We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very simple: DO NOT MISS !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of L'etable

L'etable
Ranked #97 of 584 Restaurants in Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“very simple: DO NOT MISS !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

First impression – they had a menu in English, which is not trivial. In any case, it is good that the waiter can give more info about the dishes, and I figured out the waiters do not have such a good English. To my surprise, the waiters were so kind and helpful, and tried really hard to close the gap and explained almost each and every item, so we have ended with terrific appetizer and two great dishes.
The atmosphere was good to me – not too noisy, not too dark, yet romantic and “French”. As I said, the service was good and quick, and the food – oh, the food. For starter we took the “salad de la bergerie” (goat cheese and roast cheese), and two main dishes. The first one was the roast potatoes, smoked duck, garlic and goat’s cheese, and the second one was terrific entrecote steak in a Roquefort sauce – that was delicious! Do not miss this dish!
Must note I asked to thank the chef for this great food, and even though being extremely busy, he found the slot to come out for appreciation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OhadR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    88
    30
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ok food but horrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This restaurant was on a street with several other restaurants that was recommended by our hotel. There was indeed much better selection on this street than simply going to the old Tours square and dining but this is not someplace to try.

After looking at many menus along the way and striking out getting a table at two other restaurants we came upon this place. The menu looked decent enough and the décor is a farm theme throughout. We were seated promptly but then left for 10 minutes. I was at the point of leaving when someone finally took our order.

It took a while for us to get our starters and entrees. The food was actually quite good. We again waited another 20 mins for our food to get cleared. In the meantime, a host of tables had left and they were seating people at dirty tables. They looked like they were short handed given the level of disarray. I finally called over the woman who appeared to be running the place, cancelled our desserts, paid and left.

She was embarrassed and apologized for the poor service. Another couple beside us was also very upset at the level of service they were not getting.

Overall, this place seems to have a good kitchen but the front end lack of service kills the experience. Our bill including wine but not dessert as 62 Euros. Pass this one by.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Couldn't get service!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

After a nice stroll past this restaurant I was really excited to try the food as it looked quite good on the other tables.

I asked for a table outside and was told to sit anywhere.

This is where my night ended...

After 50 MINUTES and asking two separate waiters for service I was unable to even get a glass of water.

I simply walked away unnoticed by the staff. This was despite the waiters clearing two tables next to me.

I have never had to wait this long for service. Waiting this long in hospitality is unacceptable!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheGourmetReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

this was a reasonably priced restaurant, obviously popular with the locals and, being placed a little bit away from the main area tourists tend to go, didn't have inflated prices. I had a delicious 'Laiterie' salad which included baked camembert in honey- yum! My husband had salmon salad and it was very nice but the salmon wasn't the best quality. I would definitely eat there again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sibike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
235 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had a very good meal here, both having the pork which was beautifully cooked in pastry. It was accompanied by separate dishes of vegetables, sautéed potatoes and gravy. We were the first n or the evening meal but by the time we left, it was full.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'etable also viewed

 
Tours, Loire Valley
Tours, Loire Valley
 

Been to L'etable? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing