We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old French Charm”
Review of Le Clos Raymi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Clos Raymi
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Surrey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Old French Charm”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I booked this lovely hotel because it was mentioned in one of the Alistair Sawday books, and we wanted to make Epernay the first of several stops as we meandered down to the south. Epernay is ok. In retrospect I would have preferred somewhere else as it was quite dead in the evenings. However the hotel was charming, a beautiful Renaissance building, the interior a mix of rustic, with a nod to the art deco period. It's a little tired, but that kind of makes it, in a strange sort of way. The breakfast was extra which in my opinion should have been included in the room price, however, travelling through France I am coming to realise this is quite common. it's in quite a good spot for walking into The town, although we had my elderly mum with us so we chose to drive the short distance instead as she would have struggled. The streets are so quiet at night that I'm glad we did drive as I would have been a little spooked walking back to the hotel at night. Dinner is not offered at the hotel so you have to go out. We had a couple of mediocre meals, which I will review separately, but Mdme Woda the owner did recommend a restaurant, that we didn't get to try unfortunately. All in all a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We had Toscane which was a very nice size room. There is no air conditioning, but this would only be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    68
    17
    12
    3
See reviews for
14
92
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I decided to stay here as the reviews suggested a little more than what we got.

Staff very friendly, and helpful, they could be less helpful, if you have no French.

There is no restaurant or bar

Room was large but in serious need of a refurbishment, the double be was in fact two singles pushed together and not secured, that was fun!

Shower room was in need of a deep clean.

Breakfast was excellent however, the acid test is always would I go back in this case no.

It was over priced to boot, I paid nearly 200 euros

Room Tip: Pray and hope
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petermaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We had a good sized room in this fine old building. Good breakfast ,& secure on site parking, only a 5 minute walk to the centre of town & champagne houses. Helpful owner & efficient staff made for a pleasant stay. My only problem was the usual hand shower over bath with no screen.
Epernay is a good first stop from Paris & you should enjoy 2 or 3 nights here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannah-dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

We arrived after 9 on our trip to the alps. This a small family run hotel. They made a point of being available for our arrival and greeting us. They booked us a nice restuarant in the centre of Epernay. The room was really nicely decorated, as was the hotel, which was very stylish. Breakfast was really nice too. Great start to our holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteEllington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed 22nd to 24th June 2012. This is a beautiful property, so comfortable and beautifully decorated. We stayed in the Coloniale room and this was perfect. Bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was lovely. The breakfast was one of the best we had on our trip, everything homemade & fresh. Great location as easy walking distance to most champagne houses and all restaurants.

Room Tip: Coloniale was a beautiful room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaandToddfrommel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Le Clos Reymi last night. As it was our last night of holiday, we paid for an upgraded room. The front was wonderful and enterance was very nice but the room was not worth it. The sheets were rough, you could hear everyone in the hotel, and the room was bit run down. Not ideal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bailee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

A beautifully decorated place that feels like someone's home rather than a hotel. The rooms are comfortable, cleverly designed and well decorated. The location is fantastic - around the corner from Avenue de Champagne. And the breakfast is superlative, the best I've had in Europe. Excellent bread, a superb selection of cheeses (not just the usual dry little bits found in most breakfast buffets) and eggs also on offer.

The only downside is that no one spoke more than a few words of English so communicating was difficult. But other than that it was a really lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pokkstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epernay
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Villa Saint Pierre
La Villa Saint Pierre
#6 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Epernay Centre Ville
12.0 mi away
Chateau D'Etoges
Chateau D'Etoges
#1 of 1 in Etoges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
2.5 mi away
Auberge Champenoise
Auberge Champenoise
#9 of 14 in Epernay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos Raymi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos Raymi

Property: Le Clos Raymi
Address: 3 rue Joseph de Venoge, 51200, Epernay, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Clos Raymi 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Clos Raymi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos Raymi Hotel Epernay
Le Clos Raymi Épernay
Le Clos Raymi Hotel Épernay
Le Clos Raymi Epernay, France - Champagne-Ardenne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing