We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here if you visit the Champagne area.”
Review of Royal Champagne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Champagne
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Stay here if you visit the Champagne area.”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The location overlooking the vineyards is spectacular. The rooms are very nice and have huge bathrooms. The service is very friendly and professional. Room service was not up to the standards of what I would be expected of this establishment. The food was medicre and overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarb46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    60
    26
    28
    7
See reviews for
18
134
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Before we stayed at Royal Champagne, we read the mixed reviews re the hotel, staff and the restaurant. Our first impression was the desk manager, Annelies Pieters. This lady is much suited to the hotel / hospitality business. Very professional and accommodating. Our room wasn't ready , so we had lunch in the restaurant. The waiter came from italy, Felicien, was very knowledgeable and spoke fine english. The food was great. Not cheap. Our room had great views, however basic items in the room weren't working. Phone was out, the WiFi , as we read about needs fixing and our front door had a locking problem. However, this is a case where the staff make up for all the inconvenient problems. Our overall stay was wonderful and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Book the room on the very end for the best views across the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Not cheap, but lovely hotel at the top of Champillon and facing Epernay and the surrounding vineyards. Amazing views from the rooms and the restaurant area - huge rooms (esp the bathrooms), great food and even better champagne.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pau R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resp_reception, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Champagne, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guests,

We all at the Royal Champagne thank you for your comment! We are all really delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we really hope to see you again soon!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Beautiful position overlooking Epernay, delightful and helpful staff, lovely surroundings and superb rooms.
Very expensive food, one cannot escape that. Expensive wines and champagnes and nowhere really to sit in the hotel other than a small lounge or in your room, which can be a bit of a trek in bad weather to the main building. A small bar would be a great improvement.
The food was good but not exceptional and there are many much more reasonable restaurants in the area.
Was it worth the expense for a three night stay? Undoubtedly it was, mainly because of the most charming staff, beautiful surroundings and five star comfort.
I do wish however, that French hotels would serve decent coffee at breakfast. It is always a disappointment, and this was no exception

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GourmetEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have stayed four times over the past two years, the views are amazing from the rooms, bathrooms are also excellent, welcome was lovely, however the restaurant serves delicious food but at a high price, champagne is also very expensive. Bill for 570 euros for one night on top of the 30% deposit already paid was by far the most expensive stay we have ever had at this particular hotel, beware of waiter who tries to make you order a dessert when ordering your first two courses, this proved very expensive and the desserts were left untouched

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CambridgeTrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I have stayed in teh royal champagne 3 times and it has always been an amazing experience. The service is outside this world and the staff super great. I am a big fan and it has become my favorite place to stay in Champagne.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martecarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resp_reception, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Champagne, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your comment. We are more than happy to know that our Hotel is one of your favorite place to stay.
We hope to see soon for your fourth visit!
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We only had one night to spare to run to Epernay to buy bubbles. This was a lovely hotel just outside Epernay. You need a car to get there and have a run around the countryside to get the best from the experience although it is doable by taxi. The room was nice and a mix of mainly modern and some old. Big sliding patio style windows meant we could catch a few rays from the comfort of our room (the rain was looming). Only problem was the temperature of water which was not hot. Apparently the room we were in is at the end of the pipe so has to be run for a long time to get the hot water through ......could do with fixing as it was annoying.

Great restaurant - we had the dinner bed and breakfast deal and the menu was fantastic. Top tip get to the restaurant early to get a window seat to look out over the vines. It fills up quickly
Really good wine list and I would recommend getting half bottle of bubbles then move to reds (depending on taste). Lots of lovely courses but make sure you save some room for the cheese and then the pudding ...........and wear some stretchy but smart clothes it was generous with all those courses. They did do a la carte as well a the set menus.
Its the sort of place that you dress up a bit as the decor and staff are a bit more French formal - we dont mind that and the staff do respond to have a bit of a chat.

We had a lovely brekkie - and yes you could have champers as part of the buffet......sadly we were off on the road so didnt want it!!

Room Tip: They are buidling a spa and pool so that will be great in the future. The really posh elaborate roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SianNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epernay
3.5 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
489 reviews
15.5 mi away
Chateau D'Etoges
Chateau D'Etoges
#1 of 1 in Etoges
1,177 reviews
3.6 mi away
Le Clos Raymi
Le Clos Raymi
#5 of 14 in Epernay
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Auberge Champenoise
Auberge Champenoise
#11 of 14 in Epernay
200 reviews
10.9 mi away
L'Assiette Champenoise
L'Assiette Champenoise
#1 of 10 in Tinqueux
527 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premiere Classe Epernay
Premiere Classe Epernay
#3 of 14 in Epernay
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Champagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Champagne

Property: Royal Champagne
Address: Hameau | Hameau de Bellevue, 51160, Epernay, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Champagne 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Land of Champagne and of the king of France has given its name to our Hotel, a historical and authentic house, surrounded by some of the most prestigious French vineyards. Your stay among us will be full of a thousand and one daily delights:champagne tasting, dinner in our gastronomic restaurant, visits to local champagne cellars, excursions to Reims and Epernay... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Champagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Champagne Hotel Epernay
Royal Champagne Épernay
Royal Champagne Hotel Épernay
Royal Champagne Epernay, France - Champagne-Ardenne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing