We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar full of locals”
Review of Le Progres

Le Progres
Ranked #39 of 78 Restaurants in Epernay
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bar full of locals”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Bar is situated near centre. Plenty of lively staff. Excellent champagne selection and good hot food selection as well.
Even tried to find a rugby game for us to watch whilst we were in there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheVintner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    148
    90
    47
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Basic but decent fare”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We normally eat here on each visit to the Champagne region and ate here twice on this occasion. Having visited this time last year, I would say that it has perhaps slid a littile in overall appearance but the food is still good, wholesome fare with decent sized portions. The salade paysanne that I love is still just as nice.

Prices are still very reasonable and you can choose from a vast array of Champagnes at €42 per bottle or a glass at €7-8.

This is more café than restaurant but a good spot for lunch or cheaper evening meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PsychoWarthog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Valerien
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Central Brasserie”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have been to this restaurant many times before and whilst there is nothing wromg with it, it just seems to have stood still whereas other places have changed the menu and style etc....

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GaryTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
455 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Locals eat here, that should say something”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We always eat here when we come to Epernay. It is convenient, the service is good and the food is consistent.

The fact that so many locals eat here says a lot. As a vegetarian I do struggle in France to find food but this Brasserie has the most divine Roquefort cheese salad. The prices aren't bad either. For my husband and I to both have lunch with drinks it came to 31 euro's.

I will be going back and I would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jules0131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Austraia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Best Fettuccine Carbonara, super Tartare, out-of-this-world Omelette
Maybe we were just lucky, but THIS food was awesome!

Helpful?
1 Thank spikey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Progres also viewed

 

Been to Le Progres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing