We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good all in all”
Review of le Theatre

le Theatre
Ranked #3 of 79 Restaurants in Epernay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $139
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
JHP_Zuidervliet
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Pretty good all in all”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We went to this restaurant as a recommendation from our hotel. Nearby there is a small parking spot where we parked and from there we walked to the hotel (early) to find out it was still closed. The hotel opens at 19:30 apparently. From the outside it has a quite old appearance, but typical old French/Italian building style. On the inside it's a bit more trendy though the seats could use an update.

The staff is very helpful with our limited French and went with us through the menu. The menu, a bit small but certainly pleasing.

In all fairness not much can't be said further, the food was good, the staff was very helpful and made a joke on the side. All in all certainly a good pick. Not a gastronomical restaurant but certainly value for money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JHP_Zuidervliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    197
    52
    19
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Return to excellent service”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have been visiting this restaurant every year for 5 years and have to admit that last year we were so disappointed that we e-mailed to complain. However we still returned this year and the food and service was faultless. It would appear that choosing your night carefully is best ie dont pick a busy one. Last year it was a crowded Saturday night whilst this year it was a Thursday so that it what we will do from now on.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Seriously?”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I don't understand the reviews this place has received. I visited in August 2013 and the food was frankly shocking. My filet of steak had been nowhere near a frying pan or oven, it was cooked in a water bath and as a consequence was truly hideous. It also still had a piece if string around it. My wife's salmon was ok, my daughters Duck very poor. The potato salad was very inviously from a tin! The interior decor is so out dated (like most things in France) and it was entirely full of foreigners which tells a story on its own. A very poor experience overall.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RDG1871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely French restaurant”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I chose this restaurant for lunch after finding it listed in our Michelen guide. The formule menu was a great value with an amuse-bouche, entree, plat and dessert. We enjoyed a wonderful gazpacho followed by a gratinee of fish and the most wonderful berry dessert. The waiter suggested a very nice local champagne as well. The service was professional but friendly and the room was very pleasant. The next time we're in the area, we'll certainly return for dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Lajas, Panama
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“excellent food nice ambiance.”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Had previously booked restaurant Grillande but when we eventually found it they were closed for a holiday! Luckily we were able to find a table at Theatre restaurant as they had a 'no show'.Initially the head waiter was a bit reserved and although spoke quite good English was loath to demonstrate this, hence the loss of the 5 score.Food was exceptional very tasty and well presented.As the evening progressed the waiter began to thaw and became more wiling to help with the difficulties we were having with the menu.
Prices were what you would expect of this type of establishment with mains in the region of €19-30 .Desserts €10.There is a set menu and if you are hungry this is probably the best deal from € 32-45.
Enjoyed the evening despite the 'welcome' we received.
Would eat there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tutty52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed le Theatre also viewed

 
Epernay, Marne
 

Been to le Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing