We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central, friendly b&b”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Epernay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parva Domus - Famille Rimaire
Ranked #4 of 16 Epernay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochegude, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Central, friendly b&b”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

This B&B is wonderfully located, right on Avenue de Champagne along with all the major champagne houses - great if you don't have a car or just want to fully enjoy the tastings!
We had the yellow room which is a twin room and overlooks the terrace and garden around the back. It's a good size for two but bear on mind that the toilet is only separated by a curtain.
Breakfast is very French with oj, coffee or tea, bread, croissants, jams, cheese, charcuterie...
The hosts are very friendly and can help you with recommendations in and around Épernay. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferorsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    40
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
163
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

What an incredible place to stay, right in the middle of Epernay surrounded by a number of champagne houses and formerly a Moet building if my limited grasp of french is correct. The Rimaires are wonderful hosts and Parva Domus is an old building with wooden floors which has been beautifully converted.
We stayed in the beige room and it overlooks the front of the property right onto Avenue de Champagne. The room has a modern walk in shower and the toilet area is separated from the bedroom by a full length curtain as mentioned in previous reviews.
The room rate comes with breakfast with fresh crusty bread, croissants, hams, cereals, fruit, jams and hot drinks/juice.
You can park the car in the front yard and M Rimaire also has vines in his garden and has his own house champagne which you can buy for €20 a bottle. He gave us a sample on the terrace and it is wonderfully crisp and dry we ended up bringing 2 bottles back with us.
All in a great place in a great place (Epernay) with lovely hosts, we are already thinking of going back and for longer than the 2 nights this time as we were using Epernay to break up the journey to the South of France.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tap6699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The location of this B&B has to make it one of the top places to stay in Epernay. Located on Avenue de Champagne this lovely little B&B is run by a superb French couple who went out of their way to make sure our stay was as enjoyable as possible. We stayed in the 'Prune' room which was on the top floor and it was wonderful with views of their garden to the rear. The breakfast was lovely selection was more than sufficient. The owners were the perfect hosts and despite not speaking a word of English they were able to recommend the best cellar tours and restaurants. Would definitely return and having visited Reims too I would probably rather stay in Epernay. The house Champagne is not bad either.

Room Tip: I would recommend the 'Prune' room although the stairs outside the room are a little creaky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisjdaniel1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We arrived to Eperney and took a taxi to the B&B. We soon realized we could have easily walked. The B&B is on the same street as all the cellars, so very convenient. Our host is this little older french country gentleman. He spoke no english, but it didn't stop him from trying to help us. He was so cute. He took our huge bags up 3 flights of the tiniest little stairwell i have ever seen in a flash, i felt terrible, but he wouldn't have us lift a finger, bonjour! Welcome to france! Our room was super spacious, colorful and quiet. We had a nice big window in front and in the back to see the beautiful backyard/court yard. I knew instantly i wish i had more time to enjoy this home, our hosts and its beautiful surroundings. Alas we were only here over night. We will be back!

Room Tip: There is a spiral staircase, very tight, so the less stairs the better next time. Make sure you know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippergirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I just stayed with Claude and Jeanette again for the first time in a couple of years, and it was great to see them looking really well, the house still in great shape and we had a fabulous stay.

I was travelling with a friend, tasting champagne and enjoying the Epernay countryside. In exciting development Francois has worked hard to get the lights working in their 'cave' beneath and it should soon be open for guests to have a look at, useful if the tasting tour whipped past some interesting aspect of champagne earlier in the day. The gite next door is doing roaring trade, worthy of its own site on here.

We dined at the Cave a Champagne on the first night and Bistro 7 at Les Bercaux the second, both cracking. We tried to get into the Grillade Gourmand but they were full so I have added that to the wish list for next time.

In champagne we found an exciting new place in Leuvrigny, Fabrice Robert who makes a very drinkable 100% Pinot Meunier and gives a good tour of his small set up. I say small, but he still turns out 30,000 bottles a year! Then we visited Caillez Lemaire in Damery, and their cousins Caillez Grosjean. The latter we have known for years, had their bubbly at my wedding and generally take home a boot full, but the former was a new find a couple of years ago when we popped in without warning so this time we booked ahead and were glad that we did. Caillez Lemaire is a medium size operation with all of the mod cons, representative of their youthful approach to wine making, they have produced fabulous champagne at a good price. Well worth calling ahead as the tour is interesting, giving a good understanding of how the whole process works and being able to see it all to look at.

So we have a few more places still to explore, plenty of the 5000 champagne houses yet to visit and a couple of new restaurants to try. I look forward to being back at Parva Domus soon, and hopefully with a gang of friends in order to make the most of the gite.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank francophile2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed with Mr & Mrs Rimaire for three nights and had a wonderful stay. Although we didn't speak much French and they spoke no English, they went out of their way to help us with directions and restaurant recommendations and dropped bottled water to our room each evening as it was so hot. The B&B is in a great location and has onside parking.

Of all of the B&Bs we've stayed at throughout France this was by far the warmest welcome we've received. We'd highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliette82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed here for one night of our honeymoon. We don't speak French except for the odd word or two and the owners don't speak English - it made for some comical conversations! However we did manage to get a restaurant recommended to us which was excellent (Le Coquille). The room was lovely - but located at the top of 3 flights of really steep stairs - to be expected though. Word of warning - no bathroom door just a curtain - that was a surprise for us! The property is in an excellent location - walking distance to the major champagne houses. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_Scanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Epernay hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Clos Raymi
Le Clos Raymi
#5 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Epernay Centre Ville
0.6 mi away
La Villa Saint Pierre
La Villa Saint Pierre
#6 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Champagne Andre Bergere
Champagne Andre Bergere
#3 of 16 in Epernay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parva Domus - Famille Rimaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parva Domus - Famille Rimaire

Property: Parva Domus - Famille Rimaire
Address: 27 avenue de Champagne, 51200, Epernay, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Epernay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Epernay
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Parva Domus - Famille Rimaire Hotel Epernay
Parva Domus - Famille Rimaire Epernay, France - Champagne-Ardenne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing