We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The French really know how to accomodate families” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale
Ranked #15 of 69 Hotels in Reims
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The French really know how to accomodate families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

ok, so this is a Mercure and therefore a chain hotel... but the junior suite we ordered is ideal for a family with 2 or 3 children. As Reims is the ideal spot for us to stop on our usual route to the Alps we are sure to use this hotel again. Easy access from the motorway yet very central and therefore ideal for dinner in town.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DouweMik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    537
    280
    79
    46
See reviews for
229
546
61
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
130 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I've stayed here a few times and this is an excellent business traveler hotel. Free WIFI, great breakfast, and a fine room. Not huge by any means, but a fine little room. My only issue, and this isn't really their fault, but if you room is on the back facing the cathedral there is an alley behind the hotel. One night, there was some sort of delivery truck back there at a ridiculous hour (4am or so) beeping and idling and making a racket. Alas.
When in Reims, I'd stay here or at the Best Western.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhFranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Superb hotel in good location, with a very warm welcome, not always the case in France. Our requested room came with a panoramic view and it did not disappoint, beautiful views of the cathedral lit up and the following morning, absolutely stunning in the morrnig sunlight. The room was very stylishly decorated, and the bed in particular was extremely comfortable. The wi-fi is free but quite poor in its strength, it kept dropping out and then you have to go through the process of signing in again...one good benefit was the fridge and the kettle, again, not something you see too often in French hotels, with a supply of tea and coffee. We decided against breakfast which we could hardly believe justified its high price of 17euros each! Notwithstanding that, we will definitely stay again and it was also good to have secure basement parking, better value that breakfast!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnums2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have been at Mercure Hotels before. This one was a BAD experience. We were never greeted with such disrespect, given so little information (including the code to get out of the garage), by a front desk personnel more interested in having the area spotless with their alcohol cleaning gear than paying attention or due respect to their clients. The entire hotel, common areas, elevators and the like stink of smoke (though the non smoking room was not). It is reasonably well located, the price is the usual but the entire experience made it outrageosuly expensive for the service that was given.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eehotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reims hotels

hertfordshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here for a short over night stop so were not impacted by the noise of the renovations. The downside was that the bar was temporarily in the reception area and was cold and without atmosphere. The positives more than outweighed this, however. The completed parts of the hotel, including our room, were modern and stylish and the bedroom was well equipped and comfortable. We had a lovely corner room on the fifth floor with a view (albeit over less attractive roof tops) of the cathedral. We didn't intend to eat in the hotel but having found nothing appealing close by, we did and were not disappointed. The food and service was excellent and we chose an option where an appropriate wine is matched to each course. The variety of different champagnes on offer was also amazing. If we pay through Reims again we will certainly stay here as the location is convenient for an overnight stop on the way back to Calais.

Room Tip: Room 502 was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aditiluta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

i pity the staff working on the front desk in this hotel. Construction starts at 10 and finishes at 5 - Mostly aided by a jack hammer. When checking in we couldnt hear the reception girl speaking to us, and she was less than a metre away. She was doing her best to pretend that she couldnt hear the noise, but in the end just said"im so sorry, it will finish at 5pm" She put us on the 4th floor, but we could still hear the noise! That aside, the hotel is very comfortable. We were in a newly refurbished room and I couldnt fault it. 10 minute walk to all the touristy sights. we had a great view of the canal from our window. Im sure when the construction is finished it will be even better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reims hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hincmar
Campanile Reims Centre - Cathedrale
Centre Erlon-Est
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#3 of 69 in Reims
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Chateau Les Crayeres
#1 of 69 in Reims
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale

Property: Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale
Address: 31 boulevard Paul Doumer, 51100, Reims, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims > Hincmar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Reims
#8 Business Hotel in Reims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4-star hotel is ideally located just a short distance from Notre Dame Cathedral, a gem of Gothic artwork, and the congress center. Whether you're on a business trip or a family vacation, you will love the quality of our facilities and the comfort of our rooms. Our work spaces, combine technology and modularity and have everything you need. All the services we offer at our Mercure will mean you have a great stay in the heart of Reims. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Reims Cathedrale Hotel Reims
Accor Reims Cathedrale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing