We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Essential hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis Budget Tours Centre
Ranked #37 of 88 Hotels in Tours
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Essential hotel”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

This hotel is walking distance from the train station but I wouldn't say it's central. If you are going to Tours as a tourist, the areas where you will go are around place de Plummerau, which is not far but there are plenty of more convenient hotels.
Avoid the breakfast, even if it's just EUR 4.90. Quality is poor, little choice and depressing room.
In spite of being close to the station, the rooms are quiet.
This hotel has just the essential, which is reflected by the price (EUR 45 for a double room).
If we were to go back to Tours we would choose a hotel with more charachter in a more central location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IlGenio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    272
    192
    82
    49
See reviews for
187
195
62
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
uae
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We had been to Tours, France to have a good view of the castles in the Loire Valley. I had booked myself int he Etap Hotel, in Tours Centre after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and other site.
We stayed for 2 nights. I must say that the hotel is ideally located very close to the Tours train station and also very close to the Tourist Information centre. The rooms were neat and clean and the staff too were not bad. The breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truro
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Basic but good value accommodation - with parking - proximity to train station was not a problem for noise as rooms very well glazed. Rooms clean with basic facilities, very student like accomodation. Breakfast was not full of choices, but plentiful, and good quality food. For the budget traveller

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coldtuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poitiers, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

I stayed in a triple room at this hotel for two nights. My two friends and I stopped in Tours to explore the city and take in a wine tour--only to find out we needed a car to get to the vineyards and that biking wine tours didn’t exist in Tours! So we ended up taking the train+bus (as there was track work) to Chinon to attend the medieval festival. We had a fun time in Tours.

The hotel is in an okay location—about a 5-minute walk from the train station but about a 15-20 minute walk to the “happening” parts of the city where we spent most of our time -- Place Plumereau and along the Loire River. Perhaps, it was because we visited during August, but the area around the hotel was rather deserted but we didn’t feel unsafe.

The room was comfortable and clean—and actually rather large compared to the other hotels we stayed at during our trip. It included free wifi and had a tv, desk, two single beds and a bunk bed. The bathroom was a good size.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to budget travelers who want to stay close to the train station. It is a no-frills hotel that, in truth, wasn’t memorable but met our needs and budget.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilly5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

Etap is budget and you never know what to expect but this hotel was very close to train station and town centre plus it was clean and quiet. would reccommend. Tours is the best place to be located if you want to visit chateaux

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Roachnkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2009

Exactly as before.
This hotel was again as per my previous review better than many ETAP hotel stays as the bathrooms (and some of the rooms themselves) are much bigger than normal.

The room was again overlooking the station but was well soundproofed so not a problem.

Once again I chose Tours as place to stop off, this time when needing to be in the Paris area mid morning (easy via the TGV).
Once again I arrived late at the station (from the south this time)

Once again, the fact that you check in at the next door MERCURE - ie over the counter makes this as personal as a 3*** hotel but much cheaper!

My paperwork was found within seconds of me walking into the Mercure lobby, so I was in my room within a couple of minutes

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WisetravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2006

Back from 4D/3N with my wife. Paid E36/night. Basic amenties, nothing too fanciful. Good enough for a night's sleep. Location is near train station, in a safe area. Don't bother about the breakfast at the hotel, not worth the 4 euros.

  • Liked — Cheap, good location
  • Disliked — Lights along corridor was not turned on!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gkc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tours hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Tours Centre Gare
Ibis Tours Centre Gare
#27 of 88 in Tours
676 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Tours Nord
Ibis Budget Tours Nord
#10 of 88 in Tours
516 reviews
3.0 mi away
B&B Hotel TOURS Nord 2 La petite Arche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Val de Loire Hotel
Val de Loire Hotel
#31 of 88 in Tours
89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kyriad Tours Centre
Kyriad Tours Centre
#28 of 88 in Tours
193 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ronsard
Hotel Ronsard
#8 of 88 in Tours
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Tours Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Tours Centre

Property: Ibis Budget Tours Centre
Address: 27 rue Edouard Vaillant, 37000, Tours, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 88 Hotels in Tours
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Tours Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Budget Tours Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing