We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location & great value”
Review of Hotel Le Magellan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Le Magellan
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
CHATHAM
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic location & great value”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The location of the hotel is fantastic, we parked the car when we arrived (this is a short distance away from the hotel) and then didnt use the car again until we were leaving. Our room was located at the front of hotel and because we hadnt closed our window properly on the first evening we found it quite noisy from the street but on our second night we closed the window fully and it was a lot quieter. Our room was bright, modern and really clean as was our bathroom. We did miss a mirror in our bedroom though and had to use the only mirror which was in the bathroom. We found the walls and ceilings very thin and did hear other guests in the hotel,however our friends had a much quieter room at the back of the hotel and were not disturbed at all.
The bar had a great vibe and everyone was extremely friendly . The breakast was fantastic value and really relaxed, we took at least an hour to have our breakfast and were under no pressure at all to leave our table. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definately come back to Le Magellan again when its time to restock our champagne supplies.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel seem quieter but dont have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JULESChatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    32
    21
    8
    7
See reviews for
7
40
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
541 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I made this reservation and was guaranteed rooms 1 & 2 on 1st floor; when we arrived 1 & 2 were gone so gave us 3 & 4 having to climb huge amounts of stairs with luggage etc. We were promised wi-fi in every room and that is not the case... NO Wi-FI in rooms only in hotel lobby and only on occasion. Too many times we have checked into a hotel or B&B and they all say "yes we have wi-fi in rooms" and mostly that is not the case. This hotel is very noisey as you are right on a busy street AND to save the best for last... In my daughter's room she went to go take a shower this morning and there was hair all over the floor in the shower GROSS. She had to come take a shower in my room. Don't get me wrong I LOVE EPERNAY just not this hotel. We left by 8am the next day and still no wi-fi even in the lobby... not as advertised in any way shape or form.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwithpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Epernay hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Great location in centre of town. Easy to park car in surrounding streets. Easy walking to avenue de Champagne. Room was very clean and nicely appointed. Suited us for the sort stay we had in Epernay. Bathroom clean and nicely appointed. Room was small but suited us perfectly as there is a lot to see, do and taste in the local area. Breakfast was great and not expensive. Hosts were friendly and provided a lot of good advice.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Siena69a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We arrived in Epernay with no accommodation booked and walked into hotel Le Magellan for a room for the night. It is located very conveniently in the centre of town, and with a very reasonable rate of 65 euro for the night, we did not hesitate. It is exceptional for this price. Clean, comfortable, warm and friendly. Lovely French breakfast. Helpful and knowledgable staff, and Christophe makes a very good espresso! We stayed in chambre 3, up the top of some stairs, but a lovely room with a nice view over the street and wonderful high beamed ceilings. It is also huge. This hotel is highly recommended!

Room Tip: Chambre 3 is very spacious and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_peckingbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Superb location, modern room & generous breakfast. Super shower! 10 min walk from train station. Only downsides; Wifi was on & off during our stay, and it would've been nice to have a kettle for tea & coffee in the room. When we asked for boiling water, two mugs & a teabag to take upstairs the cost seemed pricey given we were guests. All the while they were really helpful hosts which added to our time in Epernay.
Ps. The Moët & Chandon tour was really worthwhile, as was the George Cartier tour. Thereafter we walked around, saw the city by foot & sampled as we went.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 47kelly47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is what you can expect for 65€. It is clean and provides basic comfort. Our rooms (5&6) had a great outside view, if you are interested in white walls that is. When we arrived, a Sunday afternoon, the bar and restaurant were closed for the rest of the day. The hotel has a great location. The breakfast is very French in a positive way.

Room Tip: Avoid room 5 & 6, both have a wall 1,5 meter from the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRBENGTStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steventon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

was wary but found this place really clean , with all needed facilities for an overnight stay. owners friendly and excellent breakfast , more than just the usual basic .Parking in streets or underground but be very careful of nearest entrance as we scraped our car on the high kerb approaching the ticket machine on a bend ! There is a better bigger entrance on the other side ......... Would certainly return here . Thanks

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunster52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Epernay hotels
0.3 mi away
La Villa Saint Pierre
La Villa Saint Pierre
#6 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Epernay Centre Ville
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kyriad Epernay
Kyriad Epernay
#10 of 14 in Epernay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Epernay
Comfort Suites Epernay
#8 of 14 in Epernay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Magellan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Magellan

Property: Hotel Le Magellan
Address: 18 rue de la Juiverie, 51200, Epernay, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Magellan 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel situé en hyper centre à Epernay,Tout près de la fameuse avenue de champagne.Entierement rénové en 2010, avec beaucoup de charme.- Equipé de climatisation- Salle de bain spacieuese dans chaque chambre- Internet gratuit en WIFI ou en Filaire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Le Magellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Magellan Epernay, France - Champagne-Ardenne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing