We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent location - good digs”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Gite-BA

Bedroom 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1 Bedroom 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Living Room 2
Living Room
Living room 4
Living room 3
Living room 5
Kitchen 2
Kitchen
Barthroom
Apartment's front view
Apartment's front view
Apartment's front view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Epernay, Marne, Grand Est

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michelle...
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“STAIRS, STAIRS AND MORE STAIRS”
Reviewed October 11, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

There we a couple of positives with our stay. The owners were very friendly and once you reach the top the apartment had everything you needed. Great location.
The negatives were that we are an older couple and trying to negotiate stairs on a very narrow staircase, three levels up was impossible. The owner was late and we had to wait half an hour for him to arrive after the office downstairs rang him to tell us we were there. If you are young and fit then this place would suit but not over 50's. You have to pay for your towels and cleaning but I would suggest that the owners include that in their rental price.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2015
Hello Michelle,

Thank you for your review of our rental, unfortunately I'm quite disappointed with the rating on your review, 1/5 was a bit harsh don't you think? You two seemed very friendly and seemed quite content with the conditions of the rental.

Regarding the stairs, it is already specified on the advertisement that the apartment is located at the third floor, as I explained to you during the check-in (and as specified as well on the advertisement), we are located in a historical area and most buildings here are over a hundred years old and aren't built to suit an elevator inside, which is pretty obvious as you said the staircase is very narrow.

We weren't technically late but yes, the lady at the agency in the ground floor had to call us to let us know you were there so that we could finally proceed to the check-in. You forgot to mention in your review that you did not reply to my e-mails and didn't have any phone I could call you with, I called you multiple times on your Australian phone number that you provided on the booking detail and could only reach your voicemail every time. I tried texting you too to know when we could meet and ask if you had received my e-mail with the check-in time.

Towels and cleaning fees were included in the price, there were just specified in the detail of the invoice separately , I don't see what is wrong with that?

I hope next time you book online you will read the booking details more closely because it is a shame for a rental owner to receive a 1/5 star due to guests not reading entirely or properly the description of what they are paying for.

Kind Regards,
S.C.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl230...
Newcastle Nsw
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent location - good digs”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were very happy with the facilities in these digs. Plenty of space for the two of us. Good kitchen facilities.
Location is great, right in town, just around the corner from Champagne Avenue and walking distance to Champagne bars, restaurants, shops.
The only thing I would point out to be aware of is that there are not any bath towels supplied by default. We were amazed to think that anyone would even dream of bringing their own towels all the way from Australia! We then had some difficulty in getting the rental towels from the owner, too late, we ended up buying our own which was a real inconvenience. However, as long as this is not an issue for you, I would recommend this accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accommodation facilities and location
Liked least: No bath towels
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark1971...
Oegstgeest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay during Christmas holidays”
Reviewed January 18, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Family of 4. Reception at arriball was very friendly, even brought some cake for our kids. Very helpful with questions, even let use af parking permit so we could park at the house.
Very good value. We visited Paris by train, the trainstation is 200 meters & Reims by car.
Town itself is besides the Champagne houses not very special, but for a week more than enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything was more than okay
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heatherct...
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hosts, amazing location”
Reviewed October 14, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I stayed at Gite-BA apartments 1 and 2 with 6 friends on a visit to Champagne and had a great time. The apartments are in an amazing location and the hosts were very helpful and welcoming, plus the beds super-comfy! Both apartments are really well equipped with all that we needed and it was great to be able to park near to the apartment. The only downside was a bad smell of drains for some of the time we were there in both apartments but as I haven't seen this mentioned by previous reviewers, I'm assuming it may have been a one-off.
Overall however, I would definitely recommend these apartments!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 17, 2014
Thank you taking the time to post your review on the tripadvisor website.

We do look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on future occasions so that we can hopefully become your rental of choice when you visit Epernay.

We are sorry for that Drain Smell, we noticed it too and it was due to a problem in the pipes in the cave. We had it checked 2 days ago and fixed.

Sincerely yours,

Sonia C.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paoloha
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed September 21, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay in Epernay and the apartment is very spacious, esp on the French scale. The hosts were friendly and we did get most of our deposit back eventually (not the Host's fault but International Bank Transfer was a hassle). The best bit is the location of the apartment is it's very central and directly across from a beautiful park and around the corner is the start of the Champagne Avenue.

PROS:
Location - you can walk about anywhere
Close to Train Station
Safe neighborhood
Spacious apartment
Washing Machine
Heaps of utensils in kitchen
Towels and Fresh Linen provided
WiFi worked well
Hosts friendly and helpful

DOWNSIDE:
Although apartment seemed clean at first glance it was quite dusty/dirty under furniture and some kitchen utensils not clean (probably due to guests having to clean after themselves)
No Shampoo or Shower Gel provided (not even a big bottle to share)
No Washing Machine powder
Would be good if there were some games/cards for kids in the apartment.
Host waited until night before to give out the property address.
No parking at property but not a big deal as can park in another street for free.
Hassle getting Deposit back via International Bank Transfer (also bank took a lot of fees out so lost 20 Euros).
Have to clean the apartment before you leave.

I would recommend it to people staying in Epernay as it is a good value for money and in a great spot. It's not a Hotel so can't expect everything to be like a 5 star hotel. We did have a lovely time and are giving it 4 stars. Hopefully Trip Advisor/Holiday Letting sorts out the deposit system and makes it automatic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Having to clean the apartment myself
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2014
Thank you taking the time to post your review on the tripadvisor website.

We do look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on future occasions so that we can hopefully become your rental of choice when you visit Epernay.

Sincerely yours,

Sonia C.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBT-12
Currumbin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“nice apartment in the centre of town”
Reviewed September 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in this apartment for 1 week in July 2014. The apartment was surprisingly large with plenty of room for 2 couples. The location was excellent, very centrally located and within walking distance of lots of restaurants, shops, supermarkets, champagne houses and bars. We didn't have any issues with the managers or return of bond (as noted in a previous review) and found them very helpful during our stay. There is no parking at the apartment but is free parking on a street within a few hundred meters. We had no problems with finding a park during our stay. I would recommend this apartment if travelling to Epernay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2014
Thank you taking the time to post your review on the tripadvisor website.

We do look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on future occasions so that we can hopefully become your rental of choice when you visit Epernay.

Sincerely yours,

Sonia C.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBe_Lo...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay and friendly reception”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a great week staying in this apartment. It is situated in the centre of town, close to amenities and 5 minutes from the station, with park view. The apartment is clean and well-maintained. The owner was quick to respond to us when we needed to contact them. Definitely recommend to anyone wanting to visit the champagne region.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2014
Thank you taking the time to post your review on the tripadvisor website.

We do look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on future occasions so that we can hopefully become your rental of choice when you visit Epernay.

Sincerely yours,

Sonia C.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing