We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tres charmant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Clos Raymi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Clos Raymi
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Linslade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Tres charmant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

This was a return visit to possibly one of the nicest places I have stayed over many trips to France; it's like putting on a favourite jumper, as when, say, gardening of just lolling about - more like going to a friend's house than to an hotel.
I digress; it's decorated somewhat eclectically, with different 'treasures' (or knick-knacks) in the various rooms. (I've often wondered what constitutes bric-a-bric. Visit Le Clos to find out!) Yes, some bits are looking a little tired but it's all part of the charm and its individuality.
As others have mentioned, the hotel is ideally located for the Avenue de la Champagne, and it's a short walk into town. Conversely, it seems a lot further walking back afterwards, but I can think of a couple of good reasons for that.
We were on the top floor, in the eaves, which gives a view on one side of the valley across the Marne, but there's no lift, so best travel light.
Breakfast was rather good, mostly home-made with freshly squeezed fruit juices, marvellous croissants and confitures. At €15, I thought it a little pricey but there is lots of choice, including cereals, cold meats, cheeses, yoghurt etc., and they'll also conjure up boiled/scrambled eggs.
The owner, and her staff, are delightful and were very helpful throughout our stay.
The gardens are lovely and a peaceful haven, with sufficient secure parking.

Room Tip: If you can manage several flights of stairs, the 'Loft' has good views and is a good-sized r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    68
    17
    12
    3
See reviews for
14
92
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

I was not dissapointed with Le Clos Raymi. First of all it, it a beautiful house from the entrance and beyond. I love how the place is decorated with small mementos from all over the world. We only stayed for one night but everything was in good order and the service was nice. Although it was centrally located and walking distance to the caves, it was on a quiet residential street. The room was very charming and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDiningTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We recently stayed here with my inlaws and it was an absolute delight. The rooms were tastefully decorated with individual touches, everything just matched perfectly. The ladies who ran the place were so lovely and the breakfast in the morning, simple coffee/tea, muesli, bread and delicious jams. It was honestly one of the best places I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bohonomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

Very welcoming - Its only bed and breakfast, Very arty - and very pleasing
The breakfast with home made jams - wow
5 minutes walk from the centre
We WILL go back

Room Tip: Get a map from the net to find the road its in (just behind Moet & Chandon)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fromanantiqueland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel with good atmosphere, great breakfast restaurant with nice ambience, 7 beautiful, different rooms, nice Restaurants in the area, only 5 minutes walking distance into town, piano in the ground floor :-) Unfortunately only french television and only 5 channels, Parking possibilities for free, Free Wireless LAN :-) no minibar, nice Lobby room in the ground floor, normal keys - no High tech Key cards,

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryClaire1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

I can only write positive things about this hotel: ideally situated 5 minutes from the Avenue de Champagne & town centre, the staff is very helpful, rooms are beautifully decorated and the breakfast is wonderful; with such a good breakfast, you can skip lunch quite easily and spend the time walking around and visiting the caves, which were amazing! I would go back there again and recommend to anyone who wants to visit Epernay; lots of lovely restaurants within walking distance. The hotel was built in 1870 for Mr Chandon & his family, shame the hotel doesn't advertise that, it is like walking into a page of history....

Room Tip: our room was called Cosy, it is a twin on top floor, perfect for a long weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momo860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

If you like what makes France - French, then you'll love staying here. You are essentially a paying guest in Madame's house. It's very close to all the champagne houses and very nice place to come back to after spending the afternoon/evening filling yourself with champagne and food. Whilst some people (even my partner who stayed with me) might list any lacking in service or worn edges - it's overall a very nice experience - which at the end of the day is why we travel and stay in large houses such as these as opposed to a more slick hotel.

très cher, mais très belle - as they say in google translate.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Devilgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epernay
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Villa Saint Pierre
La Villa Saint Pierre
#7 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Epernay Centre Ville
12.0 mi away
Chateau D'Etoges
Chateau D'Etoges
#1 of 1 in Etoges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
2.5 mi away
Auberge Champenoise
Auberge Champenoise
#8 of 14 in Epernay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos Raymi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos Raymi

Property: Le Clos Raymi
Address: 3 rue Joseph de Venoge, 51200, Epernay, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Clos Raymi 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Clos Raymi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos Raymi Hotel Epernay
Le Clos Raymi Épernay
Le Clos Raymi Hotel Épernay
Le Clos Raymi Epernay, France - Champagne-Ardenne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing