We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good, not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale
Ranked #15 of 69 Hotels in Reims
Bologna - Italy
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not good, not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

Great location for this property which stand few minutes walking from the city center, the Cathedral and the main routes to almost everywhere in France. However, we expected much more seeing the pictures and reading the comments by other travellers.

Briefly, pros:
- great location
- possibility to park the car (even for free)
- free wi-fi
- satellite television
- free mini bar (if you choose the option "privilege" which cost you an additional but reasonable fee)
- calm and quiet

Cons:
- horrible smell in hallway, corridors and also in the room (we were given a non-smoking room which had a terrible smoking smell)
- rooms are not very big, we expected much more space
- some of the furniture of the room should be renewed: carpet, chairs and even the bed were not in good conditions

Overall: fair enough for the amount you pay, but I would not rate it more than "average"

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbeusBologna_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    551
    281
    81
    48
See reviews for
231
560
61
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

We arrived at the hotel, having driven from Switzerland and were planning to use it as a stopover, en route to England. The reception area seemed OK and the receptionist was very welcoming. We found our interconnecting rooms, which were very basic. The hallway smelled very damp and musty - very unpleasant. We asked for information about the champagne houses and were given incorrect info. We found a nice restaurant in Reims and then decided to drive home that night. We didn't even stay the night, preferring to drive home.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank yvonne108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in this hotel in Reims from the 23rd July 2010.
We arrived in Reims by TGV train from Paris, and found the hotel quite easily it was about a 20 minute walk from the station and situated quite centrally, not far from the Cathedral.

We were made very welcome at reception and allocated an excellent room, with a view over the canal. The room proved to be very comfortable, air-conditioned, well furnished and very clean. There was satellite TV with an English news channel, also an electric kettle and tea and coffee making equipment supplied. The room furniture included a small table with two chairs. A small safe was provided at reception to make our valuables secure.

The buffet breakfast was excellent with plenty to eat and a good variety, in a room with an attractive outlook. The service was by attentive English-speaking staff who were all very friendly.

We found that all the staff at this hotel were exceptionally helpful and friendly with most speaking good English.

We would be very pleased to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
149 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

This hotel is within reasonable walking distance of the main 'attractions' of Reims; i.e. the cathedral, shops, bars/restaurants and town-centre champagne caves. It is also very quick and easy to find from the autoroute and has very secure underground parking.

We stayed here for two nights as an extended stopover on the way back from the south of France to the UK (via Calais), but it would also be an ideal place to stay for a one-night stopover, as it is so easy to get into town for a meal out etc in the evening. When we checked in the hotel receptionist gave us a map and pointed out the main landmarks, so finding the main sights shouldn't be a problem, even if you don't have much time to explore and you aren't familiar with Reims. There are so many restaurants and bars that it would be a shame to miss them.

We didn't have dinner or breakfast in the hotel, but we used the bar which was quiet but comfortable and run by friendly and efficient staff. In fact, all of the staff we dealt with we extremely friendly and helpful.

Our (triple) room was a decent size, clean and comfortable. Generally, the hotel had a nice comfortable feel to it with public areas on mezzanine floors above reception making an impressive area.

As I mentioned, the underground car park seems very secure. However, there is a sign by the entrance saying the height limit was 1.8m. My car is 1.83m including a short roof aerial; I took this off an cleared the ceiling quite easily, so the ceiling must be higher than 1.8m, but maybe only by a few cm, and there may be low points in places. So, be aware of this if you will be arriving in a high vehicle.

Public, open air parking is available nearby (at very reasonable rates), if you need more height, but this is completely open and not as secure as the hotel's car park, although it seems a decent area. To find this public car park, when you approach the hotel on bvd Paul Doumer, turn right just after the hotel - it's about 100-200m further along the road, under a road viaduct.

All in all, this is an excellent town centre hotel and I would recommend it as a base for exploring Reims or as a stopover.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farnborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Yorkshire
Level Contributor
158 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2010

Got checked in very early ( 2pm), no probs with that. Hotel only about 500 metres from catherdral and shops/restaraunts so location quite good. Restaraunt prices seemed a little steep so we ate out.
Overall very pleased.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZX6RRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2009

This is a nice hotel which is located not far from the center of Reims. Nice, clean rooms pleasant stuff

Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank HelenR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Level Contributor
163 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

We first stayed at this hotel in 2006, chosen mostly because it was convenient to the highway and we had liked other Mercures. We stayed here two nights in 2006. In 2008 we deliberately chose this hotel because we liked it so much in 2006. When we checked in, I thought I recognized the desk clerk. She looked at me as I told her the name our reservation was under, glanced at the computer, looked back up at me and said, "Oh, I remember you!"

Yes, the hallway smelled a little funky, but neither room did and we spent little time in the hallway.

The room, bathroom, and everything inside them are large, well laid out, and clean. The bath had both a shower and tub and dual sinks. This room would compete well with hotels in the USA.

The desk clerk was very helpful about arranging an English language champaign tour for us at Moet et Chandon.

Meals vary a little. I didn't care for my dinner here in '06 but very much liked my dinner in '08. My wife was happy with both her dinners here. Breakfast, E10.00 each was good also. The Best Western [?] across the street had good food too.

Parking was underground, secure, had a very steep ramp, and cost E10.00 per night.

If we return to Reims, we will stay in this hotel again.

Sights to see:

There is a lot in and around Reims but these are what we enjoyed.

1. Reims Cathedral. In '06 we visited this cathedral and loved it. In '06 we also visited Notre Dame in Paris. In '08 we revisited the Reims Cathedral and skipped Notre Dame in Paris because ND compared so poorly to the Reims Cathedral. Lots of other things to better spend time on in Paris.

2. I don't remember the name, but there is an excellent car museum here. It specializes in early French cars, especially those made in this area.

3. Porte de Mars is what remains of the 2nd century A.D. Roman gateway to the city.

4. A short drive from Reims is Epernay, home to Moet et Chandon, champaign maker, which gives an excellent English language tour of their facility. Well worth the drive. We would do this tour again but perhaps add a second tour in Reims itself if time allowed.

We took two different routes as we walked to and from the cathedral. Each was interesting in a different way. We felt quite safe walking but were only out in the day light both trips.

















O

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reims hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hincmar
Campanile Reims Centre - Cathedrale
Chateau Les Crayeres
#1 of 69 in Reims
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Centre Erlon-Est
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#3 of 69 in Reims
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale

Property: Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale
Address: 31 boulevard Paul Doumer, 51100, Reims, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims > Hincmar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Reims
#8 Business Hotel in Reims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4-star hotel is ideally located just a short distance from Notre Dame Cathedral, a gem of Gothic artwork, and the congress center. Whether you're on a business trip or a family vacation, you will love the quality of our facilities and the comfort of our rooms. Our work spaces, combine technology and modularity and have everything you need. All the services we offer at our Mercure will mean you have a great stay in the heart of Reims. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Reims Cathedrale Hotel Reims
Accor Reims Cathedrale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing