We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel du Cygne
Nearby Hotels
$133
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$212
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$181
$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$88
$78
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$118
$97
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Ronsard(Tours)(Great Value!)
$87
$85
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$228
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveler rating
13
43
34
22
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
43
34
22
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold towncathedralparkingbicyclesconvenience
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 122 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2008

Yes, the location is quite a good one, close to the railway station, Tourism Office, restaurants and the old town.
However, please be aware of two scams that are operating at this hotel. My husband and I stayed 4 nights and upon checking out ,were told that we would have to pay for 5 nights.
The second scam if that if you stay in a room with a double bed and a single bed, you will be charged for both beds, even if you only sleep in one bed. The extra cost is ten euros per night.
We held our ground, produced our train ticket and our last hotel bill to prove when we had arrived in Tours and flatly refused to pay for the extra bed that we didn't use. My advice is to hold onto all your receipts.
Even though there is a notice saying English is spoken here , their English is very very poor.
There are plenty of hotels in Tours, some in much better locations for the same price. Steer clear of this one is my advice.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Voila88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2008

This hotel is in a great location close to the Old Town and Train Station. We read a good review in lonely Planet and the fact they have a parking garage were the main reasons we booked.

Owners are very friendly and helped park the car and get the luggage. No lift but most rooms are on 1st and 2nd floor.

Rooms are better than what you would usually expect in a 2 star hotel in France. Our room was big and the bathroom (with bath) was large and airy. Windows opened to a quite street below.

Hotel is just off Rue Colbert which has great restraurants and bars. Hotel Cygne is also part of Velo Loire which means they can help you hire bikes / or safely store your bikes in their garage.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Curt53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2008

This is an old style, 19th century hotel, with basic rooms, located on a very quiet street (set back through a courtyard), that leads onto the main pedestrian street in the heart of the vielle ville. It is within walking distance of all the major sites, and about 15 minutes from the gare.

The basic rooms are very comfortable, quiet, with good baths and great character. If you are a boutique or chain hotel person, this is not for you. However, if you'd rather spend your money on the great restaurants nearby, it's fantastic value.

It is part of the Contact hotel group, not a chain, but an affiliation of small, basic two stars. I have also stayed in the Hotel de la Poste in Pontarlier, and the Hotel de Seze/Medoc in Bordeaux. They give you a booklet, and with around 10 stays, you get a free night.

I stayed here based on the tripadvisor reviews, and was quite happy.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Mike-Wiesner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

Good points: location (close to the station and the historical centre, as well as many restaurants), cleanliness, friendly owners.
Bad points: we were given the room in the garage! That is to say, the entrance is through the garage, and the only window also looks on it! The room itself was very basic, but clean. However, we felt a bit claustrophobic and the morning noise from the garage woke us up. On the bright side, all other rooms must be better than this, so do not let them put you in the garage, and you'll be fine!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soleilrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

This is a small 2-star hotel - maybe 15 rooms - which is in the very centre of Tours. It's about 2 mins walk from Rue Colbert which is packed full of fairly quiet restaurants. The bars and louder restuarants tend to be in Place Plumereau, which is about 10 mins walk away.

It's not a particularly glamorous hotel, but if you just want a room with bathroom for a very reasonably price it'll do nicely. The people running it are very friendly and the atmosphere is very relaxed. Bathroom is ample size

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pmbma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews