We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building, comfortable bed, but!!”
Review of La Villa Eugene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Villa Eugene
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Epernay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We finished our European driving tour with our final two nights stay at this hotel as the grand finale! We had done our homework and booked via hotels.com after reading the reviews on trip advisor. We thought the location was actually well placed for visiting the champagne houses and it was helpful to be able to leave our car there whilst we wandered around the town and sampled the champagne houses. The road is straight, level and it does only take a max of 15 minutes to walk into the town centre. On arrival we were advised that we had booked a 'standard' room, which made us feel a little underwhelmed - and then we were taken outside and shown our ground floor room. It looked out onto the tall iron gates in the hotel wall, beyond which runs the main road. The room was a decent size, had a large double bed, and a good sized en-suite. The receptionist gave us a brief run down on how to operate the heating system, and advised us that if we wanted breakfast it was available on the first floor of the hotel at a price of 17 euros each! She then left us to fetch our luggage from the car - no offer of assistance was made other than we could use the brolly provided in the wardrobe as it was pouring with rain! On first impressions, the room looked very well appointed, but to be honest the furniture (apart from one small desk) was cheap and mass produced. The small coronet above the bed was hung with two very thin, colourless and depressing linen curtains, they were tucked behind the bedhead, and certainly not mean to be touched. The en-suite had bathrobes and towels, a gorgeous bath, wet room style shower and had complimentary toiletries (as you would expect). We got our luggage in and decided that as they had no restaurant that we would drive into town and see what we could find to eat. To be honest we had just driven 9 hours from the Italian Riviera and we were tired, cold and wet, so we found a Carrefour and bought a picnic and took it back to the room - we then relaxed and went to bed. The people in the room above were banging around for ages - the ceiling and walls were vibrating - not what you want at midnight! The fire alarm woke us up at 6am! We went to reception to be advised that there was a technical fault (fair enough - these things happen) so we went back to bed. We did debate whether to have the 17 euro breakfast but felt this was totally outrageous, so went without. Using the Satnav we found a local international takeaway and went there for a 4euro brunch (we have never done this before, but needs must). We then returned to the hotel, parked up and went into reception to ask their recommendation for the champagne houses in the area. Basically we were told to wander around and go in the ones we liked the look of - genius! So that is what we did - we spent the entire day wandering around, calling in various producers, had a lovely lunch in town, and then wandered back. We were advised by reception that due to the alarm fault, we would be offered a complimentary breakfast in the morning by way of apology so we thanked them and retired to our room. As we had lunched late and very well, we did not want any dinner, so we made the use of the lovely bath, and had a relaxing evening in readiness for our long drive home in the morning. Looking forward to our 17 euro breakfast, we got up, packed and went round to reception. There was nobody to show us where to go, but we climbed the stairs following the instructions that it was served on the first floor. We found our way through a little lounge area into the dining room which looked over the garden. The receptionist advised us how to use the buffet (!) and introduced us to the housekeeper who would look after us. She spoke no English at all. I advised her that we would like tea, which she made and brought to our table and then left us to sort ourselves out. We were totally underwhelmed at the selection - I cannot believe they have the audacity to charge for the breakfast. A selection of tinned fruit salad, dry bread, butter within days of its use by date, cold omelette, some ham and a bit of fresh fruit. We were shocked at the poor quality and general lack of choice - we did have some omelette and when the housekeeper asked if it was ok, I said that it was cold and she replied that she knew, did we want it heated up and that she would turn up the flame under the warmer!! Too little, too late I think. Upon checkout, we were advised by the receptionist yet again that we had booked a standard room, and that they offer four better categories than this, but that they were all luxurious, with fine antiques and of the best quality. We paid 205 euros per night for the room only which seemed overpriced for the service provided and they range up to over 400 euros - we appreciate good quality and are prepared to pay for it, however on this occasion it was very much lacking. We failed to see the relevance of being advised that we had a basic room, other than perhaps as we were classed as second rate guests - we were not offered a tour of the hotel when we arrived so had no idea there was a lounge we could use, we were not offered any assistance with our luggage and were basically treated with indifference.
Overall, this hotel is nowhere near a 5 star - certainly not under UK standards. Yes the location is good, the fabric of the building is beautiful but beyond that, we felt that it is over expensive and lacking in ambience and hospitality. The prices in the mini bar were marked up as you would expect, but by an average of 150%, the breakfast was dire - we can only reason that they charge this rate to pay for the housekeeper (who was surplus to requirements), there was no porter/concierge and generally we were disappointed. We are fortunate to have stayed in hotels all over the world, and can honestly say this is the first time we have felt let down.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NHJ65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 507 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

I've just come back from a wonderful 2 night stay at Villa Eugene. What a beautiful place! The grounds are beautifully landscaped and impeccably maintained and the swimming pool is great on a warm day. The inside of the hotel is beautifully furnished with stunning chests of drawers, armoires and tables. The breakfast room is a light and airy place - a great place to start your day.

The hotel rooms are also thoughtfully furnished. The bathrooms are well finished and equipped, with fluffy towels and nice toiletries. The bed is soooo comfortable - getting out of it in the mornings was a bit of a challenge! We stayed in Room 23 on the second floor, which is a standard room with a small terrace with two chairs. Our friends stayed in Room 24 which is a deluxe (or higher level) room with a very large terrace. A great place in the evening to drink a bottle of Champagne :-)

Breakfast was very good, with a great selection of cheese, fresh fruit and charcuterie. But one of the best things about Villa Eugene is the service. Extremely warm and friendly reception staff are happy to help you with anything, from making appointments with Champagne producers, to recommending and booking restaurants. They think of the little details and do things before even being asked (a book left at reception with our key when we went out for dinner was placed on our bedside table when we got back). And while I don't expect hotel staff to speak good Engish, the fact that all the staff were fluent in English made it that much easier to communicate.

The hotel is very well located on Avenue de Champagne. You can walk to many restaurants from the hotel (they are around a 15 minute walk), which is a nice way to work off all the food and Champagne consumed!

I've stayed at other hotels in Epernay before, including Clos du Raymi. I think Villa Eugene is by far the best hotel in Epernay, and worth the additional cost. When we go back to Epernay, we will be going back to Villa Eugene!

Room Tip: Room 23 with a small terrace and Room 24 with a large terrace are both fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pokkstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here with my Wife and youngest daughter while returning from our holiday in the south of France. The location was perfect for us within walking distance of the local restaurants as well as the Champagne Houses. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and polite, the room we were in was magnificent and roomy, even for the 3 of us. After an evening out we retired to the bar and enjoyed a glass of Bubbly. We intend to go to France next year and with out a doubt be returning to La Villa Eugene.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ShaunN1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is probably the place to stay in Epernay. It is the former house of Eugene Mercier, wealthy eccentric and founder of Mercier champagne. It has a great pool and the room and public areas are lovely. But a few problems: The hotel is situated at the far end of the Avenue de Champagne, and to get into town it's about a 15 minute walk. This isn't a problem if you're planning on spending all day in town, but it's just a little too far to pop in for lunch, come back to the hotel, pop out for a tasting, head back before dinner, etc. Your feet will hurt. You will be tired of the Avenue de Champagne. Also, one more quibble: I stayed here on Bastille Day. When we checked in, the staff didn't mention anything about the festivities that were JUST ABOUT to block off the entire Avenue de Champagne for the night. This meant that with aching feet from walking all day, we drove the car into town and were suddenly stranded. We could NOT get back to the hotel that night, every street was blocked. It was incredibly frustrating, and we ended up dumping the car in town and having to walk the 20 minutes back to the hotel anyway. I of course don't mind local festivities, but a little heads up, even a sign on the reception desk, warning guests that things were about to get very inconvenient would have been very much appreciated.

Room Tip: Some people have complained about rooms on the third floor being cramped and hastily remodeled, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed here with my daughters on recommendation and it didn't let us down. The staff were helpful, all spoke English and the style is classic French with rooms beautifully appointed. We had a fun night walking along the Avenue de Champagne past all of the increasingly expensive and famous champagne houses to the centre of town. Found a number of indoor and outdoor brasseries for dinner. The outdoor pool was good fun for the teenagers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RLDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night, I loved everything about about this hotel. The room was lovely, the decor was beautiful the bathroom also fab. We stayed on a Sunday so when we arrived headed straight to the pool, we had it to ourselves all afternoon the staff brought us out a bottle of Champagne. It really was the life...
The staff were very helpful the recommended serval restaurants for dinner and made the booking for us. The walk into the town centre is fabulous, as the street is lined with champagne houses. It really is a very smart place to visit.
We had breakfast, I think it was an additional €17 it was really good the selection on offer was superb.
The following day we visited the Mercier Champagne house, it was extremely interesting and well worth a visit, it's next door to the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

It's a beautiful place, just 10 minutes walk to the centre. The rooms we've stayed in are very nicely appointed, and we always find it to be very quiet and tranquil. It's our first stopover each year on the way down to Cote D'Azur, and the last one on the way back, and we always look
forward to staying again and again. No restaurant for evening meal, but there are some nice restaurants in Epernay, so it's no problem. Breakfast is very, very good by French standards and gives you plenty of opportunity to fill up for the day ahead. Excellent all round

Room Tip: Try and check in early as the car park's not the biggest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chilledinagay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epernay
0.8 mi away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 13 in Epernay
476 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hostellerie La Briqueterie
0.6 mi away
Le Clos Raymi
Le Clos Raymi
#5 of 13 in Epernay
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
L'Assiette Champenoise
L'Assiette Champenoise
#1 of 10 in Tinqueux
562 reviews
12.3 mi away
Chateau D'Etoges
Chateau D'Etoges
#1 of 1 in Etoges
1,250 reviews
14.4 mi away
Chateau Les Crayeres
Chateau Les Crayeres
#1 of 68 in Reims
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Eugene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Eugene

Address: 82 avenue de Champagne, 51200, Epernay, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Epernay
Price Range: $176 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Villa Eugene 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Villa Eugene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Eugene Hotel Epernay
La Hotel Épernay
La Hotel Eugene
La Villa Eugene Epernay, France - Champagne-Ardenne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing