We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Food, No Atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Coquille - CLOSED

La Coquille
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Very Good Food, No Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

On a Sunday evening the restaurant was very quiet with ourselves, one other couple and one other person. However the food was excellent with the chef producing an interesting amusee bouche and starter. The main fish course was very good and we enjoyed the service and the food but not the silence!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    40
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thuwal, Makkah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice local restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Great scallops appetizer. And the main courses were wonderful as well. My wife and I came here based on a recommendation. Service was a little slow but overall pleasant experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not even close”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We were there with some friends, made a reservation and had the menu. Service was okay but the food was not that great. A friend had the fish but it was not fresh and actually overdue. But did not get any compensation or explanation for the bad fish. An other friend had a toast that completely burned an black. The food was also way to salty. We saw the review on TripAdvisor and were very disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Sylle1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Affordable Local Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at a B&B in Epernay about a week ago and the couple recomended we eat at this restaurant. There is a seafood plate for 58 Euros that includes crab, snails, shrimp and oysters that was MASSIVE... We ordered from the set menu and had a small version of the seafood sampler and it was good. The service was friendly, they had menus available in English as well. We ordered house wine and it was affordable and pretty good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotterCA11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nothing to be blamed for, nothing to be praised for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We ended up to this restaurant because it was recommended by people from the place. We were not disappointed but it was nothing to be remembered for. Oysters of poor quality, good bar grille'. Not a good choice of wines. The service was ok. I won't return

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Giovanni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Coquille also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing