink was disgusting - dirty and very scratched and chipped - clearly the recent refurbishment only touched certain areas! Another new look for the hotel are pillows with signs that say 'soft' or 'firm' - very quaint but blimmin uncomfortable whichever you choose. Next morning I finally got my small refund but only after convincing them that we really didn't have breakfast as they seemed to have indicated on their computer! Will definitely be seeking alternative accommodation for future trips.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tig99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Reims Centre, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Tig99,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We take all comments seriously and value the chance to make improvements where possible.

I am disappointed to hear that we failed to meet your expectations in most areas. I sincerely apologize for the poor service you had during check in and for the dissatisfaction you had with our amenities and room condition. Rest assured that this isn't reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves with, as such, your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades

It is our fullest intention to provide the best experience, as such, we are constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts assuring you of our best attention and service at all times. We appreciate the feedback that we receive from our guests and this is crucial for us to address any issues that may come up. We all hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Room was just big enough but we had doubts about the cleanliness. Smell of drains in the bathroom. You get paper cups for tea or coffee in the room. Reception staff excellent, the best part of the stay. Roof top bar and restaurant, not well enough staffed and Italian food! Lifts are crazy they go past your floor! Sunday breakfast starts at 7:30 but we went up a little early to find it in full swing with a group of Japanese tourists. Free wifi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian8008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Reims Centre, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Brian8008,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here at the end of our trip around Europe. Rooms were comfortable and clean. The hotel car park was full when we arrived so parked in the secured car park 50 metres away. This car park was much bigger than the hotels and only cost 1€ more for 24 hours. Location was great, the Notre Dame and Basilica were within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberg, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was a nice hotel in the center of Reims. The room was clean and serviceable. There is a nice bar on the roof with a great view of the city - an excellent place to enjoy a coupe of champagne. Parking was tight, but that is par for the course for a hotel in the city center. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: A room facing the street is nice, especially since there isn't much in the way of road noise at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reims hotels
Hincmar
Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau Les Crayeres
#1 of 69 in Reims
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Centre Erlon-Est
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#3 of 69 in Reims
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Reims Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Reims Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Reims Centre
Address: 46 rue Buirette, 51100, Reims, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Reims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Reims Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely refurbished in 2013, the hotel Holiday Inn Reims Center combines the sophistication and comfort of a hotel.Ideally located in the heart of Reims, near the Place Drouet d’Erlon, you may walk to the main monument of the city : The Cathedral. When thinking of the new design of the Holiday Inn Reims Centre, the architect got inspiration from this majestic edifice. Its symbol, the rose window, is spread throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Reims Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Garden Court Reims City Hotel Reims
Holiday Inn Reims
Reims Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing