We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”
Review of Le Clos Raymi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Clos Raymi
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We absolutely loved it! During our trip back from Italy to London, we stopped over at this accommodation, located closed to a champagne factory, the area is gorgeous! We got ‘Provencale’ room (twin en suite): decoration, set up, scent were amazing! Attention to details, very artistic, beautiful architecture and garden view. Absolutely recommended, good value for money. Just one note unfortunately we couldn’t make it for breakfast, we needed to leave earlier than 8, I suggest a slot for early bird guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    68
    17
    12
    3
See reviews for
14
92
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel is in lovely grounds, is very impressive upon arrival and has on site (locked) parking. As we approached the hotel we found it locked up and had to wait to be let in as the owner was on the phone (i found this abit strange for a hotel during the day). We were then told where our room was on the first floor and went upstairs to find it - the key was in the door. Whilst this was fine it might have been nice to have been shown to our room! The room was very nicely decorated and met with our requirements, it was clean. I would agree this is a 3 star hotel based on the facilities but was a very nice, quite spacious room - we stayed in the 'City' room. The lady who served us breakfast was nice and the breakfast itself was excellent. The hotel is located within walking distance of the centre of Epernay although the walk back in the dark was abit eery. I think this hotel is abit dear for what it was but we wanted to stay here because it was Mr Chandon's former mansion. I would recommend staying at this hotel although i can see areas for improvement.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatFarrell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tooting, London, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Having read the previous reviews we decided to stay here for one night. We arrived early at the hotel and had to ring the doorbell as the frontdoor was locked - have you ever heard of a hotel that closes for lunch???? All we wanted was to ask if we could leave our car in the car park as we knew we were too early for check in. The lady took ages to open and when she did the first thing she said in French was "What? You are 1 1/2 hour early for check-in. What do you want?" Not the best greeting at a "hotel" if you can call this a hotel. We said that we just wanted to ask if we could leave the car as we wanted to check in later. But she took my name and came back and said room was ready and pointed to the stairs and said "2nd floor". Never showed us to the room, didn't tell us that the doors and big gates are closed and locked early and that the fob on your room key opens both. But as we are fairly intelligent people we worked that one out ourselves. After our day out to a Champagne House and dinner we returned to what felt like an empty house where we actually felt like we were intruding walking to our room. The room was very small with two single beds. The bedspread come duvet was stained and so was the cover on the chair by the small desk. The carpet also had some interesting stains on it. The wardrobe and surrounding shelf unit was made of plywood and so was the cabinet in the bathroom. There were black cat or dog hairs everywhere! We were "promised" a room with furniture from the 1930's, but there was nothing. The room was incredibly hot so we had to sleep with the window wide open, but the traffic noise was awful. The only pleasant thing about the room was the shower in the morning. The hairdryer was impossible to use as the button to hold pressed in while you used the dryer was so stiff that my thumb was hurting after 5 minutes so I gave up.
On check out we walked down stairs and a lady came out and walked straight passed me into an office where she started printing our bill out without saying good morning or ask if we had a pleasant stay etc - basically none of the usual stuff you expect to be greeted with. In fact the only thing she said was "good bye" when we left. I know the French can be a bit "reserved", but it was unpleasant from start to finish.
Furthermore we were told that the hotel was full that evening, but there were keys in at least 4-5 of the doors when we got back from our day out.
The only good thing about this place is the free parking just outside the house.
We will most definitely never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlotte1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Relaxed athmosfere hotel, very friendly staff. Only 7 rooms but I guess that is a good thing.
We had a room at the 2nd floor (Loft), but is not a problem for us.
Car can be parked before the hotel in the front area which is locked overnight, that was a plus.
The price is rather high for a 3* but a free and safe parking has some value to.
Room was very clean, double bed.
Breakfast (15eur) was also ok, eggs and bacon is served as you want it.
I would go back.

Room Tip: The Loft room on 2nd floor, no lift. Not advised if you have issues with steps. The room has carpe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WVP35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

When we travel we like to absorb the feel of where we are and Hotel Le Clos Raymi is very French.
The Hotel exudes warmth and friendliness , it is beautifully decorated and has many interesting art works and artifacts that would elude to a Colonial past.
We had the "City "Room , it was large and warm and the bed was extremely comfortable. The Bathroom was well appointed and very clean, actually the whole place was spotless.
The staff were welcoming and helpful and despite language differences we were able to communicate with a few words of French, some sign language, drawing and a lot of laughs.
A Restaurant was recommended and booked for us and directions given and understood. Breakfast was served in a small but delightful dining room ,a breakfast of fruit, cereal, omelette , croissants, coffee and much more. The Hotel prides itself on it's breakfast and it has a lot to be proud about.
This Hotel is worth every Euro !!!

Room Tip: Ask for "City" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jpgoodship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
431 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

A very friendly welcome. This hotel has no lift and the small room we booked was indeed small, but quite adequate. there is no computer for client use. Very good free parking. No chi-chi. Good value in Epernay.

Room Tip: The "Cosy" room at the top is good value- but lives up to its name.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oilmanDorset_U_K_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were on a driving holiday through Northern France and booked this hotel very last minute upon entering Epernay, from reading the reviews on trip advisor. As I have a realitively new convertible car I was pleased there was parking (free) behind secure iron gates in front of the hotel. You have to check in before 7.30 pm and we made it just in time. This seems to be a popular area and would advise you do book earlier than we did to avoid disappoint, both for hotels and restaurants. It was Saturday when we arrived and most of the hotels only had one room left and the restaurants were fully booked and this is early March. The hotel is conveniently placed, approx. 10 mins walk from avenue de champagne if you turn left and 10 mins from the town centre with restaurants etc if you turn right. We stayed in the "loft" on the top / fourth floor (no lift) bit dated inside, however the shower was very powerful and the bed, two singles together was surprisingly the 2nd most comfortable I have ever slept in, the 1st being the Ritz. The smell of fresh croissants wafting into the room in the morning made the four flights of stairs very easy to manage! The home cooked breakfast was very tasty and well worth the 15 euros. Freshly squeezed orange juice, tea, coffee, croissants, freshly cooked eggs of your choice, cheeses, hams, jams, fresh fruit, OMG, where did it end? The room did seem expensive, 215 euros including breakfast for two as the room does seem simply furnished, however can you put a price on good location, good nights sleep (very peaceful) and a hearty delicious breakfast?

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epernay
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Villa Saint Pierre
La Villa Saint Pierre
#6 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Epernay Centre Ville
12.0 mi away
Chateau D'Etoges
Chateau D'Etoges
#1 of 1 in Etoges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
2.5 mi away
Auberge Champenoise
Auberge Champenoise
#9 of 14 in Epernay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos Raymi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos Raymi

Property: Le Clos Raymi
Address: 3 rue Joseph de Venoge, 51200, Epernay, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Clos Raymi 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Clos Raymi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos Raymi Hotel Epernay
Le Clos Raymi Épernay
Le Clos Raymi Hotel Épernay
Le Clos Raymi Epernay, France - Champagne-Ardenne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing