We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for a knight or two”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel des Templiers
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Reims
Certificate of Excellence
Lewes
Level Contributor
182 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“A great place for a knight or two”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2008

This is a first class place to spend a weekend or to use as a base to explore Champagne. It is ideally situated on the north side of Reims and close to a host of top quality brasseries.

One of an increasing number of quality hotels that serves only breakfast the Templiers is a fine old building with a small number of comfortable bed rooms although somewhat light on storage space. Despite having a superior room on the ground floor the bath almost required a shoe horn for me to prise myself into.

However the staff are charming, there is off road parking which takes some negotiating on arrival as the old coaching entrance is about as tight a squeeze as the bath.

Reims is also a delight to explore, something that cannot be said of neighbouring Epernay. This is a warm and welcoming hotel that I heartily recommend.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfing-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    115
    35
    11
    4
See reviews for
20
178
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
82 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2007

I booked this hotel as a part of a grand tour in Alsace,Lorraine and Champagne regions.Arrived by car(with GPS) 2 pm.Check in very fast and professional.The room(20) was a deluxe one for a daily rate of EUR 280.00 without breakfast.Air conditioned "split"with remote control.No free internet in the room.Hermes toiletries VERY GOOD.The only problem was the location of the hotel:there's nothing around it!No bars,no restaurants,nothing.You have to walk 20 minutes to the Cathedral.The breakfast was too expensive(25 euros)for what it offers.The man in the reception at night is very attentive,nice and willing to help.

  • Liked — Hermes toiletries and "split" air conditioned
  • Disliked — The location.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2007

Four of us stayed here for Easter 2007.

I thought the rooms were very spaciuos and beautiful bathrooms, snacks in room was a nice touch. AND Hermes toiletries in the bathroom was a wonderful treat!!

Quiet a walk into town ( about 20 mins) - I have to agree with another review and say that 25€ a continental breakfast is rather high.

The staff were friendly and helpful, but we did laugh as they were a bit like memebers of the Adams family!!!

Slightly over-priced but a nice small hotel. I would return!!!

  • Liked — Rooms were great
  • Disliked — Dining room and bar are a little tired and could do with an update
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SammyBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2007

My wife, me, and my 18 month old spent one night in a "Superior" room. It was a pleasant experience, but not worth 190 Euros. We did take advantage of the indoor pool and tasty free snacks in the rooms, but everything about the place was worn to one degree or another. The early 1990s-era pool area was deserted when we were there, but the air was so warm it felt more like a sauna. Still, we enjoyed a swim and then put the baby to bed. The modern (remote control) air conditioning was the best part of the hotel as it was a humid evening and the wireless internet worked well with my laptop. The valet parking was also very easy and safe as all cars are parked in a courtyard we could see from our room.

The carpet, however, was the worst. It was deeply stained throughout and should have been replaced long ago! There is NOTHING around the hotel and you need to walk about 10 minutes or so to see the wonderful Cathedral or find any signs of life (restaurants, etc...). Luckily we brought a cooler of beer and snacks and enjoyed several hours on the hotel patio as the sun went down. The staff was friendly and the night clerk was one of the nicest Frenchmen we met on our trip. He answered lots of questions about Reims and visited we us at length, but as soon as another guest arrived to check in, he snapped to attention to provide the same exceptional service. His welcome attitude, patience, and fluent English made me feel a lot better about the high price of the room.

I'm not certain if I would stay here again unless the rooms (carpets) were renovated.

  • Liked — Air conditioning, wireless internet, indoor pool, valet/secure parking
  • Disliked — lack of value for the price, dirty carpet, rough, dated interior
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank pitt1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
254 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2007

We stayed for 4 nights in a deluxe room at the Templiers. It was quiet and the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Whilst the hotel is not right in the heart of the city it is still well positioned that you can walk to the main sites and some champagne houses. We would stay at this hotel again. We found it a good base for exploring the region.

  • Liked — The hotel was in a quiet street.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bevchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts,UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2007

My wife & I spent one night in a standard room. The room was reasonably spacious, comfortable and well equipped with the bathroom having a bath and separate shower. A fine selection of 'nibbles' were gratis in the room and chocolates left as part of the turn down service.

We did not partake of the breakfast at 25 euro per head (which at that price needs to be something special) but had no problem getting tea served in our room in the morning at a reasonable 10 euro.

The hotel is very quiet at night and well located for the up-market champagne houses of Krug & Louis Roderer, but these houses are not open to the casual visitor. Mumm is also quite close but don't bother with the tour here as it's a bit of a tourist rip-off. The cathedral is about a 7-8 minute walk as are some decent restaurants (in would be useful if there was one a bit closer).

All staff are friendly & helpful. Valet on-site parking in secure car park.

  • Liked — Very quiet
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Blob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2005

The hotel undoubtedly has a fantastic location and it's easy to walk (or stagger!) to all the champagne houses in Reims. A definite bonus is that there is free parking in a secure courtyard behind the hotel. My only concern was that there never seems to be anyone else staying there. At the end of August we only spotted another two guests!

The rooms at the hotel are small and pretty tired looking. The carpet is quite worn and the curtains, bedspreads and other furnishings have definitely seen better days. The bed was also pretty uncomfortable and there was nowhere to sit down in the room other than on the bed. In the bathroom there is quite a lot of space but again, the avocado bathroom suite was dated and starting to look a bit dirty, with black mildew stains around the sealant in the shower cubicle. That said, the service was excellent - towels were changed twice a day and the bed was turned down at night and a small chocolate left on the pillow. There were also some other nice touches in the room, for example, a small dish of nuts and popcorn was left on the side and it was replenished each day.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful, recommended some great local restaurants and gave us some useful local maps. When we ordered tea on the terrace it was served in a silver teapot on a silver tray with some delicious biscuits.

This hotel is one of the most expensive in the centre of Reims and I didn't feel that the cost was really warranted for the standard of the room. If it was totally refurbished it would be an absolute gem. However, in terms of location it's perfect.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Hip-Hotels-Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reims hotels
Chateau Les Crayeres
#1 of 69 in Reims
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre Erlon-Est
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#3 of 69 in Reims
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
L'Assiette Champenoise
#1 of 10 in Tinqueux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel des Templiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel des Templiers

Property: Grand Hotel des Templiers
Address: 22 rue des Templiers, 51100, Reims, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reims
#8 Luxury Hotel in Reims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel des Templiers 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel des Templiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Reims

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing