We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Gardens”

Chateau de Villandry
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$93.41*
and up
Small-Group Half-Day Tour to Villandry, Azay-le-Rideau and Family Castle from...
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Villandry
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A monumental countryside villa surrounded by world-famous gardens, organized in the classic French Renaissance style.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Incredible Gardens”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Chateau de Villandry should be on the top of your must see list when visiting the Loire Valley. The building is impressive, but the gardens are the main attraction. If your time is short, skip the Chateau and spend your time in the gardens.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AzHawki84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,767
    568
    53
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Imposing and impressive”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The architecture of the Chateau and the gardens are not to be missed Viewing from the upstairs windows of the Chateau on to the gardens is mesmerising. The layout of the gardens and the colours of the plants and flowers are beautiful. Allow at least 2-3 hours to really appreciate every aspect of what is laid out before you and you will not be disappointed

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kenhall1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
205 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“great gardens and an interesting love story”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The gardens were not at their best, the weather having delayed some things but with imagination one could see what a months good weather would bring. Nicely ordered with good viewing spots above ground level this is a classic French garden. Nature as ordered by man.
The tour of the house is good and the story of the current owner's great grandfather's love affair is a joy and a delight for romantics of all ages.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank StefanMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Would be a great experience later in Spring or in Summer when gardens are in full bloom”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

As far as Loire valley chateaus and castles go, I felt that Chateau de Villandry was one of those places that peaks on the spectacular factor in late spring or summer, based mainly on what is probably an amazing garden when in full bloom. In mid-April, you could see the beginnings of something beautiful and it was interesting walking amongst the different gardens and seeing what was being grown (especially the herb garden).

The chateau itself is one of the last 'castles' built in the Loire Valley and noticing the difference between wood based architectural structure vs stone in some of the older chateaux was quite interesting but for me, it just didn't hit the mark, I felt that others such as Chambord and Chenonceau were much more beautiful and well kept.

We purchased an English audio guide but felt it wasn't really necessary here.

In summer, I'm sure the labyrinth would look much greener and not so sparse and fruit trees will be stunning.

Parking is provided along the street infront of the chateau or you can park at the office de tourisme further down.

I guess for me, the overall experience was not as good as other places, the ticket office was a little slow, we were asked to go to another counter to pick up audio guides as a line was starting to form behind us, but then found the man at the original counter giving other people later in the queue their audio guides while we were still waiting at the other counter for someone to help us. The public bathrooms had no toilet seats and bare in paper. My point is... I felt this chateau was not looked after as well as some others in the valley in terms of how it looks after the main building and facilities for customers.

Note, the town of Villandry does have some great eating options, a little patisserie and a nice little bistro next door to it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LKK78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chabris, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Unmissable Loire Valley garden.....and chateau”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The latest visit of Garden Design Academy to the gardens of the loire valley saw my students and I at the gates of Villandry, on a cold day in a late season and with rain threatening. Not ideal.

For a group of garden designers however, the lack of tree foliage and flowers left the box hedge patterns stark against a background of gravel parterre and pathways, leaving the design clearer than I have ever seen it.

Being off-season and damp, the usual crowds were nowhere to be seen, leaving us to explore in the luxury of what seemed like a private visit.

It would have been a perfect visit too, but for the fact that the new Sun Garden was closed, and I particularly wanted students to see that. Never mind; we all enjoyed the trip and of course I shall be back regularly,

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank UkHostLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau de Villandry also viewed

Amboise, Loire Valley
Azay-le-Rideau, Loire Valley
 

Been to Chateau de Villandry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing