We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place in Epernay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Clos Raymi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Clos Raymi
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Perth
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The best place in Epernay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2009

My wife and I stayed here together with our adult son who was living in France. The hostess was very friendly and helpful

This small Hotel is perfectly located in Epernay (just behind Moet & Chandon. The rooms were beautiful, clean and comfortable. Excellent bathrooms for a French Hotel Breakfast was very good.

It was fun to end each day with a bottle of Champagne and some cheese purchased whilst out visitng " the Caves"..

  • Liked — Converted beautiful old home, location.
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank milmalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    68
    17
    11
    3
See reviews for
14
91
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2009

It is hard to imagine a more charming place. Madame (my nickname for my wife) and I have stayed here several times. Each time we remember why we come back.

As others have noted, Epernay is just a regular small town, but it does have lots of wonderful places to eat.

Madame Woda and staff do a wonderful breakfast - the best croissants anywhere and terrific home grown rhubarb and creme fraiche.

Our rooms have always been wonderful too, clean, simple, comfortable,....

The secret to staying - have Madame Woda make your dinner reservations and one of the many good restaurants in town. When you arrive at the restaurant and announce that Madame Woda sent you, you are treated like royalty.

We love the place.

Merci, Madame Woda

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — Not a thing!
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seabird20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
74 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2008

My fiance & I stayed here for 2 nights over Easter weekend. We found it to be a simple but perfectly nice B&B style accomodation. It was good value in quite a convenient location.

Our room was Coloniale, one flight up the stairs. It had a very high ceiling, a large window overlooking the front gate, & a nice bathroom, with a combination tub/shower & comfortable bathrobes. The mattress was a bit flat, but no real discomfort there. There was some noise as guests came & went from their rooms, due to the hardwood floors, but this wasn't too distracting.

It was very useful to be able to park our car inside the gated property at no extra charge. We didn't have any problems opening the gate or front door late at night with the code & key. We walked to & from town & the hotel several times; it takes around 15 minutes & is a bit hilly - thus quite convenient but not 100% (especially during freezing, blustery weather). But it's a very close walk to the avenue de champagne.

The service was fine, friendly & not overbearing. We had breakfast one morning, which was good quality & plentiful. In all, we had no complaints & think we received good value for money.

  • Liked — Quite good value & location
  • Disliked — Nothing special that would make us return
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IPGHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2008

We felt it was not for us and only stayed the one night. Lacked atmosphere and evening meal. The breakfast was fresh but sparse. If you are looking for the more basic hotel with a high room price - this is the place. Parking on site and safe.

  • Liked — Off-street parking
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DontgotoNIKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2008

My wife and I last stayed here in 2006, so were interested to see how things had changed if at all. I had read mainly very good reviews but also one bad review from an American. Then again, he couldn't even spell champagne and wanted eggs with his French breakfast so perhaps one should not read too much into that one!!!

This time we brought both sets of parents with us to tour the champagne region and had raved about this hotel. Thankfully, it was still a brilliant place to visit with wonderful hospitality from Madame Woda and her staff. A special mention to Caramel, the gorgeous ginger cat. Relaxing with a coffee in the lounge and a cat to cuddle was a home from home!

This house once belonged to the Chandon family of Moet et Chandon fame. It is a typical high-ceilinged French house with large windows, washboard floors and a mix of objets d'art and antiques that work really well. The hotel is as you would expect from the name 'Clos' enclosed by a walled garden and therefore has secure parking. Breakfast was once again fantastic with fresh, warm croissants and really fresh baguettes. A perfect French breakfast.

We use Epernay as a base to explore the Marne Valley, Montagne de Reims and Cote de Blancs. This year we visited during the harvest which was a great time to drive through the vineyards and the Champagne route.

Epernay (as Reims) is undergoing a facelift at the moment. Both towns are having their main tourist areas pedestrianised (Cathedral in Reims and Avenue de Champagne in Epernay). Both are looking even better for it.

We love the region and adore this hotel. We are now planning a return trip in December.

  • Liked — The ambience, the locaation and Caramel the cat!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PsychoWarthog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2008

Stayed here 2 nights with a 3 year old. Rooms very nice but a bit hot, we did have a little fan. Bathroom very nice with robes & nice little touches. Great parking only a 5 minute walk into town & champagne houses. Breakfast was nice also.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaffajames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2008

Good quality and excellent location, although I went with the in-laws who are in their 80's and they found the hill walk back from eating in the town centre a little more effort, but managed it both nights.

Rooms and fit out is high quality, and the service was very good, I have no complaints at all.

  • Liked — Quality
  • Disliked — No restaurant
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PMRMoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epernay
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Villa Saint Pierre
La Villa Saint Pierre
#6 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Epernay Centre Ville
12.0 mi away
Chateau D'Etoges
Chateau D'Etoges
#1 of 1 in Etoges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
2.5 mi away
Auberge Champenoise
Auberge Champenoise
#8 of 14 in Epernay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos Raymi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos Raymi

Property: Le Clos Raymi
Address: 3 rue Joseph de Venoge, 51200, Epernay, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Clos Raymi 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Clos Raymi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos Raymi Hotel Epernay
Le Clos Raymi Épernay
Le Clos Raymi Hotel Épernay
Le Clos Raymi Epernay, France - Champagne-Ardenne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing