We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a short stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Epernay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Municipal d'Epernay
Rennes, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good for a short stay”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed there for a night, and we've been pleased with the very professional-English speaking reception desk. I book online and our pitch was already assigned. The site is located along the river, but the 30 minutes walk to the city end up being a onhe hour walk through an industrial area... Take a car, you'll bring your champagne back to the camping and drink it there !!

The sanitaries were not really clean, no loo rolls provided... well as I mentioned in the title, good for a cheap one night stay, especially in septembre when most of the campers are drunk harvest workers.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valichon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    48
    17
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
51
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

booked 2 nights online and the recpetion staff were very friendly and spoke great english.
the pitch was a good size and private with hedges marking out each pitch. the loos weren't brilliant to look at but i saw them being cleaned twice during my stay. they do not supply loo roll or soap so take your own. its quite a noisey pitch as you can hear road noise and train train into the night and early morning but i never go anywhere without earplugs anyway - yo need them here. they seen to have a rodent problem as what i thought was a peg whole actually turned out to be some kind of vole hole and the little critters were visable on several occassions. won't rush back here. if we come back to champagne, we'll stay in reims!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kk79kk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We've just returned from a one night stay on this campsite in early September. We found it quite tense and not relaxing at all. On arrival we were told that part of the site was being used by grape harvesters and we were warned to use the showers before they came back from their days work, however it did appear to us that there were many more workers pitched all over the site, some of them even on none marked pitches around the basket ball court - and with their cars parked on it. Two police cars came round the site in the evening and whilst some reviewers seemed to have found this reassuring it just seemd to highlight the insecure nature of the site and potential for trouble to us. Whilst we weren't aware of any thefts there was a definite tenseness on the site and I wouldn't consider it a suitable family site at this time of year and especially when compared with the many other excellent municipal sites that we have stayed on in France. On the flip side the staff were friendly and helpful, the pitches were large and the riverside setting attractive. Maybe at a different time of year it would be a different experience, although now reading some of the previous reviews I am not so sure. I have to say that it is not somewhere we would return to.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights in our campervan whilst visiting the champagne houses in and around Epernay - a reasonably priced and located site, but short on facilities so always busy and wet!

The campsite is located slightly out of town on the other side of the railway, but there's a good cycle track to a large supermarket and into town. Alternatively a 15-20 minute walk into the centre.

Very helpful staff, well organised and easy to book in advance via email. Seems to be quite a transient site with people normally staying 1-3 nights, but full most nights. A few extra facilities on site - a snack bar/van which also sells wine and beer, a small restaurant for dinner or breakfast near the river and play areas, boules pitches but looking a little tired. There's also a park next to the river with more space for ball games.

Pitches are reasonably sized and well screened in-between. Lots of big trees too for shade, but beware the bird droppings!

Room Tip: book ahead - this is the only campsite in the area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harrylondontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

A lovely campsite with generous pitch size. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful - if you are a walker or cyclist you will be given information for good walks and routes for cycling. We were a little concerned before we went about the reviews about break ins etc. I don't know how long they have been up, but there are now iron gates which are locked between 10pm and 8 am leading to the river. There are also barriers which are only opened when the person in the reception sees the pitch number on the card you are given on arrival. Police cars also tour the site at intervals during the day and evening. We felt safe and would recommend it to anyone. It is also central to view the vineyards and surrounding areas. We had a lovely time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bridget B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGC Herts (England)
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed for three days at Epernay, and enjoyed a reasonable pitch for our caravan, and adequate facilities.

If this sounds underwhelming, then consider the superb location and friendly staff, and it all makes more sense!

This good value site is situated alongside the River Marne, so good for walks, boating (Bring your own!) and very close to the Champagne capital of the world!

We had no problems, the site was clean, if not as well trimmed as some of the designer sites, and easy to use in every way, lacking nothing but charm.

Good value, and an essential stay for Champagne lovers, whether Camping, Caravanning or Motorhome-bound, and Dogs are welcome.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WGCHerts_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

Good pitches, decent facilities and friendly staff. Supermarket and town an easy cycle away. Also good for cycling into the vineyards on quiet roads. Bread van in the morning and van in the evening selling beer, pizza etc. We were aware of one car being broken into during our stay - some of the other reports are a bit worrying ...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fyrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epernay
0.5 mi away
Premiere Classe Epernay
Premiere Classe Epernay
#4 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Villa Saint Pierre
La Villa Saint Pierre
#6 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Prim'Hotel Bagatelle
2.4 mi away
Hotel Castel Jeanson
0.8 mi away
Campanile Epernay - Dizy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Municipal d'Epernay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Municipal d'Epernay

Property: Camping Municipal d'Epernay
Address: Allee de cumieres, Epernay, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Epernay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Epernay
Number of rooms: 109
Also Known As:
Camping Municipal d`Epernay Hotel Epernay
Camping Municipal D'Epernay France - Champagne-Ardenne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing