We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Update Grand Val”
Review of Hotel Le Grand Val

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Grand Val
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Chaumont
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Update Grand Val”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Visited 4 times in 2013, always a warm welcome, clean comfortable rooms.
Good restaurant with an American theme.
Will use again in 2014, I have stayed at this Hotel for the past 15 years.
Its now re furbished and rooms updated.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    21
    31
    5
    8
See reviews for
16
23
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here a few years ago, but first time since its refurbishment. Good price, lovely breakfast with large selection of food (the mini pain au chocolat were lovely!) and garage, so very good all rounder. As we booked late were given room at front which was a little noisy from the road, but that is really only minus point. Clean, comfortable bed and lovely bathroom. Shower was very good! Staff and service brilliant. We didn't arrive until 9.30pm and the manager stayed waiting for us to keep garage open. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The hotel looked poor from the outside, it did not improve when we went inside. Found the staff rude & when the found out we was English the made out that they did nit understand us. The food I would not of given to my dogs, the wine was from the US not even fit fto put in your soup. The bread was still frozen in the middle. This was the first time I have even been to France must say it put me of going again.

Room Tip: Dont stay sleep in your car find a famous burger chain the food will be much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chaumont hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Just the right place for a business trip to the industrial area at the south of Chaumont, certainly nothing for someone who wants to enjoy the city nightlife, that's a few miles north.
Stayed there for a long week and cannot fault anything with the hotel itself. The front rooms got nice little balconies, very handy if you are a smoker.
I cannot agree with others saying the place looks dated, it is a business hotel, certainly not new, but absolutely ok to me .. and at a reasonable price, in UK i had much worse for more money..
Room was clean and comfortable and the reception staff was very friendly, plenty of parking space also.
WiFi is free and connection is quite fast.
The restaurant is a different thing,......Generally the food is ok, just a little over priced in my opinion. There is also a lack of consistency, ordering the same dish at a different day may not get you the same thing. Kitchen staff seems working really hard, but the service staff is either overload or just not good enough to make it a good stay. Waiting times are excessive and
there is also a lack of attention. Not very friendly either, it felt a bit like being a piece of cattle....
However, the steaks are fantastic....
Anyway, after a few days i ended up eating at Pizza 52, which is just a 5 minutes walk down the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ongar
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

On arriving at the hotel I became concerned it is not in the town centre and the area was not the best, It looked old and the reception was not welcoming.
The first room in which you could not swing a cat smelt so bad that we had to ask to move.
The second room still tiny and with a door which opened inwards which meant anyone in the corridor could see the whole room.
We chose not to eat in the restaurant having seen the hotel condition and were pleased with the trip advisor recommendation for the restaurant in the town.
On return we got ready for bed and my husband drew the curtains which then fell to the floor with the curtain rail and all fixtures. 'how we laughed' i don't think. We could find no-one in the hotel at all no reception no staff and we ended having to put the bed spread over the window to try and have privacy.
So in case it is not clear not even as a stopover is this hotel worth a visit.
one good thing we left a suit at the hotel and Isobel kindly found it and posted it to us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

somewhat dated hotel but in a budget price range and good value for money. it's out of the main town which makes finding a restaurant other than the hotel one difficult if you want to drink and drive. hotel restaurant very much like the hotel - reasonable value for money but nothing special (american/mexican themed but without a mexican cooking it). room fine, clean and tidy - and just about big enough. beds fine. shower was raised which made getting out of it safely - without doing a swan drive across the bathroom - a matter of great care and agility. staff friendly and attentive. parking in the basement (albeit at a cost of 5 euros) a sensible precaution as parking in front of the hotel very open.

Room Tip: rooms with the juliet balcony probably worth the small extra payment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Situated in the commercial zone of Chaumont we found this budget hotel for a one night stop over. Friendly desk people. Elevator available to bring us to the 2nd floor. Double confort room with small balcony on the front side was o.k. incl a clean bathroom. Good beds. Hotel building is quite old, but with a lot of flowers on the balcony it has a friendly face. Good price-quality relation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaumont
1.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Chaumont Centre Gare
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Terminus Reine
Grand Hotel Terminus Reine
#6 of 10 in Chaumont
88 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Les Remparts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Le Royal
Le Royal
#7 of 10 in Chaumont
14 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hotel Inn Design Resto Novo Langres
8.0 mi away
Auberge de la Fontaine
Auberge de la Fontaine
#1 of 1 in Villiers-sur-Suize
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Grand Val? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Grand Val

Property: Hotel Le Grand Val
Address: 2 route de Langres, 52000 Chaumont, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Haute-Marne > Chaumont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Chaumont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Grand Val 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Le Grand Val reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing