We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel let down by one thing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Villa Eugene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Villa Eugene
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Certificate of Excellence
Chillenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great hotel let down by one thing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

To start with the downside, breakfast here was a disappointment. Expensive at €17 each, and whilst what was available was good quality the selection was very limited. At that price would have expected better. Very elegant, formal atmosphere in the breakfast room, so much so that everyone was whispering! Would be 5 stars from me other than this. Hotel location is great, 15 mins walk from Epernay centre with easy access and good parking. Brilliant room, spacious, nice design, modern and clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Wifi works well. In our view let down by just that one thing........

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewburyMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    154
    38
    14
    7
See reviews for
58
291
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

This is the fave hotel in Epernay for a reason. Once the residence of Monsieur Mercier, the famous vigneron, it is now an intimate boutique hotel. Luxurious furnishings blend the old with modern so you don't feel you are living in a museum. A Heated outdoor garden pool and cosy bar invite one to stay on site, however it's the location that ticks boxes here too. The Avenue de Champagne is a cobblestoned boulevard of grand Maisons, most with huge wrought iron gates and champagne degustations in the courtyard. It's a 10 min stroll along here from the hotel at the top of the hill, into town. We were there early spring so only a couple were open, however enough to get a few tastings in on the way to dinner.

Hotel staff were very obliging with good English. Be aware that whilst there is a small fridge chocked full of bubbly minibar treats, it's not quite cold enough to chill provisions and there are no tea making facilities in the room. There is an iPhone dock though. Recommended.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed here in March in a Superior room on the first floor, at this time of the year there was a discount .The room was spacious with a good bathroom and toiletries , the A/C heating seemed a bit tempremental requiring an opening of the windows where there was traffic noise but not a big issue .The staff were attentive and pleasant , breakfast is expensive at 17 euro each for a buffet, again good service ,but this high add on for breakfast in french hotels is annoying ,to me at least .We took breakfast outside at half the price , one other thing we booked three restauarants in Epernay for the three nights , the recepcionist Caroline was most helpful with respect to advice on the restaurants we had chosen and if you stay here go with their recomendations . Two machine hot chocolates were 9 Euro , Overall a pleasant stay , quite believe the best in Epernay and a short walk to town and or the Champagne Houses ,not quite worth 5.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is a lovely little hotel. And it is almost perfect for a road trip, especially with the secure parking. Situated in the original house of the founder of Mercier champagne, it has been carefully re-crafted into a boutique experience, a very well done mixture of old and new, which I wish could have been taken a few steps further, but more about that later.
The service was extremely attentive, nothing was too much trouble, we had a restaurant and taxi booked for us in a flash as we checked in. The room was a double deluxe, quite expensive but better with the special web site offer, but very well done, light, airy and spotlessly clean, everything perfect and in its place. The bathroom was large, and the design was excellent with separate walk-in shower and stand-alone bathtub. While waiting for our taxi we had a glass of champagne in the cosy little bar, interestingly situated outside the main entrance next to the car park. There's a pool on the edge of the house nestled in the gardens.
Breakfast is in a charming room near the pool, and again everything was as it should be, not overly luxurious but good.
So what's missing? First, the location is next to a fairly busy road, a good walk from the exquisite Avenue de Champagne and its glorious champagne house HQ's. Across the road is what looks like a industrial site, so while on the one hand you have the luxury of the hotel itself, its location visually is a little bit of a let down. Next, no restaurant, what a shame. I bet if they put the same effort into a restaurant as they do in the hotel itself, it would be great. But as an extremely pleasant place to rest your head visiting Epernay, it works. As a road trip stop, if you're not too tired to take a 2 minute taxi ride into Epernay, then that works as well. And yes it did pass the mould in the bathroom test, everything was pristine. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Spend the money and get a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremyfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

An elegant villa very conveniently situated on the Avenue de Champagne with secure, off-street parking. The staff were charming and welcoming. Originally the home of the Mercier champagne family, the house has been beautifully restored. Breakfast was served in the light-filled garden room. Freshly prepared eggs any which way were on offer but we were more than content with the home-made yogurt, fresh juice and THE most delicious french bread and croissants. My only regret is that we booked a standard room. Whilst spacious and comfortable enough (except for the bouncy pillows), it was on the third floor with high windows. My advice is to stretch the budget and book a room on the second floor.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Timbuktuorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
339 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my fiance in the winter. We found everything much to our satisfaction.
The staff were extremely helpful and very pleasant.
The room was large airy and extremely clean with good facilities.
The only thing it lacked was tea and coffee making facilities although coffee from room service was three euros so not too much of an issue.
Our bathroom was again large and airy. It had an enormous bath which my fiance enjoyed. The shower was acceptable although it was just an over bath shower and therefore not as good as some.
Parking outside the front of the hotel was free and despite the car park being almost full when we got there the staff managed to make us another space!
The location is fairly good although it is about 10 to 15 minute walk to the centre of Epernay and doing this three times in the day was a little tiring!
The view from my window was okay but you do look straight into a recycling yard by the railway tracks, as long as you look up (and see the hills behind with the champagne vines behind this) its fine! Our room was on the third floor at the front of the hotel so perhaps try to get a room at the back.
Overall very nice hotel thoroughly recommended.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Pipehitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

I was so excited to stay in Epernay and my fiance who is French was making sure I had 5 star treatments in every turn, but it was a disappointment when compared to other 5 stars or even 3 stars that I have been in. First we had to pay for an upgrade for another room which we had booked well in advance,but took that in stride but it was really nothing special except the bed which was very cosy. The staffs were not very friendly and you could feel you were a liability to them if you asked any question. The breakfast room was nice enough but the atmosphere was so bland that I would have rather stayed at a bed and breakfast than to pay such a high price for such a low service. I will be back in Epernay but not in this hotel.

Room Tip: Just make sure your room you booked for is what you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank classicchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epernay
0.8 mi away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Clos Raymi
Le Clos Raymi
#5 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
12.3 mi away
Chateau D'Etoges
Chateau D'Etoges
#1 of 1 in Etoges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Chateau Les Crayeres
Chateau Les Crayeres
#1 of 69 in Reims
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Villa Saint Pierre
La Villa Saint Pierre
#6 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Epernay Centre Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Eugene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Eugene

Property: La Villa Eugene
Address: 82 avenue de Champagne, 51200, Epernay, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Villa Eugene 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Villa Eugene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Eugene Hotel Epernay
La Hotel Épernay
La Hotel Eugene
La Villa Eugene Epernay, France - Champagne-Ardenne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing