We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we had gone elsewhere”
Review of Bar Le Colombien

Bar Le Colombien
Ranked #8 of 10 Restaurants in Villandry
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Bar Restaurant within the Auberge Le Colombien
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
603 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Wish we had gone elsewhere”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

After visiting Villandry we stopped to walk around the village - wish I read the reviews - but we decided to stop in for lunch. The pizza was ok but the vegetable soup I ordered was the worst soup I have even eaten ... and the not very fresh bread did nothing to help. Service was slow and we were the only ones in there. Such a shame after our wonderful time visiting the chateau.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nowpacking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    29
    23
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Maixent-l'Ecole, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Extremely poor service and food”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Frozen pizza served up and more expensive than the freshly made pizzeria down the road! Waited at least 45 mins to be served.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annette1960-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife was served the worst attempt at a Niçoise salad I have ever seen. It really was awful. The rest of us had the plateau jour which was mediocre at best. We were all of the opinion that this was the worst meal we had ever had in France. Such a pity as it is a lovely location but the food was very poor.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank STU47T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
2 reviews
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had lunch yesterday at this restaurant and it was our most disappointing meal in France in the 6 weeks we have been here. Not only was the food poor but so was the service and we have had nothing but expert and friendly service until now. Perhaps they are taking advantage of their prominent location on the street and we should have known better. The woman who served us wanted to take our order while we were still looking at the menus a few minutes after being seated. When we said we were not ready things seemed to go downhill from there. We had to ask for l'eau et pain (several times) after our meal came. I had an asparagus omelet which was ok but the frites were obviously frozen and tasteless as was the tomato and mozzarella salade. Although it said on the menu that the salade came with olive oil, none was on it and I had to ask twice for it. I have had wonderful salades in France. This was tasteless tomato slices with tiny cubes of tasteless cheese . That was it. My husband's boeuf was ok but given the wonderful food and service we have enjoyed I would NOT recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenniferkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A very good lunch”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had the daily lunch menu for 19e. Very good value, with delicious home cooking and also gluten free. Served quickly and with a smile and tasting delicious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelalotLAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Le Colombien also viewed

 
Villandry, Loire Valley
Villandry, Loire Valley
 
Villandry, Loire Valley
Villandry, Loire Valley
 

Been to Bar Le Colombien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing