We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walked out!”

Best Western Hotel De Champagne
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel De Champagne
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Reviewed July 7, 2010

This place is hideous! After spending a week in the south of France we wanted to stop off for a night somewhere nice on the way back up to Calais. After hearing all about Epernay we decided to chance our luck and see if we could get a room for the night. The only place with any rooms left was the Best Western. I now know why. We booked our room but as soon as we saw it we left the hotel to think about what we were going to do. We decided we didn't want to ruin what had been a lovely week by sleeping under nylon covers in a seriously old fashioned room. We went back to the room handed back the keys and drove to Reims where we spent the night. Unfortunately we didn't get to go to the champagne caves but nothing would have been worth having to stay in this dive. I cannot understand how such a big chain can have a hotel this bad!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lanherne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 117 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2009

These were some of the smallest, overpriced rooms we encountered in 2 weeks in France. It's a surprise to call it a 3 star hotel -- it does not deserve it. Avoid it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

When you get there nobody will come to the reception to greet you and check you in for about 20 mins.

Rooms were tiny and needed serious re-vamp.

Lighting though-out the hotel was dingy & made any trips using the stairs highly dangerous.

Lifts cause claustrophobia & are so small that only one person with their luggage can use it at a time.

Staff actually accused us of stealing water when we'd bought our own especially so we didn't have to pay extra for the mini bar! - Just don't put your own water in the fridge to chill it or you will have to pay for the privilege and have to have an argument with simple staff at the end of your stay thus rendering the entire stay unworthy of your money.

If you can stay somewhere else do - otherwise I advise you to take a lawyer and film your entire stay!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bringer_of_Doom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

Rooms were very small and only suitable for short stays. Good central location in Epernay but no car parking facilities of its own; you have to use the public car park opposite. Friendly had helpful staff. No restaurant, only a breakfast room. However the breakfast was quite adequate but not included in the price of the room.
Overall not good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skynet45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Nothing to recommend it. The staff were rude and unwilling to help, the rooms are very small and in bad condition and refused to help with regards to my food allergies where breakfast was concerned.

Avoid.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zerodosage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We stayed here 2 nights while driving around France.... it was a perfectly nice hotel in a really good location in the heart of Epernay.... it is a 30 second walk to the main stretch of champagne maisons and the heart of the restaurants and bars. The room was clean and tidy.... bit small.... in need of a make over, but for the rate we paid (good deal on the internet) it was perfectly adequate. We spent hardly any time in room becasue we were out and about . Didn't bother with breakfast... 12E per person for some coffee from a machine and a basket of bread seemed excesive... go and have a coffee and croisants at one of the many coffee shops right by hotel for half the price! We managed to park opposite the hotel and at the end of the stay the barrier was up for some reason, so we got a free park! Probably not always the case, but a good bonus at the end of the trip! I'd recommend this place if you are heading to Epernay to get stuck in to some champagne drinking and sight seeing and don't want to have to worry about using the car and want to be able to walk to all the maisons and sights easily and quickly.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KLousie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2008

This was not my first choice but It was good. I normally like quirky/family run or B&B.
This is what I would expect from a Best Western anywhere. Large room, hair dryer in the bathroom, clean, that funny gerneric bed spread that you see in every BW and big bonus; a plug in water pot with coffee tea and sugar provided!

My room faced the street, there was no late night noise. There is a tiny 2 person lift for luggage. I did not use the restaurant or bar.

The public parking lot is directly across the street and free after 7:00P.M until early the next morning.
Reception spoke perfect English. The Saturday market is just 2 blocks behind the hotel and a great stop for picnic food. Hotel is easily within walking distance of the tourist area and the start of the Champagne Boulevard.

The tourist office can help you book a cellar visit if you did not plan ahead but this was February and I'm sure they are crazy busy in better weather.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank austngrl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Epernay hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Epernay Centre Ville
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
466 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kyriad Epernay
Kyriad Epernay
#8 of 14 in Epernay
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Clos Raymi
Le Clos Raymi
#5 of 14 in Epernay
181 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premiere Classe Epernay
Premiere Classe Epernay
#3 of 14 in Epernay
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel De Champagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel De Champagne

Address: 30 Rue Eugene Mercier, 51200, Epernay, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Price Range: $110 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel De Champagne 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel De Champagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western De Champagne
Best Western Epernay
épernay Best Western
Best Western Épernay
Best Western Hotel De Champagne Epernay, France - Champagne-Ardenne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing