We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did the job”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Tulip Reims L Univers
Ranked #48 of 69 Hotels in Reims
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Did the job”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in June. Close to Centrale railway station. Arrived before check-in time but staff kindly stored our luggage. Close to restaurants and cafe's, trams and the cathedral. When checked in, found the room to be of good size, only drama being the safe was locked with no way of opening it. Previous people must have shut the door on it. Informed staff but no one came to open it during the course of our stay. Had a drink in the bar, The barman was a bit of an aquired taste. Not sure if he was trying to be funny or actually was arrogant. No wine list offered, it was left up to his choice, when paying at end of stay, found out that he had expensive taste....
Room was clean and tidy, bathroom of good size. They were in the midst of putting in a new lift when we were there but it was operational. No dramas with the wi-fi.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    37
    39
    49
    25
See reviews for
15
66
4
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Place is right across the street from the rail station ,check in no issues ,nice clean place,room was in the front there was a xmas fair going on but couldn;t hear anything rooms pretty sound proof. they had no issues letting us store our luggage there even pass checkout to see the sights,would stay there again no problem .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saarland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel is centrally located near the cathedral, parking on the public parking lot amidst trees is free on weekends, apparently the hotel is undergoing renovations, the bar is a construction site, the elevator didn't work, not much fun carrying your luggage up to the 4th floor, the advertised free wifi internet didn't work, the receptionist said "it's kaputt", staff was friendly. Breakfast was included and except for the horrible coffee okay, if you don't eat bacon (looked a bit aged), the room was okay, just one thing missing, the shower curtain. The hotel is good for a short stay (one night) but i wouldn't stay any longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveldude64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and in a room at the front which was very noisy. However, we were welcomed and a problem with our booking was sorted with no trouble at all. The friendly staff we dealt with and the very convenient location to the train and the city lifted the ordinary 3 star experience into a pleasant stay. Parking was free nearby.

Room Tip: Not at the front.!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hepast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located in a beautifull street near the train station
The hotel is celebrating 100 years and would benefit from a renovation
Still the hotel's art deco style, the location, the comfort of the room and the price make it an excellent choice for a short stay
There is free parking within a block from the hotel

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dahoui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend on our visit to Reims. We had a hard time finding and available hotel for this weekend due to the holiday weekend and the soccer game that was playing on Saturday night. We ended up selecting the Grand Hotel de l'Univers due to it's location.

However, we were highly disappointed for the following reasons:
1) the hotel reception staff were not very friendly and it was difficult to have reservations made at some of the Champagne houses
2) the hotel was extremely dirty- the carpets and walls especially in the main areas
3) the room was extremely dirty- carpets, curtains, walls, peeling wood on the doors, mold in the bathroom
4) the bed was small and uncomfortable
5) we did not have a working telephone in the room and no hot water in the bathroom. i could not call the front desk to notify them of the problem so had to go down. A repair man was sent for the shower but not for the phone.

We wish we had selected another hotel. This hotel is NOT a three star.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reims hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reims hotels
Grand Hotel du Nord
#25 of 69 in Reims
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Centre Erlon-Est
Aux Sacres Reims Centre
Centre Erlon-Est
Hotel Crystal
Hotel Crystal
#29 of 69 in Reims
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre Erlon-Ouest
Grand Hotel Continental
Bristol Hotel
#35 of 69 in Reims
3.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Centre Erlon-Est
Ibis Reims Centre
Ibis Reims Centre
#13 of 69 in Reims
3.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Reims L Univers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Reims L Univers

Property: Golden Tulip Reims L Univers
Address: 41 boulevard Foch, 51100, Reims, France (Formerly Le Grand Hotel de l'Univers)
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims > Centre Erlon-Est
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 69 Hotels in Reims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Tulip Reims L Univers 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Reims L Univers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Reims

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing