We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent well located hotel with friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Jean Moet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Jean Moet
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Excellent well located hotel with friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Really nice hotel, we stayed in a malthusian room on the second floor (room 6) which was beautifully decorated with comfortable double bed, shower and bath. Yes you have to pay for the nespresso machine in the room but this is 5euro for 6 capsules so under 1 euro per cup of coffee and if you don't want to they have instant sachets and a kettle.

We didn't use the spa but did go to the bar next door for a coupe of champagne before dinner - great value again at 6,50 per glass. The hotel does creak quite a bit (lots of wood flooring) so if you're a really sensitive sleeper you'd need ear plugs but we slept fine, heard people getting up around 8am, then went back to sleep until 9!

The breakfast is a bit basic but there is nice bread, croissants, cereal and cooked food if you want it (sausages, beans etc) but really who goes to France for a British cooked breakfast!

The staff were really helpful, made restaurant reservations and changed a visit to a champagne house for us to make it later (too early to start drinking at 10am). All in all highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed at the back on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Black-eyePurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteljeanmoet, Responsable réception at Hotel Jean Moet, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
20/10/2013

Dear Mrs. Coldrick-Ford,

All the staff thanks you for your lovely comment.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you next time our hotel.

Kind regards,

La reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    165
    56
    19
    6
See reviews for
52
270
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Hotel Jean Moet, excellent central location, staff very friendly and helpful, rooms clean and comfortable. Main critism is that we thought we were booking B & B but everything is extra. Breakfast, Spa , expresso machine in room. Quite misleading. Their website should be clearer.

Room Tip: Floor 2. Room 6 is good, front of hotel, so can be noisy. Room 7 (Superior room) nice shower but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robinsonpippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteljeanmoet, Responsable réception at Hotel Jean Moet, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear guests,

All the staff thank you for your kind comment on our hotel.

We are relly pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you another time in the Champagne region.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a smart small (12 room) hotel in the centre of Epernay, opposite the town hall gardens (very attractive). Helpful staff. Pleasant clean room (no 3). Didn't try the spa. Free wifi. 180 Euro a night so not cheap but reasonable value for its location and ambiance.

Room Tip: Best room we think is no 4 on first floor. It is the largest and faces the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnesian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteljeanmoet, Responsable réception at Hotel Jean Moet, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear guests,

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Jean Moët & Spa. We hope you will keep a good souvenir of your trip in the Champagne region.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

When you arrive at this hotel you notice that one of the four stars attached to the fence seems on its way to scape. That's a rather good summary of the place. Reception staff is very friendly and helpful - make sure to make use of their knowledge about restaurants and activities when visiting Epernay. The rooms are rather odd in shape, which makes them feel smaller than they are. Cleaning is unfortunately not perfect on surfaces not immediately visible. Probably a more thorough scrub per month is needed behind wash basins and similar. Breakfast is ok for french standards, but absolutely not worth the price charged. WiFi is free of charge and works really good. If you are sensitive to noise, bring ear plugs. The house is old and sounds travel through both walls and floors. If you are unlucky (like us) and the neighbors decide to have a late night party in their room, sleep is not easy...

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street on the middle floors seems best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaltisM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteljeanmoet, Responsable réception at Hotel Jean Moet, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear guests,

We thank you for giving us your feeling. We feel sorry that the breakfast does not fit you.

We hope to welcome you another time in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Wonderful friendly service from Christelle, who speaks excellent English. Room was well appointed, with comfortable bed, however we could hear the people in the room above. Room was overpriced.

Nespresso coffee machine in the room was charged at 5 euros per sachet and use of spa was an additional 10 euros pp. Metered parking on street only. Buffet continental breakfast was 15 euros pp and virtually inedible, not to mention cold. Will not return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darwinsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteljeanmoet, Responsable réception at Hotel Jean Moet, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear guests,

We thank you for your remarks and would like to provide some clarification. You wrote that you had to pay 5 euros per cap for the nespresso in your room, it is true that the nespresso is not free, but only at 5 euros for the 6 caps of coffee and you had free regular coffee and tea in your room as well as a welcome buffet at your disposal every afternoon from 2pm to 7pm in the glassroom.
Furthermore, for the spa, the price of one entry is 10 euros but if you are coming as a couple or more, the entry is at 5 euros per person and unlimited during your stay.
Regarding the car parking, september is the time of celebration of harvest and the city parking is each year occupied with the funfair. We are really sorry you had some problem to park your car.
For the breakfast, it is a buffet with cold and hot dishes. There are some fresh scrambled eggs, sausages, beans cooked each morning and the croissants and bread are coming from the best bakery of Epernay. The water bath is at 30 degrees. However, if the dishes do not suit you the person in charge of the breakfast would have cook new fresh dishes.

We would be pleased to welcome you again in our establishment and offer you the breakfast.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Modern hotel , we stayed for 2 nights whislt visiting the area / champagne houses. Just about the perfect location really opp the "mile". Warm welcome , very well appointed rooms and plenty of parking around. Location comes with a price and Breakfast is a rip off really at 14 euros , its adequate and convenient and served till 10.30 so thats a plus. This was the second time we have stayed at the hotel

pleanty of restaraunts around and of course the big ( and smaller ) champagne houses , so a lot to spend your money on

Room Tip: try and avoid a room looking over the busy road at the front ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexPathfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteljeanmoet, Responsable réception at Hotel Jean Moet, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear guests,

All the staff join me to thank you for this nice post. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you another time at Hotel Jean Moet & Spa.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had four rooms for a short break exploring Champagne. This hotel was fantastic! The pool is very small and was a little cold but perfect for me to take my three year old in swimming. The website states an additional charge for use of the spa but the manager showed excellent discretion and didn't charge me to take my little one in the pool while the rest of our party were on a vineyard tour and tasting and then gave me complimentary coffee which was gratefully received. The location is perfect for exploring the champagne houses and the town. The cellar bar was lovely with extremely friendly staff who were keen to share their knowledge and enthusiasm for their region and the champagne produced there!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingbeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epernay
0.8 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Clos Raymi
Le Clos Raymi
#5 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Epernay Centre Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Villa Saint Pierre
La Villa Saint Pierre
#7 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
14.3 mi away
Chateau Les Crayeres
Chateau Les Crayeres
#1 of 69 in Reims
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
12.2 mi away
Chateau D'Etoges
Chateau D'Etoges
#1 of 1 in Etoges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jean Moet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jean Moet

Property: Hotel Jean Moet
Address: 7 rue Jean Moet, 51200, Epernay, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jean Moet 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jean Moet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jean Moet Epernay, France - Champagne-Ardenne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing