We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!”
Review of La Maison Jules

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison Jules
Ranked #1 of 23 Tours B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent stay!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Sure, it is pricier , but it gives so much more! The owner Alex is a lovely woman and was very helpful. The house itself is impressive, modern and beautiful. We had the "smallest" room which was HUGE and spacious. Everything feels luxurious here and the breakfast is very good. The only downside is that there is that you have to pay for parking on the street (and it's not easy to find)

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonP1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
129
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed at La Maison Jules for two nights in early May in Room Gatien. Beautiful house which has been tastefully renovated with quality inclusions. Alex is very welcoming and keen to assist with information and bookings. Guests have the house to themselves including a kitchen and lounge room as Alex and family live in another house in the rear yard. This was fantastic having plenty of space and opportunity to make cups of tea / coffee as desired or a nice spot to pop back to eat some lunch on the outdoor deck.

Room was lovely. Large with a beautiful bathroom including a huge shower. Comfortable bed with quality linens. Everything about the room was very appealing and wonderfully clean and obviously freshly renovated. This room looked out large windows to the street but was very quiet and was a pleasant outlook.

Breakfast was terrific. Fresh breads, jams, cheese, pastries, juice, yoghurt, tea, coffee and eggs cooked to order. Alex was a lovely host and during my stay there were some regular visitors back again which is good sign.

Is a very short walk from the Tours train station (I found it an easy walk even with a large bag) and close to Tourist Bureau so very convenient for taking tours or train to Chateaux.

Would certainly recommend staying a few days as it was such a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be lovely with some amazing bathrooms. Gatien was one of the "smaller&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Tours as a base to see the castles and wineries in the region. La Maison Jules was the perfect place to stay. Everything about the house is wonderful. The rooms are large and full of light, Alexandra is a wonderful hostess even the other guests that stay there are lovely. We arrived in the afternoon and the couples sitting on the terrace having a glass of wine invited us to join them! It is not the cheapest place to stay, but it is certainly value for money and would recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliana U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

1st time in Tours. Everything was perfect; the host, the room, the breakfast, the other guests, the location. I would not hesitate to stay here if I visit Tours again. Some of the other guests had returned here several times. It was easy to see why.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie_Payne_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Perfect, a big thank you also to Alexandra who was a lovely hostess.
The old house is nice and big, renovated and decorated with modern taste yet keeping the initial cachet. The guests can enjoy the big living room and kitchen. As for the room we stayed in St Gatien which was great, with a massive bathroom with shower and big bath. Tours itself is lovely and we weren't disappointed to stop there on our week end around the castle. Would recommend for a romantic getaway, and will come back here whenever I can !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antigone726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was our sixth stay at Alexandra's lovely hotel and this will always be our first choice in Tours. The stylish rooms and excellent beds provide exceptional comfort but just as important is Alexandra's lovely manner with all of her guests - breakfast conversation is relaxed and often highly entertaining. Staying here is a delight.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ratty93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
177 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Just a shame we stayed just one evening. We stayed in Gatein - it was ultra chic, clean and comfortable. Our hostess, Alex, is a complete delight, booked us a lovely dinner at La Chope, couldn't have been nicer. We will definitely go back, it's a real treat, the whole house is fabulous.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JED457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tours hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Univers Tours
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus L'Artist Hotel
1.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Chateau Belmont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ronsard
Hotel Ronsard
#8 of 88 in Tours
368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colbert
Hotel Colbert
#2 of 88 in Tours
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#13 of 88 in Tours
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Jules? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Jules

Property: La Maison Jules
Address: 45 rue Jules Simon, 37000, Tours, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Tours
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury guesthouse, la maison jules is set in a charming 19th century mansion, with garden,in the historic heart of tours; entirely renovated the guest house offers a peaceful haven a few meters away from the train station,the cathedral and the congress centre,combining the elegance of its century and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Maison Jules reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing