We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another brilliant stay!”
Review of Royal Champagne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Champagne
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Another brilliant stay!”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed as part of a group and stayed for two nights and enjoyed dinner both evenings. We stayed again in the separate suites overlooking beautiful views over the valley/vineyards. These offer a reasonable-sized bedroom and a terrace with table and chairs and a double sun-lounger. Comfortable shower/bathroom with separate toilet. Small separate sitting-room with TV and coffee machine. Tripadvisor has some great photos of these rooms.
The main hotel has extensive restaurant facilities, with attentive waiters serving high quality food and wine.
Large free car parking outside the front of the hotel.
The disabled (and perhaps those wearing high-heels!) may struggle with the gradient, levels, steps and gravelled areas.

Room Tip: The suites in the separate annex overlooking the valley offer amazing views over the vineyards and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickyManning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    60
    26
    28
    7
See reviews for
18
134
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Our friends had booked this hotel as they had stayed there the year before and we were all using it as an overnight stop travelling back from Annecy. We had booked into the restaurant for the Friday evening, on arrival they said it was essential as the restaurant was fully booked. When we arrived for our booking we were basically put in what looked like an annex of the main restaurant, when our friend asked to move the head waiter came and explained in French, there was no possibility. This area of the restaurant is clearly not normally used because we were basically forgotten, the speed of service was glacial, before global warming! Then before our main course was served they came to announce this time in English that we would be moved to the main part of the restaurant, no one had told the kitchen because a few minutes after that our main courses arrived, we were finally moved into the main restaurant for dessert. This gives you an idea of the speed of service we received because the rest of the diners had left! I made a point of speaking with reception when we checked out the next morning of how poor the service was, I have given the hotel a week hoping they may have contacted me before writing this review. So beware if you book a table ensure it is in the main part of the restaurant, the food was pretty good if a little pricey but when combined with the poor service we all thought way too expensive!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Had a flying visit to this hotel on Sunday night, lovely room,great view over the valley and the vineyards! Too short a visit but well worth having on your to do list!! Had a meal in the restaurant, and while not as good as some I have been to,still excellent. I think ,as it was a menu du jour, it wasn't what I would have picked, but at 9.30 on a Sunday night, it was just what I needed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackfish365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We just spent 5 nights here and would recommend it for the idyllic setting and beautiful appointments. A car is necessary as it's too far to walk into and back from Epernay and it's a 30 minute drive into Reims. The main building is beautiful and historic and the rooms very well appointed with beautiful views. Breakfast buffet is mostly cold---exquisite cheeses featuring with a few hot items.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueDen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Overall great hotel - I recommend it. Friendly staff, attentive (except for the restaurant) and absolutely stunning views. The rooms are modern, spacious, and clean. Ours had a balcony with great views of the valley, towns and vineyards. The pictures actually don't do it justice. When we checked in, we were greeted by Annelies Pieters, who did an amazing job and was extremely friendly and helpful.

A few disappointments:
- The restaurant, supposedly Michelin rated, was a huge dissapointment. The service was extremely slow, the staff did not speak English, and the food was a big let down. Even the foie gras was low quality pate... Don't bother asking for vegetarian food - you'll get fruit and eggs. Extremely overrated and overpriced.
- No coffee maker in the room. You have to order from the restaurant and they bring it down (for 6 euro a cup...). This is the first 5 star hotel I've stayed at that didn't have a coffee/tea maker in the room.
- Nickel and dime. The hotel is not shy about charging for everything - coffee, tea, water, ice, everything. We even asked for a couple ice buckets to chill champagne we bought at a local house and they charged 10 euro per bucket...
- No pool, spa or fitness center

Great hotel, but be prepared to spend on many little things. Or go to the local super market and stock up on cheese and bread. Along with the champagne, life is good!

Room Tip: Basic rooms, 14 and 15 were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buckeye_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
656 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

The property is unusual in its layout. It is almost an Old Country Inn, (restaurant with rooms) with more recently added one level motel just down the slope.
You arrive on a slope, but the champagne welcome is warm and what one expects from a Relais & Château in champagne country. Then one must exit the reception and cross the sharply slopping unlandscaped parking lot to a motel-like row of rooms. The corridors are enclosed so the room entrances are indoor, which we appreciated as it was raining when we arrived, and unfortunately rained for most or the 4 days we were there.
Having stayed at Villa Gallici, also a Baglioni operated Relais & Chateau, we expected a similar beautifully designed and landscaped property; and were disappointed.
There seemed to be no core to the property, no gardens to walk thru or pool or fountain to sit by. Aside from sitting on your comfortable terrace with the great view there was no place to spend time. It felt more like a motel with a restaurant nearby than an elegant resort.
The suite was spacious and with the whole champagne region at you feet, even in the clouds, one felt like they were floating in space.
The bed was very big and comfortable and we could see the vineyards from it.
The bath was as big as it was unusual in its layout. The toilet was in an unconnected room by the front door; a longish walk from the rest of the bath and the bed itself.
The room was comfortable but a little cold in its feel. It was also cold due to the weather and the multitude of radiators that were required to warm the room were not what I expect from a 5 star property. An easily deciphered thermostat is what I expect.
We always need to be connected to work when we are traveling so the abysmal internet was a big negative as was the lack of any small desk space on which to set and plug our computer.
The restaurant is quite formal, and not inexpensive, but has a great view of the valley. There were not many guests the night we dined which and the empty feeling did not add to the ambiance.
The food was well prepared and well present and the wait staff is very friendly and accommodating.
Another night we called ahead and said we wanted something light in the bar and we had a light supper with good wine in the comfortable bar. It as what we wanted.
So beyond Royal Champaign’s view, unfortunately, there is nothing to rave about. I expected more.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank venamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The location of this place is perfect - with a stunning view out over the Champagne vines towards Epernay. The staff were really friendly, but a little disorganized at times, we had to keep asking them about things they had promised to help with, but their recommendations for things to do were superb. The rooms were spacious and full of character, but a little rough around the edges - a bit of TLC required. While we were there they had 2 separate supercar clubs in - the car park was stunning. Loved that.

My main comment was the food - they need a top class chef and staff to match. For their prices and potential it fell very short. One of the worse meals for a while. Shame given the stunning room and view.

Overall it lacked that 5* perfection I was expecting.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epernay
3.3 mi away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
454 reviews
3.5 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
484 reviews
15.5 mi away
Chateau D'Etoges
Chateau D'Etoges
#1 of 1 in Etoges
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Le Clos Raymi
Le Clos Raymi
#5 of 14 in Epernay
172 reviews
10.9 mi away
Chateau Les Crayeres
Chateau Les Crayeres
#1 of 68 in Reims
692 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Villa Saint Pierre
La Villa Saint Pierre
#6 of 14 in Epernay
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Champagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Champagne

Property: Royal Champagne
Address: Hameau | Hameau de Bellevue, 51160, Epernay, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Champagne 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Land of Champagne and of the king of France has given its name to our Hotel, a historical and authentic house, surrounded by some of the most prestigious French vineyards. Your stay among us will be full of a thousand and one daily delights:champagne tasting, dinner in our gastronomic restaurant, visits to local champagne cellars, excursions to Reims and Epernay... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Champagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Champagne Hotel Epernay
Royal Champagne Épernay
Royal Champagne Hotel Épernay
Royal Champagne Epernay, France - Champagne-Ardenne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing