We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a romantic dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La cave a Champagne

La cave a Champagne
Ranked #5 of 78 Restaurants in Epernay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $88
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for a romantic dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Very romantic place to enjoy a great dinner in Epernay.
We took the 19 EUR menu which is really worth it. Great choices for 3 courses. The staff is attentive and the food refined.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cha2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    294
    76
    35
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South of England
Level Contributor
304 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“We had a fabulous meal....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We would recommend this restaurant for dinner. We chose the €35 menu and were not disappointed. The food was excellent. We also asked for a recommendation for a champagne that was not too expensive. We were served a very good bottle of blanc de blanc, grand cry for €38. Overall a real treat. We would recommend booking as they get busy and be prepared to savour a long meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Southofenglandfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had a delicious meal at La cave a Champagne and highly recommend this restaurant. We thought the price was very reasonable and the service we received was excellent. All in all we had a most enjoyable evening.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2Babyboomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lots of Champagne”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Nice champagne list, albeit not my target group of producers. Service was non-existant, we sat there for a long time before we went to get our bottle ourselves at the bar. However, when we arrived, the staff did everything to find us a good place to sit. Maybe too many people in for not enough staff.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claude N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
258 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Delightful little restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We arrived early for lunch (12.15pm) with no reservation and received a warm welcome. The Eu 19 fixed price menu offers delicious choices. The regular menu contains English subtitles. We enjoyed starters of puffed pastry, sliced sausage with a creamy mushroom sauce and globe artichoke with snails, mushrooms and sauce. Mains: the freshest perch on a bed of sauteed leeks and my husband felt brave and ordered pot au feu---tete de veau (head of veal--brains, tongue cheek) which he said was enjoyable. The dessert of apple tart was beautiful but I did steal some of the cream from my husband's cherry dessert as I felt it was a bit dry. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SueDen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La cave a Champagne also viewed

 

Been to La cave a Champagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing