We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Let Down Yet Again!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Reims Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Reims Centre
Ranked #12 of 69 Hotels in Reims
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Let Down Yet Again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Given previous disappointments at this hotel I booked in May this year for one night to stop on our return from the South in September. I specifically reserved the Duplex Suite (there are only 2) as it is a nice big room and has a bath - most rooms now only have showers and very limited wardrobe space. We arrived at 1.45 pm to be told - room won't be ready for an hour - not great after an 8 hour car journey. We sat in reception right next to the desk. The main refurbishment was to this area and its rather bizarre as its all based around Alice in Wonderland with lots of figurines and books - no idea what the link is to the hotel. After an hour of waiting I approached the receptionist again who agreed that the room was indeed now ready - how long she would have left us there is anybodys guess! Then I am told that due to a supposed 'flood' the night before I can't have the room I booked 4 months previously but will be given a 'family' room and a refund! The family room has 2 beds and at least did have a bath with a shower - however no shower screen or curtain! The sink was disgusting - dirty and very scratched and chipped - clearly the recent refurbishment only touched certain areas! Another new look for the hotel are pillows with signs that say 'soft' or 'firm' - very quaint but blimmin uncomfortable whichever you choose. Next morning I finally got my small refund but only after convincing them that we really didn't have breakfast as they seemed to have indicated on their computer! Will definitely be seeking alternative accommodation for future trips.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tig99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Reims Centre, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Tig99,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We take all comments seriously and value the chance to make improvements where possible.

I am disappointed to hear that we failed to meet your expectations in most areas. I sincerely apologize for the poor service you had during check in and for the dissatisfaction you had with our amenities and room condition. Rest assured that this isn't reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves with, as such, your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades

It is our fullest intention to provide the best experience, as such, we are constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts assuring you of our best attention and service at all times. We appreciate the feedback that we receive from our guests and this is crucial for us to address any issues that may come up. We all hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    288
    114
    36
    18
See reviews for
88
330
9
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Room was just big enough but we had doubts about the cleanliness. Smell of drains in the bathroom. You get paper cups for tea or coffee in the room. Reception staff excellent, the best part of the stay. Roof top bar and restaurant, not well enough staffed and Italian food! Lifts are crazy they go past your floor! Sunday breakfast starts at 7:30 but we went up a little early to find it in full swing with a group of Japanese tourists. Free wifi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian8008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Reims Centre, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Brian8008,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here at the end of our trip around Europe. Rooms were comfortable and clean. The hotel car park was full when we arrived so parked in the secured car park 50 metres away. This car park was much bigger than the hotels and only cost 1€ more for 24 hours. Location was great, the Notre Dame and Basilica were within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberg, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was a nice hotel in the center of Reims. The room was clean and serviceable. There is a nice bar on the roof with a great view of the city - an excellent place to enjoy a coupe of champagne. Parking was tight, but that is par for the course for a hotel in the city center. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: A room facing the street is nice, especially since there isn't much in the way of road noise at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

we had a good night in Reims. Thanks.

We were told about places to eat and 'son et lumiere' on the cathedrale. Very good.

Nice room.

We were told about day special fair, but asked for internet fair instead and got it no question asked.

bathroom floor may be slipery when wet... watch out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra_and_Eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent one night here visiting Reims from Paris. We found it perfectly clean, functional and predictable. The service at reception was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was edible, with great views over the city and its incredible cathedral from the top floor restaurant. There is also a nice outside terrace, although it was raining when we were there. All in all, it was good for the price we paid; nothing too exciting but then you're staying in a Holiday Inn so...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin and Kitty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Reims Centre, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Edwin and Kitty N,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to place a review regarding your visit.

We are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the facilities and services that we have to offer. Your satisfaction is of utmost importance to us as we constantly strive to make your experience a pleasant one.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write to us. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kontich, Belgium
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

You'll find this hotel in the city centre, just a short walk to Place Drouet d'Erlon where you'll find a lot of restaurants and bars. It's also not far from the shopping streets and the Cathedral.
The hotel has a modern look and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
The prices are fair and it also has parking onsite (€11/day)

I got a room on the 6th floor facing the street.
The room was very nice, modern, large and the bed was very comfortable. Selection of pillows on the bed, as usual in a Holiday Inn, filled minibar and free WiFi. A small downside was the bathroom, which was equipped for disabled people, but nevertheless very clean.

On the 7th floor there is a restaurant and bar, with terrace. From the terrace you have a beautiful view from Reims and the cathedral. I only used the restaurant for the breakfast.
Breakfast was very basic and choice consisted of the normal variety of foods, scrambled eggs and bacon. Coffee was served from a percolator.
Honestly I have had far better breakfasts at other Holiday Inn hotels, so this was a minus.
Maybe worth thinking of not taking the breakfast next time and go to Place Drouet D'Erlon instead. Plenty of possibilities there.

Good to know:
The well known champagne houses as a.o. Ruinart, Pommery, Veuve Clicquot, are not close.
They are all situated in the east - south east of Reims, so you'll need to take public transport or take the car.

I'll probably book the hotel again for my next trip to Reims.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mkiverijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reims hotels
Hincmar
Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau Les Crayeres
#1 of 69 in Reims
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Centre Erlon-Est
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#3 of 69 in Reims
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Reims Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Reims Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Reims Centre
Address: 46 rue Buirette, 51100, Reims, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Reims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Reims Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely refurbished in 2013, the hotel Holiday Inn Reims Center combines the sophistication and comfort of a hotel.Ideally located in the heart of Reims, near the Place Drouet d’Erlon, you may walk to the main monument of the city : The Cathedral. When thinking of the new design of the Holiday Inn Reims Centre, the architect got inspiration from this majestic edifice. Its symbol, the rose window, is spread throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Reims Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Garden Court Reims City Hotel Reims
Holiday Inn Reims
Reims Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing