We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT stay here - all the champagne in Reims cannot make it pleasant”
Review of Hotel Azur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Azur
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Reims
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is most ridiculous establishment I've ever been to and does not deserve to be called a hotel. There are draconian rules, no lift, tiny cramped rooms and bathrooms, and it only gets worse from there. We visited on a weekend and arrived about 11:30. They manager took our bags and then the hotel was closed from 12-2, so we went had a long lunch and looked around the city. We weren't pleased, but we managed. The next day, Sunday, our train leaving was 2pm. The manager informed us check out was 10:30am and they could store our bags until 12, but the hotel was then closed until 5pm. There is no baggage storage at the train station, so we were in the ludicrous situation of carrying our bags to a morning visit to a champagne house (where they happily stored our bags for 2 hours!). It was an outrageous situation and clearly demonstrates the COMPLETE LACK of customer service you will receive at this hotel.
There is no lift and I was carrying two enormous bags up two flights of stairs by myself but the manager didn't seem to care and didn't offer assistance. To further rub salt in the wounds, the rooms are TINY. The bathroom is minuscule, which wouldn't be so bad if they hadn't been recently renovated and yet somehow the decision was made to install the shower head at elbow height (I am only 5'9''), making a comfortable shower impossible.
All in all - this hotel is NOT WORTH the money, STAY ELSEWHERE!

Room Tip: ONLY TIP IS DON'T STAY HERE! (but ask for a lower floor room to avoid the stairs)
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bethiesee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davero, Propriétaire at Hotel Azur, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

anglais



italien



français





Ladies,

We are truly saddened to read such a comment, especially since you have not made any criticism we live.
We can not leave unanswered such a comment.
Indeed, all the criticisms you made there are things that we have given you information dice your reservation by email. The abscence lift one hand is notified on our website and that of BOOKING.COM and the closure of our receipt from 12h to 14h is reported on all documents that we sent you and also on all the relevant websites .

Regarding luggage, remember that we have no obligation to retain them for the sake of responsibility and insurance but we gladly do it well every day because many come to train in the morning. To leave or we keep the luggage luggage if you go before 12am or we graciously private garage accessible 24h/24 but limited availability for recovery be 12h and 14h.
You see, we are very shopkeepers and always find solutions adapted to the "problems" just tell us about it if we can not guess.

Many foreign customers are very satisfied with our services and our hotel, we Can Do spas give you a three star service while we are a 2 star hotel with 2 star price.
In the future, not simply read the comments and rate, make sure the facility meets your needs and your request ..
David and Veronique PAQUIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Azur
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 760 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just stayed the one night and we were very happy with the hotel and staff.
Upon arrival, we received a very warm welcome and it continued from there. The room was warm, clean, quiet and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent value and nothing was too much trouble.
A real bonus was being able to park right outside, no lugging heavy cases a long way!
At the price we paid, this hotel represents real value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We spent 3 nights here and had a great stay. The owners were very helpful in giving directions and travel advice. They partner with restaurants (all very good and highly rated on TripAdvisor) so that you can get a special menu at reasonable prices, if you ask ahead at the desk (for a soiree etape). The location is excellent. We could easily walk to all the major tourist sites in town (except Saint Remi and some of the champagne houses are a few miles away, a long walk, but we drove). The parking garage nearby is handy, but tight quarters -- don't bring a big car. The hotel website's directions and map for getting to the hotel are quite good and accurate. And the prices are very reasonable. We enjoyed our stay there very much.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lyle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The rooms are clean ,small and cozy. We arrived very late at night and had already communicated with the hotel. When we reached we found a paper with some suggestions for food as well.
We didn't take breakfast at hotel, so cannot comment on it. The mattress was little hard for relaxing after a tiring journey.

The hotel is located close to city center. Good value for money!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ankismile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed on way to skiing. Good location near old town. Quite bohemian in style. No thrills but clean and good value. Worth paying for big bathroom. Good breakfast. Staff very helpful.garage nearby. Why pay more if passing through?

Room Tip: Choose superior room with good bathroom.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjbarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We booked 3 rooms for a quick 2 night stop (in november) & tour of the Champagne houses. Great hotel with neat comfortable rooms. hotel is located in a quiet area, just a short walk from the centre of town & a multitude of Cafes, bar & resturants. We pre-booked car parking with the hotel, their garages are a short drive & walk up the road. if you want bed & breakfast in Reims, stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnelvismurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night. We were greeted by a very friendly & informative lady. We were given local maps, ideas for restaurants & were advised to see the light show at the Cathedral which is a must. The room (24) was small but very clean & the heating was very good as it was cold outside. My only negative comments are; The lighting was very dim & we had a very small shower room, which was unfortunately cold & not very modern. On the plus side the bed was very comfortable with crisp white sheets. Would recommend & stay again but in another room.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reims hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre Erlon-Est
Ibis Reims Centre
Ibis Reims Centre
#14 of 68 in Reims
707 reviews
Logis au Tambour
#8 of 68 in Reims
296 reviews
Hincmar
Campanile Reims Centre - Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azur

Address: 9 rue des Ecrevees, 51100, Reims, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims > Centre Erlon-Est
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Reims
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reims
#6 Best Value Hotel in Reims
#6 Family Hotel in Reims
Price Range: $101 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Azur 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small renovated and quiet hotel in the center of Town with private garages for car and motorbikes. Air conditioner in a part of rooms. 10Mn by walking to go to the cathedral and museum.Hotel is situated in the historical center to 5 mn next big touristic walking street Place Drouet d'Erlon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Azur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azur Hotel Reims

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing