We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with some "sharp edges"” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Azur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Azur
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Reims
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with some "sharp edges"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2010

Nicely decorated hotel. Freshly painted, clean room. Good plumbing. Spacious bathroom. Plenty hot water. Decorated well. Free wifi a bonus. Central in location.. Good value accommodation and secure parking available. Those were all the good bits. ...Not so good bits which spoilt our expereince a little - we were happy to pay 7 euros for car parking but...we were charged 7 euros to garage our bike ( which we carry on our car roof and so had to be taken off to get the car in the garage ) AND another 7 euros to garage the car. Charging us for each we thought was bit over the top. Lady manager is typically French (!) and I thought a bit fiersome - I saw one man bring a minor complaint to her whilst I was there, it could have been solved in 1 minute with "I'm sorry ....." but after 5 minutes it was being pointed out to him firmly it was his fault . Don't take the lady manager on !

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrekkingWhiteTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    351
    61
    13
    16
See reviews for
99
390
28
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

An absolutely outstanding small and friendly hotel in a great location.
We are a family of 4 who have travelled through France on numerous occasions over the past 6 years or so and have stayed at a variety of hotels, including another in Reims. Some have been with main chains like Best Western, Novotel and Hilton, however we plumped for this one for a one night stopover after reading the previous TripAdvisor reviews. We will definitely be returning!
We found the hotel to be clean, welcoming, stylishly decorated throughout, georgeous courtyard which we used at Breakfast and overall great value. We were made very welcome immediately and it was obvious to the owner that we were all very tired after a long journey and she could not have been more hospitable. It was just what we all needed to finish off a superb holiday.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ballytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, RI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

We are an American Family stationed in Germany for the US Navy. We travel A LOT. We have been in twelve countries in the two years we have been living overseas. I say this only to let you know that I feel qualified to state that this was the worst experience we have ever had at a hotel. The owner was rude beyond words. We booked a room for 4 as we always do and my three year old always sleeps with us in the bed. If we can book a suite for 5, we do, but if not, we make it work. This lady yelled at me, told me it was "illegal" to do that. She tried to send us out to the street and not refund our money, she called me stupid and "clearly not French", among other hateful things. She ended up charging us half the price we were paying for a 4 person room, for a one bed room. She should be embarrassed at her behavior and know that this is not the way to behave to tourists.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank notishorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dav85, Propriétaire at Hotel Azur, responded to this review, August 20, 2010
Google Translation
Il est trés facile de laisser un commentaire sur un forum sans donner tous les éléments pour que les autres clients puissent juger par eux mêmes.
Un établissement hotelier est soumis à des règles de sécurité de plus en plus draconien en France dont un nombre de clients maximum à respecter par établissement . Or il s'avère que ces clients ont délibérément choici une chambre 4 pers. puisque les chambres 5 pers sont inexistantes chez nous et qu'ils voulaient dormir à 5 dans une chambre de 4. Leur réservation avait été faite par une centrale de réservation et surtout pas en direct pour éviter le contact!Aprés de nombreuses explications à fournir au comptoir à leur arrivée, nous avons trouvé la solution de leur fournir une seconde chambre d'1 pers. en leur faisant un prix spécial pour leur être agréable, mais nous n'en avions aucunement l'obligation.
Pour ces raisons, je trouve le commentaire vraiment pas objectif et peu convaincant compte tenu des autres clients qui ont l'habitude de séjourner dans notre établissement trés bien tenu. Leurs chambres étaient trés propres ils ne pouvaient rien dire à ce sujet ni au sujet de l'accueil car le monsieur s'est présenté tout seul dans un premier temps, il savait trés bien ce qu'il faisait!
Nous sommes vraiment désolés de devoir nous justifier auprés de clients aussi malhonnêtes et insistons sur le fait qu'il faut toujours avertir l''hotelier du nombre exacte de personnes à coucher.
Bonnes vacances
La direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

A charming small family run hotel tucked away in a quiet back street yet convenient to central Reims. Small, comfortably furnished basic rooms with en-suite shower room, TV (French Channels) and free WiFi (slow at peak times). Excellent typically French breakfast served in a quiet courtyard or breakfast room by the hosts. No air-con or fans which was a negative as it was very hot during our stay. Secure hotel parking available but must be booked in advance - street parking not a problem and secure parking at Hotel de Ville underground car-park nearby. By no means luxurious but comfortable for a short stay or stop over.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dandms11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
494 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

We booked this after reading the reviews and because of its location. However we were very disappointed. We were given room 36 at the top of the steep stairs and this floor has still not been renovated with old carpets ripped wallpaper and missing skirting boards. Also all the paintwork was badly chipped. However the other two lower floors looked far better. The room itself was clean but with a small uncomfortable bed, and no proper wardrobe. The shower and toilet cupboard (that was all I could describe it as) was clean but the ‘shower’ was just a loose hose so not really of any use. Also the temperature was 40 plus and all they offered was a small fan, not much use at all. The notices advising they will be getting air conditioning in 2011 was no compensation for a very uncomfortable nights sleep. The breakfast was served – you could not help yourself and consisted of a bit of cheese and cold meat, yogurt and small croissants. Reims is a wonderful place but if we were to return we would not stay here far too basic unless you are on a budget

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gardenofengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2010

We stayed for three nights, the rooms are very clean and made up each day very well. The owners are friendly and very helpful and are keen offer good advice. Good location for walking to main restaurant area, also a nice flee market round the corner in the week and food market at the week-end.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johncWoodford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALGARY
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2010

We were actually booked at a different place but they had overbooked and recommended AZUR. I was a bit nervous as I had read bad reviews on here before I left for my trip. We were pleased with our 66 Euro accomadations for one night. It is a great place if you really only plan on laying your head at the end of the day. My boyfriend joked about how the bed was "child size" and we didn't sleep that well on it but I would recommend this place for 1 or 2 nights to the budget traveller. We also lucked out because the person at reception suggested a restaurant to us and it turned out to be the one that was recommened to us earlier that week. Brasserie du Boulingrin www.boulingrin.fr. We endulged on a traditinal french meal and it was delicious. Lots of locals here and a must eat at in Reims!!! We stayed at Les Telliers Bed and Breakfast before and it was REALLY great. Beautiful old home with a couple bedrooms with a great location which we enjoyed alot and would recommend.http://les.telliers.free.fr/ The couple who operate it are very enjoyable!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TONYADARLINGTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reims hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix
1.6 mi away
Chateau Les Crayeres
Chateau Les Crayeres
#1 of 69 in Reims
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Suites Reims Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Reims Centre
2.9 mi away
Akena City Reims Bezannes
1.5 mi away
L'Assiette Champenoise
L'Assiette Champenoise
#1 of 10 in Tinqueux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azur

Property: Hotel Azur
Address: 9 rue des Ecrevees, 51100, Reims, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims > Centre Erlon-Est
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Reims
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reims
#6 Family Hotel in Reims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Azur 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small renovated and quiet hotel in the center of Town with private garages for car and motorbikes. Air conditioner in a part of rooms. 10Mn by walking to go to the cathedral and museum.Hotel is situated in the historical center to 5 mn next big touristic walking street Place Drouet d'Erlon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Azur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azur Hotel Reims

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing