We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just The Job”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Reims
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed for just the one night as part of a coach tour enroute to Switzerland. The hotel is in a nice position opposite the river and near the cathedral. Our room was modern, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good, included bacon and eggs, and served us well for the long day's journey ahead. A most enjoyable short stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chalkieuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 1,367 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

Our room was comfortable, and had all the amenities we needed, plus has air conditioning and free wi fi. Although there is a "paid parking" area, if you get to the hotel early in he day, and are driving, check behind the hotel for a free space, We parked for free. Also, if you are 65, ask if breakfast is free. Depending on your booking cost, and if you booked directly with Accor hotels, it is likely it will be free. TheTourism office is next to the Cathedral so be sure to stop there because if you arrive like we did on Sunday , the city is pretty well closed. The Cathedral Lighting took place at 9:30, and oddly enough, was not happening on Monday. Although the train station is a 15 minute walk, I doubt it. We walked without luggage to see where our car return was, and we are very athletic , and if you are pulling luggage over cobblestones, you will be exhausted. We are taking a cab for our high speed train ride to Paris. Staff on the desk are very nice, and housekeeping gave us extra towels and reported a bathroom light that was burned out. Very efficient staff. No gym, but my husband ran along the canal in front of the hotel. Easy walk to most sites, and to street with all the bars where you you'll likely eat.

Room Tip: Probably do not want to face the canal...it may be noisy at night because it also faces the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beeperVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxime D, Responsable réception at Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.

Maxime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Good enough hotel, within walking distance of Reims centre, easy to find. Underground secure parking available at 12 Euros per day (although you can also park on the road). Friendly and welcoming staff. Hotel decor is quite modern, but nice enough, and well maintained. Room was comfortable, with good air-con and was well appointed; had fridge and safe. Booked a Superior Room on their Meal Deal rate via Accor Hotels website which included dinner and breakfast for 2 which is always good value. Dinner menu looked to be a bit restricted at this particular hotel on this special deal, but we found the food to be really excellent - my Risotto with Scallops was truly delicious - and the food presentation and service was superb.
Breakfast buffet was good, and although the hotel was quite busy, it was restocked quickly enough. Nice touch to have a Nespresso machine for those of us wanting Espresso at breakfast.
Great place to stay in Reims.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roamingroto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have just stayed here & on departure, I asked the above question? ....... NO!
I am sure there is much better accommodation available in Reims.
Yes it was not far to walk to the town/city city, about 8 minutes towards the canal.

Our check in & check out was perfect, by the lovely Daneilla!
Our room overlooked the canal.
The room has temperature controlled air conditioning, unfortunately the corridors to the rooms are not ventilated, hence a very stale odour envelopes the surroundings which is to me very unwelcoming. Plus the corridors are rather narrow & dark, they could be modernised a bit more.

The beds were clean sleeping with a plastic cover over the mattress, a plus & a minus! The beds were rock hard, like sleeping on a frame of a door. I felt this to be unacceptable.
The pillows were good, very clean
The room had 2 opening windows which provides fresh air.
The bathroom is horrible, a nasty piece of plumbing visible under the sink, this did not impress me & the location of the toliet in the room was ghastly jammed in behind the main bathroom door.

All these factors add up to being, I would not return here to stay, in saying this - this is a very personal opinion which is what trip advisor is about.

It seems I am being rather harsh, however we were delighted to eat here in the restaurant on 3 ocassions, & had 3 wonderful meals. The food presentation of the meals was "spot on", exactly as stated on the menu. The menu had great choices for a tourist, & the prices were totally acceptable.

On the whole the staff in this hotel were fantastic, most helpful & went out of their way to please.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxime D, Responsable réception at Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Sir, Madam,

You have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.

We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.

Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.

Maxime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank gilly1950
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank David99999999
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maxime D, Responsable réception at Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Nice enough hotel. Room was clean. The décor I could take or leave. A little too modern for me. But the price and location were right. Seems like the front desk needs more staff. Usually there were one, sometimes two, but usually one person working behind the desk. They were clearly overworked answering phones, acting as the concierge, checking people in, etc. This was annoying because of the wait and it certainly was not fair to the desk worker.
The hotel is close but not that close to the cathedral. The hotel does have a small parking lot in the back where you can park and also underground parking which is nice. So, the whole thing was average. What I really could not understand was how the bar could charge sooooo much for a glass of champagne when you are in the land of champagne???? Can't remember exactly how much it was....but I remember being appalled by the price. I remember figuring it that it was more expensive than most bars back in the states. Now how can that be when you are in the land of champagne? Either way, the hotel was average. We would probably stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parisparis5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reims hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre Erlon-Est
Ibis Reims Centre
Ibis Reims Centre
#14 of 68 in Reims
743 reviews
Hincmar
Campanile Reims Centre - Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale

Address: 31 boulevard Paul Doumer, 51100, Reims, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims > Hincmar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Reims
#8 Business Hotel in Reims
Price Range: $93 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4-star hotel is ideally located just a short distance from Notre Dame Cathedral, a gem of Gothic artwork, and the congress center. Whether you're on a business trip or a family vacation, you will love the quality of our facilities and the comfort of our rooms. Our work spaces, combine technology and modularity and have everything you need. All the services we offer at our Mercure will mean you have a great stay in the heart of Reims. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Reims Cathedrale Hotel Reims
Accor Reims Cathedrale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing