We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a budget hotel, glad I booked IBIS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Epernay Centre Ville
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Reviewed May 20, 2011

This was my first time staying at an IBIS ever. I had heard of the hotel chain but have always booked boutique hotels when abroad. Initially I was booked at Hotel Jean Moet but just didn't want to pay that much. I was having a difficult time between IBIS and Premier Classe. Both hotels have received excellent reviews. For me, it came down to location. I really wanted to be in a more central area of Epernay and Premier Classe seemed like it was on the outskirts of town. If I wasn't traveling solo and if I had a car, I might have considered it. I was also just burned staying at a bad hostel so I really didn't want to have another potentially bad experience just to save a few euros.

The IBIS epernay is in a good location, part of a courtyard of shops and cafes. It's also close to a supermarket, a park/fountain. It's a quick 5-10 min walk to the Ave du Champagne. You CAN'T get lost in Epernay. The hotel had free wifi (have to change out the passwords if you on on the internet a lot). There's NO air condition which wasn't an issue for me in May. The high was 70 degrees Celcius so it wasn't too hot and there was a nice breeze. The rooms were pretty cool at night. I'm not sure I would stay in a hotel without AC in the summer however so something to keep in mind if you're sensitive to heat. The hotel was pretty quiet. My last night I was awakened by the sound of someone knocking on a door at 4am. I'm a very light sleeper and the person wasn't knocking very loudly at all. There was a little commotion after that then silence again.

The rooms were clean. There was no slip guard in the shower and it was quite high and deep to climb into so that's something they should look into. The hotel provided this body wash/shampoo which was a nice change from the usual bars of soap. I would strongly consider the IBIS for any future stays in Europe if the price continues to be right.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LVJ1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 664 reviews

An Accor traveler
naples Italy
1
Reviewed May 19, 2011

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
canmore
1
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Walkable from train station, excellent breakfast buffet and the price was right. Basic but spotless rooms. Hotel would be noisy when busy due to doors that don't close without a lot of noise. Free WIfi was a plus. For a hotel of this price housekeeping was exceptional. Whole hotel was very clean. Even though our room faced into a public square it was quiet at night.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

This is a clean chain hotel in he center of Epernay with very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are very clean but small. The bathroom is also very small but plenty of hot water.

A typical chain but the service sets it apart. The internet wireless is free and a code is given daily. The car parking under the hotel was 9 euros for 2 days and nights.

We were woken by drunks walking past at night but only because our window was open due to the warm weather. There is double glazing so this would probably not matter.

Breakfast was included but we went out to local brasseries and sat in the sunshine.

All in all a good budget hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back if you want your window on
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank india_jane62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
UK
1
Reviewed April 23, 2011

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

My wife and I have stayed many times at the IBIS in Epernay centre. Ideally placed for visiting and transitting through the Reims and Epernay region. We have been very satisfied with the Epernay IBIS for value, cleanliness, attentive and friendly service, covered parking and central situation for visiting local high spots and restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenya200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We arrived in Epernay around 4pm and easily found the hotel. There was parking near the hotel (which we later found out there was a time limit!) and I think there was a clinic or hospital just opposite the Ibis and also a pharmacy next to the Ibis hotel entrance.

The staff was not friendly and a bit rude when we asked her for another internet password (there are 2 of us with mobile devices!).

The hotel lobby is standard Ibis decor but when we got to the 2nd floor, I felt like I was in a hospital (i'll upload the photos soon)! Which made me wonder if it was a hospital before being taken over to be a hotel chain. However, once we walked in the room, it was standard Ibis - clean and comfortable, no frills. We opened the window to get some air and noticed that it overlooked a quiet courtyard. Which then turned into a nightmare for us as the courtyard magnified and echoed whatever sound was made inside it! There were a few men who were talking loudly around 11pm in the courtyard and it was like they had a loudspeaker and yelling into it. The next morning was the same with some people clearing the rubbish.

However, despite everything, we find that the rate was cheap & served its purpose for 1 night. I also liked the clean bathroom (no bath only shower area) and its proximity to shops and restaurants (no need to drive).

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weloveperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Epernay hotels
0.7 mi away
Premiere Classe Epernay
Premiere Classe Epernay
#4 of 14 in Epernay
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
473 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Villa Saint Pierre
La Villa Saint Pierre
#6 of 14 in Epernay
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kyriad Epernay
Kyriad Epernay
#7 of 14 in Epernay
184 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Epernay
Comfort Suites Epernay
#9 of 14 in Epernay
371 reviews
1 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis Epernay Centre Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Epernay Centre Ville

Address: 19 rue Chocatelle | Place Bernard Stasi, 51200, Epernay, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Price Range: $77 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Epernay Centre Ville 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Champagne vineyards, the Ibis Epernay hotel is ideally located , 800 meters from the Epernay station, 30 km from the TGV Champagne -Ardennes and Reims. The hotel has 65 rooms all equipped with free WIFI , a bar serving snacks and refreshments 24 / 24 . You will find a public parking (free from 7.00 p.m to 9.00 a.m.) and an underground parking (1st hour free)near of the hotel. Epernay is the capital of Champagne and is at the crossroads of the great champagne houses making the reputation of this place (Mercier, Moet & Chandon, Perrier -Jouet and Janisson - Baradon ) . Vary the pleasures , discovering the walking tours or wine courses and cooking (information at the tourist office). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ibis Epernay Centre Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hotel Épernay
Accor Epernay Centre Ville
Hotel Ibis Epernay Centre Ville France - Champagne-Ardenne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing