We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels in Reims
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Very nice convenient location with good access to the roads leading to Champagne trail and Parc Naturel Regional. The hotel is walking distance to the Reims Cathedral. We had one of the suites for three of us and were very satisfied with the accommodations. The modern style decor is eye pleasing. The underground parking is convenient. We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank podrozniczka60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

My sister, husband and I picked up a car on 10 February, 2014 and drove easrt to Reims on our first leg of a trip to check out WWI sites, much as we did WWII several years ago. So we stopped our first night in Reims with the intention of visiting a champagne cave. We booked our room using AMEX points. The hotel has been recently renovated and our triple room (or actually two adjoining rooms) was very nice- clean and freshly reappointed. The bathroom was exceptional and came with many toiletries-lotions, soaps etc. and as hair dryer that worked well.(I remeber when there was no such thing as a washcloth ) The room also had a refrigerator with some snacks and a Nespresso coffee machine, which worked very well. once I figured it out. (These seem to be ubiquitous all over French hotel rooms and I would love an American version with as many choices). Our view was the canal and also, barely, the cathedral.
thye parking was a secure garage under the hotel near an elevator which was large enough for luggage. Chgeck in was fast and efficient. The only drawback was that no food was available until after 7:30 pm and we had flown all night and wanted to simply go to sleep. Not much could be found near the hotel either, so we went to sleep early and elected the buffet breakfast, which was delicious. The pain au chocoalte, brioche and croissants were better than any I've ever had, anywhere, including the ones I make.
The rest of the buffet was very complete and delicious. We never had the champagne but we had a very good tour of the city by bus, which was close and inexpensive.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Truffle4_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxime D, Responsable réception at Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The hotel is in a very central position with views of the magnificent cathedral from the rear bedrooms..The lady on Reception was very helpful.The room was clean, comfortable and had a wonderful view of the cathedral.The bed was large and comfortable.While there the weather was exceptionally good for early March.We ate in the hotel and Louis in the bar and on breakfast next day was very friendly and helpful.

The evening meal was good as was the breakfast. There was plenty of choice at breakfast but as I just love French bread and croissants.they were enough for me.Why is French bread so much better than ours?Perhaps because they still buy it fresh each day from family bakers.

I would certainly stay there again.And, as I said before, the cathedral is sublime!

Room Tip: Best views of the cathedral are at the back of the hotel.Busy road at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AppianNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxime D, Responsable réception at Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Guests,

Thanks a lot for this comments. We hope to see you again in Reims!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Evgeniya_Pryadko
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We frequently choose the Mercure chain in France, and once again had excellent value for a city-centre hotel, just for one night. Of adequate size, the room was clean and modern, with a comfortable big bed and splendid pillows. Big TV, safe, coffee making jug, small fridge to cool the champagne, and a good bathroom with full-size bath, gave us all the accommodation we needed for £75. Buffet breakfast in the large dining room had a wide choice, though a touch pricey at £15 each. We ate dinner out (see our review of Brasserie du Boulingrin) but felt the restaurant would have served a respectable dinner. The public rooms are very large and inviting, with a grand bar upstairs, all with views over the canal/river. Staff were most helpful, ordering taxis and restaurant table on the spot. The Cathedral is a short walk away, and access to the old city convenient. Since we had a boot full of champagne, the secure underground garage was a boon. Bravo Mercure - another winner !

Room Tip: River view is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreydiverOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxime D, Responsable réception at Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed here on our way to the alps for a ski trip.

Excellent location, easy to find and central though not far from the motorway, easy walk into the centre past the impressive cathedral for plenty of dinner options (good Christmas market as we'll to wander around)

Clean rooms and very comfy beds ensured a sound nights sleep after a long drive.

Staff were friendly

Excellent

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I stayed at the Mercure for the second time over the weekend, whilst travelling from the UK enroute to Switzerland. The hotel is very easy to find and has a very secure underground parking garage which is great if you're travelling with a car load of luggage.There is an extra charge for that but at 12 Euros a night, it's pretty reasonable.
The hotel itself is modern and nicely furnished and the rooms were comfortable too. The breakfast was good with a good variety of things on offer.
Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxime D, Responsable réception at Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reims hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hincmar
Campanile Reims Centre - Cathedrale
L'Assiette Champenoise
#1 of 10 in Tinqueux
562 reviews
Novotel Reims Tinqueux
#2 of 10 in Tinqueux
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale

Address: 31 boulevard Paul Doumer, 51100, Reims, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims > Hincmar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Reims
#8 Business Hotel in Reims
Price Range: $103 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4-star hotel is ideally located just a short distance from Notre Dame Cathedral, a gem of Gothic artwork, and the congress center. Whether you're on a business trip or a family vacation, you will love the quality of our facilities and the comfort of our rooms. Our work spaces, combine technology and modularity and have everything you need. All the services we offer at our Mercure will mean you have a great stay in the heart of Reims. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Reims Cathedrale Hotel Reims
Accor Reims Cathedrale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing