We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to visit the Champagne”
Review of La Villa Eugene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Villa Eugene
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2010

We have been now 2 times at the Villa Eugene and it is really a lovely place. Last visit was with 2 couples of friends and we had 3 different types of rooms. They are all very lovely. The Villa Eugene is about 10 minutes walk from the center of Epernay. The staff is very friendly and helpful with restaurant reservations etc. The breakfast is very nice and has a wide variety of all things and is located in the wintergarden. We are coming again !

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monerl_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
There are newer reviews for La Villa Eugene
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 493 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2010

We spent only one night here, but was a beautiful place. Our room was fantastic, very spacious, large bathroom, looked very new and clean. Friendly staff who were very helpful when we just turned up without a booking one day. The former home of the Mercier family, it is next to the Mercier Champagne House - which itself is a great experience. A short walk into the town centre where there were plenty of place for eating and drinking. The hotel is very elegant, and stylish - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissTigerFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2009

This hotel only "wants" to be 4-star, and certainly shouldn't have been rated as such. Granted we stayed in only a "standard" room, but it did not meet our standards and here's why. The WIFI around that hotel is extremely weak and did not even work in our room (#23). We had to go to the Breakfast Room to get any reception and it was still only 2-bars. The folks at the desk only said it should work and apologized. Nothing else was done. The shower was actually the smallest shower I have ever been in, and the water was only luke warm at best. The drains were very slow draining as well. Then there were the little things like the Armoire for hanging clothes wasn't wide enough to accomodate regular hangers so you had to stuff your clothes in sideways. We did not try the breakfast as 14 Euros seemed pretty steep by any standards. The hotel is in an OK location (brisk 15 minute walk to downtown and close to champagne houses). It is also fairly quiet although there were very few people in it when we were there. If you are expecting a 4-star hotel, this isn't it. Also, if your basic requirements include WIFI, hot water, and responsive service, this isn't it as well.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Northshoreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

Lovely Hotel. Friendly and kind staff. Amazing rooms, decorated to fit in keeping with the style of the building. Wonderful history to the building & lots of character.

We stayed there with my parents and brother & my fiance. We had a gorgeous room and they had an even better one!

Rooms are pricey but if you've got to stay anywhere in Epernay you should stay here it's superior quality to other hotels I've stayed in, in Epernay and so worth paying a little bit extra for.

Lovely outdoor pool. Good size car park.

Right next door to the Mercier Champagne Caves and only a short walk to the town centre.

At night it was beautiful to walk down Champagne Avenue and see the many Champagne Houses lit up & this was in the autumn!

Fantastic trip would gladly stay there again.

The only thing I would recomend is that you buy breakfast in Epernay in a cafe rather than go for the pricey 14 Euros a head breakie as for all 5 of us it would have cost 70 Euros - a bit steep when we could get the same thing in a really cute cafe in town for 17Euros!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bringer_of_Doom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Despite what it says on Trip Advisor at the time I write this, this hotel is now 4* (upgraded from 3* this summer).

I'm a little in two minds about whether it deserves its 4th star.

On the one hand, this is certainly a very luxurious hotel. It's in a lovely building, the bedroom was lovely, the staff are very helpful, and there are nice little touches like an evening turn-down service with a delivery of sweets and tomorrow's weather forecast to your room.

On the other hand, it lacks facilities that you would normally take for granted in a 4* hotel, like a restaurant and a bar. The lack of restaurant isn't a big problem, as Epernay is very well supplied with restaurants, but I can imagine if you arrived late, were feeling tired, and didn't really want to venture out, you'd find the lack of restaurant annoying.

One nice touch is that they had free wi-fi (at least they said they did, but I didn't try it so can't promise it worked).

The outdoor swimming pool looked like it would be lovely in the summer, although as we were there in late October, it was closed for the winter.

Although the hotel didn't have a restaurant as such, they did manage to serve breakfast in the hotel. There was a reasonably good cold buffet, although a very limited hot buffet one day we were there (just scrambled eggs) and no hot breakfast at all the other day. And bizarrely, their cold buffet lacked pain au chocolat, which seems to be standard fare in pretty much every other hotel I've stayed in in France.

The location is good or not so good depending on your point of view. It's about a 15 minute walk out of the town centre. That has the advantages that the hotel is reasonably quiet and there is free parking. We actually really enjoyed having a little walk to get back to the hotel after eating out in the evening to help our dinners go down, so we were very happy with the location. However, if you consider a 15 minute walk into the town centre to be a hardship, then you would think the hotel has a poor location.

Overall, I was happy with the hotel, and would probably stay there again if I were returning to Epernay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NautiusMaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2009

Agree with most travellers here that this is a great B&B, with beautiful rooms and lovely breakfast. Yes it is a bit pricey, but it is one of the nicer places in Epernay and if its a special occasion, Villa Eugene is a great place to stay. Many champagne houses are within walking distance, and the town centre about 15 minutes walk away. There is a small champagne house opposite Villa Eugene (to the right), called Lafond. They are currently refurbishing their cellars but we were able to have a private tasting - very nice! Would highly recommend Villa Eugene.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doofloof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

We stayed here as a special treat on our way back home from the Alps. The place looks lovely on its website and it turned out to be just as beautiful in the flesh...
But...
We were disappointed that there was no bar or restaurant facilities and that the whole hotel is operated by one girl. Drinks may be ordered at the pool, if the girl is not busy doing other things.
We requested special storage for bicycles in our reservation but no facility was offered. We were offered the chance to chain £4500 of bikes to a pipe outside. We sneaked them into out room via the patio doors!
The room was beautiful and the chapagne in the mini bar was reasonably priced. the bathroom was amazing.
Parking is off road but cramped. get there early!
The Avenue de Champagne id a beautiful road lined with the HQs of the major champagne houses. Very impressive.
Overall it's a B and B for those with money to burn. Lots of over 50s in expensive cars and designer shirts. Not for us.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank captainian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epernay
0.8 mi away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
464 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Clos Raymi
Le Clos Raymi
#5 of 14 in Epernay
178 reviews
12.3 mi away
Chateau D'Etoges
Chateau D'Etoges
#1 of 1 in Etoges
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Epernay Centre Ville
14.4 mi away
L'Assiette Champenoise
L'Assiette Champenoise
#1 of 10 in Tinqueux
530 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hostellerie La Briqueterie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Eugene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Eugene

Address: 82 avenue de Champagne, 51200, Epernay, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Price Range: $233 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Villa Eugene 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Villa Eugene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Eugene Hotel Epernay
La Hotel Épernay
La Hotel Eugene
La Villa Eugene Epernay, France - Champagne-Ardenne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing