We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little flat”
Review of Royal Champagne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Champagne
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Potomac, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A little flat”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent one night at the Royal Champagne in early May while in transit from Bourgogne to Alsace (yes, it's out of the way). We had originally booked our stay because we were going from
Bourgogne to Charles DeGaulle to drop off a family member who was scheduled to return home before we did. For medical reasons, the family member did not make the trip and we attempted to cancel the reservation as soon as we learned of the change in plans. This was exactly 14 days before our arrival. The hotel refused to honor the cancellation request, citing their 15 day cancelation policy. While technically-contractually correct, this is not the type of client friendly service we would have expected from a Relais & Châteaux property. So, we zig-zagged our way to Alsace, and spent one night at the Royal Champagne.

The hotel itself is also a bit odd, with a very 60's modern glass enclosed walkway linking the lobby and restaurant area to the more traditionally styled rooms. Our room was spacious and well appointed, so no complaints there. The restaurant and bar area - accessible only by walking outside -- seemed a little worn out, stuffy, and, curiously, had a very, very limited offering of Champagnes by the glass. After one glass, and indifferent service, we opted to leave and drove into Epernay and found a lovely, friendly small restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldboomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    60
    26
    28
    7
See reviews for
18
134
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed at the Royal Champagne for one evening during a week away on business. The rooms were lovely and very comfortable, and the bathroom was just great and very luxurious.
The porters were a bit scruffy and there did not seem to be enough of them on hand and quick enough to help everybody with their bags to their rooms. The building is quite dated and very much like a house converted into a hotel. It is smaller than I had imagined, thinking of Royal Champagne and grandeur - I had overestimated the Royal here! The reception staff were great however, and the night time reception / concierge were great in helping me fix a taxi for the next day to get me to the airport. Note - that Epernay is a 2 and a half taxi drive to Paris CDG airport and costs up to 400 euros!! Not for the poor or faint hearted - trains do not run well at the weekends so consider this if you are not driving through France.
We dined at Moet et Chandon. Again stunning grounds here but disappointed on the service and the food. When visiting Royal Champagne you are paying for the region more than the accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vasilia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreuil-sur-Mer, France
2 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2013

we were lucky enough to be taken to this wonderful hotel as a treat for our wedding anniversary and it did not disappoint. The view during the day was lovely from our terrace, over Epernay, but at night it just came alive with twinkling lights and was magic. The hotel room was large and comfortable with a very large bathroom and a very comfy bed, very romantic with rose petals on our turned down beds when we came back from the restaurant. In the restaurant the food was lovely, staff attentive and first class. We enjoyed the degustation menu and it was very good, although for so many courses the portions were large - glad I did not wear a belt. Breakfast the following morning was copious with fresh croissants, lovely bread and a good choice of fruit and yoghurts. Overall, very, very good and I would certainly go back there

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ergny6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed for one night on the way down to the Bourgogne from Calais. This was the perfect to stop. Indeed the views are breath-taking and breakfast on your private terrace is a real treat.

We had dinner in the restaurant and although the prices are dear, the staff were very accommodating, discreet, professional and efficient. The food was excellent with generous portions. The décor is very Relais Chateaux creating a very clam atmosphere.

I will agree with another fact, the personnel at reception is wonderful, particularly Annelise. We had a fabulous stay and hope to return to enjoy the place for more than one night...

Room Tip: The views from the rooms with terraces are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptatworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We only were able to stay here for one night, but throughly enjoyed it.
The rooms have incredible views of the vineyards and on to Epernay. The rooms were spacious and beautiful. The bathroom was huge and nicely appointed (probably the best of my two week tour through france).
We also dined at the restaurant: very good. Some classic traditional dishes as well as some interesting items (where there Pop-Rocks with the foie gras or did I imagine that?). Great wine list at the restaurant as well. Staff in the restaurant was top-notch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhFranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colmar
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We met with our valued friends from New Zealand for an important R-V and spent 2 nights with
half-board here. What a disappointment! The food and restaurant service was well below par. In
fact it was distressing on the second night. We were handed the limited menu and told that the
cod had not arrived so we must settle for the same fish as the previous evening as our main course.We chose lobster as an entree, but this also was not available, only Tuna. It got worse!We waited over 1 hour for the first dish!
Our friends are vegan and we had made this clear before booking. We were told 'not a problem'
which we believed given the cost and reputation of this Relais Chateaux. Unfortunately the chef
was having difficulties and told the waiter to tell us 'May be possible' What arrived was a large
dish of shredded carrot with some sort of sauce already saturating the mess. Then the manageress arrived to explain the problems in the kitchen etc. She did not speak English.
What a disaster. The Hotel lives up to its description,fabulous views and well appointed. One
can imagine the great history and charm. However, something is missing. It needs more attention to detail, both within and exterior. For example, there was no list or price for the mini
bar, but various items were left on the shelf in an inviting way. My wife tried the crisps which
were stale and carried no date. They appeared on the bill though, at 12 euros. So! Not one to recommend. Where is the welcome in ones room? e.g biscuit-rose de Reims for example!
They apologized profusely on our last day and made a small reduction, The bottle
of champagne,given as some condolence, will rest in our cave. I must say, the dutch receptionist
was very professional and pleasant. We will remember her for her kindness and concern.

Room Tip: Check who is in the kichen before making a dinner reservation. Then enjoy the Deluxe doubles with s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Biarritz64Colmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a large group on a car rally for one night.
Now I need to go back for longer.
Stunning views from our beautifully presented room.
The dining room was amazing...
Recommend to anyone wanting a very beautiful location and romantic stay...

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epernay
3.5 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
490 reviews
15.5 mi away
Chateau D'Etoges
Chateau D'Etoges
#1 of 1 in Etoges
1,179 reviews
3.6 mi away
Le Clos Raymi
Le Clos Raymi
#5 of 14 in Epernay
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Auberge Champenoise
Auberge Champenoise
#11 of 14 in Epernay
199 reviews
10.9 mi away
L'Assiette Champenoise
L'Assiette Champenoise
#1 of 10 in Tinqueux
527 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hostellerie La Briqueterie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Champagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Champagne

Property: Royal Champagne
Address: Hameau | Hameau de Bellevue, 51160, Epernay, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Champagne 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Land of Champagne and of the king of France has given its name to our Hotel, a historical and authentic house, surrounded by some of the most prestigious French vineyards. Your stay among us will be full of a thousand and one daily delights:champagne tasting, dinner in our gastronomic restaurant, visits to local champagne cellars, excursions to Reims and Epernay... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Champagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Champagne Hotel Epernay
Royal Champagne Épernay
Royal Champagne Hotel Épernay
Royal Champagne Epernay, France - Champagne-Ardenne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing