We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chateau Les Crayeres
Ranked #1 of 69 Hotels in Reims
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Grand charm”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

It really lives upto it's reputation and reviews as a magnificent hotel in a beautiful setting. The rooms and house are decorated classically and tastefully as you would expect. The service is friendly and attentive. The breakfast is first rate especially if you have a sweet tooth. They offer delicious yoghurt and mousse combinations. Three minor issues: 1000 am deadline for breakfast in the restaurant on a Saturday is a little harsh; there was only one small bar of soap in the bathroom and the pressure in the shower was far too low.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    80
    33
    10
    5
See reviews for
78
419
9
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a review I am more than pleased to write and rave about.
A beautiful chateau just outside Reims, between Pommery and Veuve Clicquot in a lovely private garden park setting, the former residence of Madame Pommery we were advised, and it is great!
We stayed in one of the 2 best suites, large, roomy, light, traditionally decorated, great balcony overlooking the park gardens behind....and the best night sleep I have had in a hotel room in years. Quiet, and an extremely comfortable bed, super clean, crisp and perfect pillows.
This is the minor positive...the dinner in the main dining room was fabulous. we had the degustation style set menu that left me totally full yet wanting more. The wine book is thicker than "war and peace" and probably requires a degree in french wine appreciation to make any sense (I dare not risk trying to spell oenology), however the sommelier was friendly and helpful and fluent in english, so to have the choice of so many champagne houses and styles, was in itself a treat.
We drank different champagnes throughout the entire day and evening and could not have enjoyed ourselves more. The food was light, creative, rich and delicately flavoured all at the same time. A truly wonderful experience. The staff were friendly, warm, informative and made this stay the wonderful experience that it was. I can highly recommend this for dinner and the night. The suite was large and...dare I say it...perfect. To have a leisurely breakfast in bed the next morning with the french doors swung open and the sunshine and breeze filling the room is an experience here well worth the cost and effort to get to Reims. Again, recommended.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the "Josephine Suite", and there is an equivalent suite on the opposite corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmaJayKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crayeres, Responsable relations clients at Chateau Les Crayeres, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Domaine Les Crayères for your stay in Reims and for taking time to vive this contribution.

We are happy to know you have enjoyed your stay and that Domaine Les Crayères met your expectations.
We like hearing about our guests’ experiences which help us to understand their wishes and to improve our services.

Nowadays, a personalized service of quality makes an important difference and our congratulations motivate us to keep working this way.

We hope having the pleasure to welcoming you at Domaine Les Crayères very soon.

Yours sincerely

Cindy SIMON
Quality manager & customer liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had lunch at Les Crayeres on our daughters 18th birthday during our tour of the champagne region. Lunch was incredible, food was delicious, wonderfully presented and not over priced. Service was excellent, friendly, courteous, but not at all pretentious. We wanted to create a special day for our daughter and it certainly was.

My husband and I will return to the Chateau and stay there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonFitzatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Another excellent stay, as always! The staff helps to make this establishment a very special place. This was our fifth visit to Les Crayeres and we traveled to the area with another couple who wanted to experience the Chateau and its offerings. Both couples had a room on the second floor, and a package that included breakfast and dinner in the signature restaurant. I hit a few snags with the dinner this visit, but they were quickly resolved and the meal was lovely, as usual. We especially enjoyed the veal/foie gras pie main course. Having breakfast in our room is something we always look forward to, and it did not disappoint. This visit marked the first occasion we had the opportunity to enjoy lunch in Le Jardin, it was excellent and we look forward to dining there again. If there is one area where I think there could be slight improvement, it would be to picture more rooms on the website. While all the rooms are lovely and unique and we enjoyed the view in ours, I was disappointed in the fact that we did not have a separate shower in the salle de bain. Also, it's too bad that the Hermes soaps have been replaced with shower gels. Other than that, I cannot find any fault with Les Crayeres and we hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelluver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I agree with the prior reviewer that this is an "overrated chateau", and it is a place that I wanted to like much more than I did. Part of this problem is that the traveler needs to understand that when you arrive in Reims, you wait in a line to get a cab (fifteen minutes for us) and then drive outside of the city to this chateau, and then you are isolated there unless you organize a trip back in to Reims. You can walk to all the main champagne houses and that part is great, but we didn't see any restaurants, cafes or shops or anything around this chateau. And don't go hungry to Les Crayeres . . . there was no room service and they couldn't even provide a cracker from 4-7:15 p.m. when they decided they would then open their restaurant. (When I complained after our visit they said they were putting together a room service menu, but it did not exist in September 2012). Our room was very small even though mid-range in price and was not any better than much less expensive Relais & Chateux properties in the Loire Valley. But the main thing about this place is that the staff was so rude and unfriendly. I agree also with the prior reviewer that it was like you were putting them out to request any assistance or service, except for one young lady at the front desk who was the only one who smiled. This place has great marketing to be able to sell people on the idea of spending this much money on a place that has some nice parklike grounds behind it but no spa, no gym, no pool, no nothing except sitting in your room waiting for the restaurant to open. Least favorite place in a two-week trip to France.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelgirl4Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crayeres, Responsable relations clients at Chateau Les Crayeres, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

First of all, we would like to thank you for the precious time you took to give us your impression regarding your stay in Domaine Les Crayères.

Our hotel is located 7-minutes driving distance from the train station of Reims Centre and we are not responsible if the taxi company was busy. We truly regret this and we are working with the them in order to improve their service’s quality.
Since the arrival of our Chef Philippe Mille, we have a room service menu which is available in the room and at the Bar, from 2.00pm until 6.00pm
Past this delay, both restaurants are open to welcome our guests for dinner.

Be sure that all our collaborators do their best to give our guests the attentions that will leave them an unforgettable memory of Domaine Les Crayères. It is really rare to receive a review like yours, but, please accept our apologies if our personal show you disrespect.

We would be pleased to give you a special attention during your next stay.. Do not hesitate to contact me, or the front desk manager Mrs Marie-Liesse MANTSCH for your reservation.
We hope having the pleasure to welcoming you in the future,

Yours sincerely,

Cindy SIMON
Quality manager & Customer liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, England
Level Contributor
167 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Our second stay at Les Crayeres after a long gap did not disappoint.
The chateau is set in extensive grounds on the outskirts of Reims, surrounded by the great champagne houses.
On arrival we were upgraded to a 'Duchesse' room from a 'Baronne' (the rooms are graded by aristocratic titles, from 'Impératrice' at the top to 'Baronne' for a standard room. Our three-room suite was spacious, quiet and stylishly- presented.
Staff were friendly and helpful in English or French.
Our package included a gastronomic meal with wine in the main restaurant. Food and service were faultless. Not to be missed is the cheese trolley, which is not the usual French pot-pourri, but just two enormous rounds of Comté, one matured to 24 months, the other to 36, from which the waiter shaves a few strips per person - sublime.
There is also a brasserie, Le Parc, in the gardens, but we did not get chance to try this during our short stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pra51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The grounds are magnificent and the hotel is even better. Very cool old world feel appropriate for the area. We started our trip in Reims in search of the best champagne vineyard. the hotel is only about 20 minutes from the vineyards.
Our room was very large and beautifully decorated (not too old and stuffy!). We had wonderful views of the front gardens. The restaurants were ghastly expensive ($500 lunch!) but we learned quickly and took a taxi to the little town to get some authentic French food. The bar is very neat and we watched shooting stars from the large outdoor patio.
Wonderful place to stay- worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reims hotels
L'Assiette Champenoise
#1 of 10 in Tinqueux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Centre Erlon-Est
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#4 of 69 in Reims
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Les Crayeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Les Crayeres

Property: Chateau Les Crayeres
Address: 64 boulevard Henry Vasnier, 51685, Reims, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Reims
#1 Business Hotel in Reims
#1 Luxury Hotel in Reims
#3 Family Hotel in Reims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Les Crayeres 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, World Independent Hotel Promotion and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chateau Les Crayeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Les Crayeres Reims
Chateau Les Crayeres Hotel Reims

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing