We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this hotel should not have more than 2 stars !!!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Jean Moet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Jean Moet
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Certificate of Excellence
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“this hotel should not have more than 2 stars !!!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Room number 12 is under the attick, you cannot stand up in it or in the bathroom. This room should not be rented out to guests. The front desk staff was very unfriendly and breakfast was very poor. We asked to talk to the manager or supervisor, but never saw him/her in the 3 days we were there. They want to charge extra for EVERYTHING, even for an extra room key. I have traveled a lot and in many different countries, this was one of my worst experiences, price/quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteljeanmoet, Propriétaire at Hotel Jean Moet, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Google Translation
Réponse du propriétaire :

Chère Cliente, Madame,

Je viens de prendre connaissance de votre email et de vos remarques quant à votre tout récent séjour à l’Hôtel Jean Moet & spa

Nous sommes sincèrement désolés de lire un commentaire aussi sévère quant à la qualité du service rendu dans notre établissement.
Certes, pendant votre séjour vous avez démontré à plusieurs reprise votre exigence.

L’hôtel Jean Moët & spa est un hôtel de 12 chambres, 2 chambres sont effectivement mansardées et apparemment n’étaient pas à votre convenance, mais certains clients apprécient le caractère typique et économique de celles-ci.
L’hôtel étant très souvent complet en cette période, il nous est impossible de vous surclasser et nous en sommes très sincèrement désolés.

Vous nous avez bien fait comprendre durant votre séjour que votre chambre ne vous convenait pas.
Pour votre cas précis, nous vous rappelons que nous avons procédé exceptionnellement à un surclassement dès la deuxième nuit sans frais supplémentaire.

Nous aurions beaucoup aimé retrouver cet important élément dans votre commentaire.

En ce qui concerne le personnel, vos tutoiements, vos colères, vos remarques constantes, votre attitude en général, vos allusions devant les interdictions de fumer, votre comportement, a, je le reconnais déstabilisé à l’unanimité le personnel de l’hôtel.

Au sujet des suppléments, je vous confirme que les extras (mini bar, champagne en chambre, petit déjeuner, perte de carte de votre chambre etc..) sont bien facturés par l’hôtel.

Je peux vous assurer que tous les commentaires nous sont précieux, et nous tenons compte de toutes les remarques afin de satisfaire nos clients à l'avenir.
Nous nous efforçons d'apporter en permanence les corrections et ajustements nécessaires.

Nous ne voudrions pas que les lecteurs Tripadvisor puissent penser que nous n’avons pas eu une attitude loyale et sincère envers nos clients ce dont nous nous honorons chaque fois qu’un incident survient (et la perfection est difficile a obtenir en la matière !).
Néanmoins, je reconnais que l’hôtel Jean Moët & spa à les limites d’un 4 étoiles et je vous assure avoir de l’empathie pour vos remarques,

Etant le propriétaire de l’hôtel (non pas le directeur ou le responsable avec qui vous avez déjà parlé) Je précise avoir entière confiance aux personnels de l’hôtel qui je le sais est très respectueux et avenant envers nos hôtes .
Veuillez agréer, Madame, nos plus respectueuses salutations ainsi que nos plus sincères excuses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    165
    56
    19
    6
See reviews for
52
270
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Let me start by saying that the hotel is perfectly fine. Adequate. Well positioned. There was nothing particularly bad about it - except that they want to charge you for every little thing, nothing is included. Coffee, breakfast, use of spa/pool etc. Now under some circumstances that is ok but when you already paying quite a bit of money per night to stay it just starts to feel like they are really mercenary and trying to wring every last penny out of you and it makes your stay go from nice to well, just a bit cold and unfriendly. Personally I just wanted to leave and not give them any more business as charging me me for a cup of coffee when I'm paying €200 a night made me feel a bit resentful.

The service is decent, although my first impression was soured a little when the lady at reception
finished taking a call while we waited (no problem) then when she finished started dealing with a couple that had come down and giving them directions etc without saying anything to us. After a long drive I might have been a bit cranky, sure, but it didn't help make us feel that welcome sitting there for a while waiting, tired with our bags before being properly greeted. Courtesy costs nothing.

The room was spacious, well appointed generally and had all the usual things (Tv, safe, robes and slippers etc) which was good. The shower is good, the twin sinks as well. The soap dispenser was broken but that's minor. Though it's the kind of thing a top establishment would be on to fixing straight away. I think it contributed for me towards the general feeling that the guests are taken a bit for granted.

The beds were unfortunately not very comfortable either. Firm and saggy in the middle - resulting in a rather poor sleep sadly.

It was also odd that in our room the toilet was located separately from the bathroom and opened on to the bed - while there was a shower big enough for three, dual sinks and a bathtub as well. Not bad I suppose, just odd. There is no basin in there either so after going to the toilet you need to go to the bathroom to wash your hands.

So overall to sum up, I think it's a nice place, good room, nothing really 'wrong' with it, and it was well featured and well located - BUT, the neat tidy and clean rooms and overall pleasant service doesn't quite make up for the fact that it's not really worth the price they charge in my view. Especially if you want a cup of coffee.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCARWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteljeanmoet, Responsable réception at Hotel Jean Moet, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear guests,

We thank you for your post and took good note of all your remarks.

We are really sorry and apologize you did not feel welcome in our establishment. It is always a pleasure to meet customers and we try all the time to make their stay unforgettable.

We hope to welcome you another time and to make clear this bad souvenir.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Looks very pretty from the outside but the promised pool is little more than a large bath sized plunge pool. The room we were put in, No 12, is downright dangerous. Situated in the attic it has exceptionally low beams both in the bedroom and the bathroom meaning you have to stoop to get out of bed, in the shower and using the loo. Inevitably both my partner and myself cracked our skulls hard on several occasions. Small room too with a weird temporary fabric covered wardrobe. Breakfast is v dear and nothing special. No parking and the drinks pricey. Doesn't represent decent value. One staff member was nice but the other two we encountered were pretty grumpy, sadly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaffsterLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteljeanmoet, Responsable réception at Hotel Jean Moet, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dera Guests,

We are sorry you did not like your stay at Hotel jean Moët & Spa.

The room you choosed is juste a matter of taste. Indeed, some customers prefer the typical character of Champagne attic roomwith its attractive price. We do other rooms not in the attic but at a slightly higher rate.
Regarding the staff, we have developed a questionary where you could write the name of the persons you had some problems with. However, we did not notice any particular comments about your stay or the staff.

We are also adding some hot dishes (scrambled eggs, beans, sausages) in the buffet breakfast.

We hope you will come again in our establishment and keep a better souvenir.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at the hotel on a one night stopover whilst traveling through France. The hotel is in the very centre of Epernay. Staff were fantastic, welcoming, offering us complete information about the town and the region. Both rooms were very comfortable, WiFi was included and the breakfast was terrific.
We asked for a recommendation to a local restaurant and were give a choice of 5, all recommended from experience. We chose one of them and had a fantastic dinner experience. Staff also recommended a number of champagne houses to visit and all the recommendations were great. I recommend this hotel to anyone. Wonderful.

Room Tip: Both rooms we had faced the street and were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiloradG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteljeanmoet, Responsable réception at Hotel Jean Moet, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear guests,

All the staff thank you for the nice comment you postes about our hotel.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you another time at Hotel Jean Moet & Spa.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed on a one night stopover on a trip around France. The hotel is superbly located right in the centre of Epernay, just around the corner from the Avenue de Champagne. The staff were very welcoming and helpful and the rooms very comfortable and romantically designed. There is even a small spa with a pool, jazuzzi and sauna which we enjoyed, although we didn't have time to try any treatments. Some visitors may find the lack of parking an issue, but there is plenty of local street parking at a reasonable cost. Breakfast was overpriced, but OK. We thought the idea of champagne tasting with tapas-like nibbles a great idea, but were put off by the price, nor did we use the coffee-maker in the room which was also chargeable. We may have got the wrong day (Tuesday) but there seemed to be only one restaurant open in Epernay in the evening. Overall a lovely hotel which we would recommend, although food and drink in the hotel is a little expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard_lawrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteljeanmoet, Réceptionniste at Hotel Jean Moet, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear richard_lawrence,

All the staff of the Hotel Jean Moët thanks you for your nice comment.

We are trying to improve the breakfast, so we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you another day in our hotel, and hope that you will enjoy the breakfast.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed here based on a friend's Trip Advisor review and was not disappointed. The courtyard entry was charming and they let us store our luggage as we were early to check in and our room was not ready yet. It is located right in the center of Epernay within walking distance of everything. The rooms were very clean, well equipped and comfortable, although if you are particular about your shampoo and conditioner/soap, you should bring your own as they offer an unnamed type in large pump dispensers in the bathroom. They also had a spa and pool but we didn't have time to check them out. But overall, it was a wonderful stay. The staff was very attentive, and the breakfast was very good. The best was the champagne bar under the hotel. Definitely felt like a locals spot but very comfortable with a modern vibe.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are probably quieter than the one on the first floor that everyone has to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteljeanmoet, Responsable réception at Hotel Jean Moet, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for taking from your time to post us a nice comment on our hotel.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcoming you another time and discover our spa.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed for romantic weekend in this fantastic little hotel.

The location was excellent. It is in the city center, a few steps from the Avenue de Champagne, and close to the train station. There are many excellent restaurants in walking distance.

The service was very warm and friendly. They went above and beyond to make our stay very enjoyable. They gave us two excellent recommendations for dinner and called the restaurants to make the reservations. (They were also able to call for a tour of the Moët & Chandon champagne house.)

We stayed in the Balthazar suite (Room #10). It was beautifully decorated with a very nice sitting area. It is on the top floor which makes for some odd angles with the pitched roof, but my wife and I found it to be a lovely room.

There is a small spa (jacuzzi, sauna, and a small pool) which was ok considering it is a small hotel.

Room Tip: The Balthazar suite was worth the upgrade; however, it might not be great for taller guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteljeanmoet, Réceptionniste at Hotel Jean Moet, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Rob K,

We thank you for your lovely comment and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Jean Moët & Spa.

We hope to welcome you another time in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epernay
0.8 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Clos Raymi
Le Clos Raymi
#5 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Epernay Centre Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Villa Saint Pierre
La Villa Saint Pierre
#7 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
14.3 mi away
Chateau Les Crayeres
Chateau Les Crayeres
#1 of 69 in Reims
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
12.2 mi away
Chateau D'Etoges
Chateau D'Etoges
#1 of 1 in Etoges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jean Moet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jean Moet

Property: Hotel Jean Moet
Address: 7 rue Jean Moet, 51200, Epernay, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jean Moet 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jean Moet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jean Moet Epernay, France - Champagne-Ardenne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing