We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting place to stay in Epernay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Villa Saint Pierre
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We were on a family trip but I was unable to get a room where the others were staying so booked into La Villa St Pierre as it was close to the other hotel. Booking.com listed the check-in time as 3pm but this was not correct with the later time being listed on the hotel's website.
The foyer and stairs are rather shabby with old, worn carpet but the friendly host made one very welcome. There is no lift so if you are on the top (second) floor, be prepared to haul your luggage up there. My room was a very agreeable surprise as it was large, light and airy and seemed to have been recently redecorated. There was a shower room with a basin and a separate toilet room. There was also plenty of space to store luggage and hang clothes. One surprise was that there was no hair drier in my room but they lent me one for the length of my stay. The quiet street had virtually no traffic noise. Breakfast was first rate, with meats, cheese, yogurts, juice, the usual bread and pastries and a variety of French fruit.
La Villa Saint Pierre is extremely good value for money, costing only €70 a night including breakfast. I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
There are newer reviews for La Villa Saint Pierre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 344 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

We have just spend some fantastic days in Villa St Pierre in Épernay. The room was qute, clean and very cosy. The manager, Pierre, is surely one of the friendliest people in the world. He is also the cook and as we had half-board we had the pleasue of enyoing his talent at the stove.
We will absolutely return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ulf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed here just for a weekend. The couple are efficient, friendly and have a great little hotel. The rooms are a bit odd and quirky but the area is quiet and away from the main road, rooms are nice and naturally cool but don't have air conditioning.
No lift so, heavy packers be prepared to carry your own kit up stairs.
great breakfast and plenty of good tips for touring about the town.
My only gripe is the bed is a little on the squidgy side and too small for guys above 6ft like myself.

Room Tip: Double rooms on the top floor provide the most amount of space.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AD P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Excellent value - very friendly & helpful husband and wife hosts, convenient location and superb dining at the restaurant. Yes, you have to carry your luggage up a few flights of stairs if you are on the top level and yes, the 'ensuite' in our room was behind a curtain in the corner of the room (def. not designed for big bottoms or romance), but we'd happily stay there again if we wanted that price bracket, and either way, we'd definitely go back to eat the daily specials at the restaurant - fabulous freshly cooked seasonal food by your host Pierre, and excellent price for the menu of the day.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueLester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavillasaintpierre, Propriétaire at La Villa Saint Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Hello and thank you for taking your time to write your impressions. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and Epernay. Your room was not the most spacious but cozy. For the kitchen, we strive to discover the traditional French cuisine prepared from products of the day and meals, we are glad you enjoyed and thank you.
friendly
Bernadette and Pierre
Bonjour et merci d'avoir pris de votre temps pour rédiger vos impressions. Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez apprécié votre séjour à Epernay et dans notre hôtel. Votre chambre n'était pas la plus spacieuse mais confortable. Pour la cuisine, nous nous attachons à faire découvrir la cuisine traditionnelle Française élaborée à partir de produits du jour et cuisinés, nous sommes heureux que vous ayez apprécié et nous vous remercions.
Amicalement
Bernadette et Pierre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Bernadette and Pierre were amazing. They looked after us so well giving us very good recommendations for dinner and sight seeing. Pierre got us a cab on our last day for some sight seeing at Hautvilliers. The cab driver gave us a huge discount and was incredibly helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend the villa.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank MJ_SG2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavillasaintpierre, Propriétaire at La Villa Saint Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour et merci pour votre commentaires. Nous sommes heureux d'avoir répondu à toutes vos attentes et vous méritez l'accueil et le dévouement que nous vous avons accordé, c'est avec grand plaisir que nous vous accueillerons de nouveau si vous revenez à Epernay. Bernadette et moi avons souhaité une ambiance familiale pour notre établissement qui n'est pas un bed and breakfast mais bien un hôtel. Cela fait du bien de retrouver des personnes aussi agréables que vous, car depuis quelques temps nous avons eu des clients pas très agréables et qui je vous assure n'ont pas eu le même service, juste le strict nécessaire de part leur comportement très désagréable. Au risque de me répéter je vais dire: : "On récolte ce que l'on sème" . Un grand merci pour votre bonne humeur, ce fût un grand rayon de soleil.
Bernadette et Pierre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I did not completely read all the reviews for the Villa before I booked, as basically I was attracted by the price, booked through hotels.com for 38.29 euros, and I only wanted a cheap hotel for one night, en route back to the UK. The most infuriating thing was, that on my hotels .com confirmation, the check in was 3pm. We arrived at the hotel, after a five hour drive, at 4pm, only to find a notice pinned to the front door, saying in different languages, check in was 5 30pm !!! This information needs to be put out there! We did not like to leave our car, as we had all our luggage and possessions in the back, so just had to sit it out. Parking in the street is not expensive, something like euros 1 50, and there is a free car park somewhere I believe. Parking in the street is free overnight. Anyway, when we finally got in, we were given the code for the front door, so were free to come and go as we pleased. The hotel appears to be a fine old building, that has been chopped up, pretty badly, to make guest rooms. We were allocated room 3 which overlooked the street, and at the end of a long gloomy corridor. NO lift. There was just enough room to walk around the bed. At the end of the bed was, what I can only describe as a sort of cupboard, that housed the WC, wash basin and shower. There was a high step up to this cupboard, obviously due to the plumbing underneath. We did not venture in to the shower! To be fair, the sink had a mirror over it and was well lit. The toilet was a macerator, and made the most incredible noise when you pushed the button! As to the other review, that says the hotel was filthy, I dispute this. It has not been maintained, and there was peeling wallpaper in our room, stains on the ceiling and the wooden shutters in our room were rotting and paint peeling, but our bed linen was all snowy white and fresh, as were the towels. It was clean shabby! We took breakfast in the dining room, for an extra 7 27 euros each, and I had a good look around. I caught a brief glimpse of the kitchen which looked fairly modern and clean. The dining room and everything was clean. The breakfast consisted of some cheese and meats, and a nice basket of croissants and bread, and a yoghurt. If you can overlook the quirks of the bathing facilities, and are looking for a cheap place to stay practically in the centre of Epernay, then this is a bargain, albeit I would not want to spend more than one night in that particular room! We did not have any problems with the owner either, he was perfectly pleasant to us.

Room Tip: Maybe a more expensive room? I believe there are better ones than 3.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funkymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavillasaintpierre, Propriétaire at La Villa Saint Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write your review on our individual institution. Enough said. You made some comments and the answers I have given you. I 'll just add some clarification on some points that you would have known if you had asked us questions .
Check-in: For several months the time has changed is 17.30 all platforms market forms have been informed, you can check on booking.com for example. Since the change, more than two weeks before that , I send an email to our customers to inform them so that they are available and it is very welcome . It is also the role of these platforms to inform you , is not it . But some of them do not tell us the details of clients and therefore we can not inform .
On the room you have chosen the most economical hotel and therefore smaller , if you return one day with us I invite you to choose one that is more spacious and more comfortable but not at this price . Many customer rents the room and are satisfied with the value. About the wallpaper, it is in this state for a client in the room above went to 5am forgot to close the water basin and we found the room above with 10cm of water sol . The water seeped into the room you have and this is why there is a halo ceiling and the paper is peeled off in some places. But soon, we will modify the room to give him more space, but you can imagine will not be at this price.
What I gather from your comments I am satisfied and I thank you. Welcome, cleanliness, quality of breakfast.
Thank you very much and pleasure.
stone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

My husband and I had booked a room at the hotel La Villa Saint Pierre in Eperney on the Saturday before Easter and it was the most horrible hotel experience we ever had!
First of all the hotel is so dirty that it is unbelievable it’s even open! We had insect on our bad (please see pictures) the bathroom was unbelievable dirty ( again see pictures) with no door but only a curtain to close it. There was a window facing east with no curtain to cover it and please see what they left just outside our room door! It was by far the most dirty room/ hotel we ever seen but unfortunately this is not all !!
The worst part of the hotel are the owners, husband and wife!
Once we got to the room (of course no one shows it to you , you have to found it yourself), given the condition, we came back downstairs (there is no lift only unpleasant stairs) and tried to explain them that I am allergic to dust, that there were insect on the bed and then we asked to kindly change the room or at least clean it. The owners started to be aggressive and abusive, saying that we were layer and the were no insects in the room (I am not fluent in French but I do understand it a bit while she wasn’t speaking a word of English).
Anyway in order to make them lessen to us we showed the pictures we took of the room and the insects in our bed, while, in order to receive help I called Booking.com (we booked with them).
When we finally managed to show them the pictures they went even more mad and started to hysterically yell at us ( it seemed like they were going to murder us) and they told us to GET OUT of the hotel !!! They literally thrown us out of their hotel, we had to run out because these people didn't stop yelling at us!

Thankfully while all of this was happening I was still over the phone with booking.com which even tried to speak with them but they refused to take the phone from me booking.com tried to call them but they weren’t picking up their own phone either!

Anyway, as if all this wasn’t bad enough: the owners of the hotel charged our debit card of 90 + £ as soon as we left !!!!! Can you believe it ? They thrown us out of their hotel because we kindly asked to clean our room and straight after throwing us out they charged us!

Booking.com tried to speak with them and told us we will receive a refund, also the hotel owner wrote to us saying he will refund us, but guess what? One day after receiving the owner email Booking.com wrote to us that we won’t have any refund because the hotel changed his mind!!!!!!!!!!!

Long story short, do NOT go to La Villa Saint Pierre and do NOT book a room with Booking.com!! we are now processing legally against the hotel!

Room Tip: "rooms are TERRIBLE!!!!"
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank barbaratartamella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavillasaintpierre, Propriétaire at La Villa Saint Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Mrs. Barbara Tartamella . I have taken note of your comment, but be aware that when writing , we must do so objectively and clarify all the facts and not just what suits you. First, because there is a beginning to this situation, you got with your husband and my wife gave you the keys to the room that you had booked on booking.com. That is a classic Twin. So far everything was courteous. But you back down claiming that you had booked a double standard . My wife showed up in black and white your booking. At this moment you are swept away and you screamed and insulted my wife. You immediately called booking.com to notify you on your reservation and they confirmed you a classic Twin. I was with your husband on the second floor and he told me that you were going to hotel may change , it is your right and my wife you propose to go to a colleague . I ran to try to understand the situation and we explained calmly in ENGLISH . You recognized your mistake, but you want to stay with us. Then your husband joined us and told me that there was no curtain to hide the window. The curtain is useless since all the windows are integrated store. I asked your husband to follow me to show him the operation which he refused to do. You should at all costs a pretext for not fulfilling your cancellation fee. 30 minutes after you are back down , claiming the presence of an insect with supporting photographs . You need to know now, as I have specified in our various exchanges that it is you who brought us this insect in your luggage without your knowledge of course I hope. We closed on the room and contacted a company specializing Pest confirms my words , the certificate is available , costs too if you want ( Off joke ) . This room has been rented all previous days and no client noticed anything , there's no doubt about the origin . We reopened two days after your stay once the processing performed and again more concern . We had concerted with my wife and we decided to pay because we said that these are things that can happen to everyone quelquesoit the precautions we take . However we will do even if you do not deserve to share your attitude and your bad faith. But we have given you our word and commercially we will. But also you do not say very definitely. People like you, there are very few and fortunately it is part of the job, but do not ask us to be courteous when you're not, we're not animals. I always say, you reap what you sow. I leave you to ponder. Do not worry your money is going to happen. I know times are tough. I do not even worry me your threats of litigation, it will cost you dear (Pest, immobilization of the room ......), you can imagine and I do not have time to waste with you.
Here the situation is more clear for our readers when all is really said it all.
Very cordially.
Pierre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Epernay hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Epernay Centre Ville
0.3 mi away
Le Clos Raymi
Le Clos Raymi
#5 of 14 in Epernay
178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Auberge Champenoise
Auberge Champenoise
#11 of 14 in Epernay
204 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
493 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premiere Classe Epernay
Premiere Classe Epernay
#3 of 14 in Epernay
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Saint Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Saint Pierre

Address: 1 rue Jeanne D Arc | 51200, 51200, Epernay, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Price Range: $70 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Villa Saint Pierre 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic building (1913)with all the charms of the past, Hôtel Villa Saint Pierre opens its doors to you, offering you comfort and a warm welcome... The hotel is located in a quiet area but only 2 minutes from downtown by foot and 5 minutes from prestigious houses of champagne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Villa Saint Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Saint Pierre Epernay, France - Champagne-Ardenne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing