We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Cheval Rouge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Le Cheval Rouge
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Villandry
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights while visiting the area. We enjoyed our stay. Nice breakfast and dinner. Car parking across the street as well as some walking/biking trails and the office of tourism. So it was a nice place to stay to explore the area. The room was clean. Villandry castle next door to visit.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gp231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    71
    23
    17
    9
See reviews for
28
76
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NE England
Level Contributor
384 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Having read the Tripadvisor reviews I was expecting more. The hotel does have a private car park, but it is small, we arrived at 17:00 hrs and it was already full and had to use a public car park. Check in was friendly and efficient. The public rooms are definitely in need of some updating.

The room was clean but again in need of redecoration, I suspect that some rooms are more comfortable than others.

We reserved a table for dinner, on arrival at the dining room we were pointed to a table in a dark cramped corner. We asked for another table there were several empty at the ime. We were told, not very politely, that this was all that was available. At this we said Ok we will eat some where else. Immediately we were shown to another table, that was more acceptable, the other empty tables were never used. The food was OK but not memorable and the service average.

The only plus point that I could see for this hotel was its proximity to the Chateau. However, there is another hotel nearby. If I needed to be close to the Chateaux OK, but my advice is try some where else

Room Tip: Check out the room before accepting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerNEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Nice clean hotel, simple but adequate bedroom. Free private closed parking (I liked that) and the restaurant very pleasant. Run by a nice friendly lady. I hate buffet breakfasts and I have to say the coffee was second rate. However, we'd definitely stay here again. The gardens at the chateau (5 minutes walk away) are nothing short of breathtaking.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back which was silent, maybe the ones at the front, overlooking the road, may h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freeway_Doggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

This was the perfect spot for us to base several days in the Loire. Parking is easy, no traffic to contend with, service was excellent. The restaurant was very good for dinner, and the breakfast was typical french hotel. We were first led to two third floor garrett rooms which were so small that an adult could not stand to use the toilet, but the manager quickly bustled up and took us to two very nice rooms, both facing a small back street on the first and second floors. They were quite large and very nicely appointed. The only down side was that garbage pickup was outside our windows on the first morning. The hotel is adjacent to the amazing gardens of the Ch de Villandry. Any of the tourist sites in Tours or to the west are very close without the hassle of staying in a larger town.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tultrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

just 200 feet from the castle entrance, the simple yet nice hotel has a good restaurant (used to be better tough)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank almalik78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2005

We spent one night at the Le Cheval Rouge Hotel in Villandry while cycle touring. We got the last room in the place and was so pleased we did.

The hotel was well located, 5 minutes walk from Villandry chateaux with it's amazing gardens. The room, though it was a converted loft, was very comfortable and newly decorated, and had an air conditioning unit installed.

The meals (dinner and breakfast) were well presented, quickly served and delicious.

No complaints from us.

Helpful?
5 Thank kiwifern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villandry
0.3 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Colombien
Hotel Le Colombien
#3 of 3 in Villandry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
5.9 mi away
Les Trois Lys
Les Trois Lys
#8 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel des Chateaux
Hotel des Chateaux
#4 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel de Biencourt
Hotel de Biencourt
#1 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
3.7 mi away
Le XII de Luynes
Le XII de Luynes
#1 of 2 in Luynes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Cheval Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Cheval Rouge

Property: Hotel Le Cheval Rouge
Address: 9 rue Principale, 37510 Villandry, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Villandry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Villandry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Cheval Rouge 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Cheval Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing