We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, perfect hosts”
Review of Hotel Mondial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mondial
Ranked #29 of 88 Hotels in Tours
Derby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location, perfect hosts”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Firstly, you could not wish for a better location. Situated in a nice quiet square in the heart of the old town, Le Mondial is just a couple of minutes walk from Place Plumereau, 10 minutes from the Cathedral, and around 15 minutes from the station. Parking is handy too, and if you've got a hire car, it's easy to get in and out of the city from here, and out to the surrounding Loire valley.

I've noticed some people have mentioned noise, but we had no problems with noise either during the day or at night. I know Tours pretty well having lived there before, and I'm pretty certain that you won't get a quieter hotel in the old town. Somebody mentioned people drinking outside until 6am, which can't be the case as no standard bar has a licence that late, and there are no clubs in the square, so don't be put off by that.

The room was very nicely kept, clean and comfortably furnished, at a higher standard than I would have expected for the price. The same can also be said for the rest of the hotel. There are a few stairs to contend with, and no lift, as it's quite an old building, so this may be a consideration.

The continental breakfast was excellent, with a nice selection, and served up in a nice dining area with views across the square.

Finally, the staff were fantastic. Extremely thoughtful and considerate, friendly and happy to help.

When we next go back to Tours, Le Mondial will definitely be our preferred place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arb73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    48
    29
    12
    11
See reviews for
21
56
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Mondial for 2 nights as a base for our exploration of the beautiful Loire Valley.
PROS:
- nice large bedroom with two double beds, high ceilings and French windows opening onto Pl de Resistance
- modern room furnishings, fresh clean sheets
- helpful staff when we could find them
- quite location, we stayed Sunday and Monday night so the nightclub wasn't an issue
CONS:
- we knew there wouldn't be any staff available when we checked in and were given the security code and told the room key would be in our room. But it wasn't. Fortunately we ran into a staff member for the 10 minutes he was there and was able to get a key and the second towel they forgot to give us.
- the bathroom: old, tiny and only had a bath (not even a shower overhead). So washing involved either having to have a bath or squatting in the bath with the hand-held hose
- the flooring in our room was made of straw matting so smelt like a stable every time we entered the room.
So basically it was fine for what is was and what we paid, but I certainly wouldn't be rushing back or recommending it to friends.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ConstantlyinAwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were 17 friends of ours staying at this hotel, located in the old town, walking distance from everything. The rooms are clean, the toilets modern and the breakfast is perfect (croissant, orange juice, bred and jam (typical French breakfast)) for 8 Euros.
There is no lift, which is good to know for eldery people while booking you can ask for rooms on the 1st floor.
The hotel is typical of a small old town hotel located few min from the new part of the city
We had a great time and we recommend it
Karine

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chouquette41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Other reviewers described everything in detail. I would say the amenities are reasonable for this price but the noise is terrible. Right below the hotel there is a restaurant where the energetic French drink and shout all night and morning (till 6 am).

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kairat09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tours hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hotel is a attractively decorated, clean and is located in a great location so it is unfortunate that there are so many negatives to offset its appeal.
I quite agree with many of the reviewers here: the hotel is located in the middle of a very noisy square where revellers can keep you awake for most of the night if you have the misfortune of being there on the wrong night. Having said that, the following night, a Sunday was blissfully peaceful.
The other problem mentioned by other reviewers is the lack of staff in attendance at reception. There are many other great hotels with an equivalent rating (2 stars) in the area which are staffed for much longer hours.

I personally can put up with not having a elevator but then again I didn't have too much luggage. I did notice one poor old couple who nearly had a heart attack after climbing 4 flights. My room at the top of the building had no opening windows which made the room very stuffy and claustrophobic.

The stinginess with soaps and towels was also an issue.

Another big problem I found was the paper thin walls meant that you were privy to your neighbours' most intimate moments. Along with this, and as has already been mentioned, the toilets are incredibly noisy when flushed.

All in all not a place I would recommend. Many other better, cheaper hotels in the city.

Room Tip: Unless you are very fit, ask for a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aupresdemabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

If you like staying in a hostel at hotel prices, this is the place for you. My sister and I shared room 31 and this is what we found. A room carpeted in wicker matting murder on bare feet, one small bar of soap for sink and tub, not replaced or supplemented until it was a sliver, two very small threadbare bath towels but only one hand towel, two small plastic glasses one of which did not hold liquids (we borrowed ceramic coffee cups from the dining area that were replaced the following morning with one small plastic glass - apparently we were expected to wash out and reuse the one from the day before that actually held liquid), a reception area that is staffed from only 7:30 am til noon and from 4 pm til 8 pm (so don't try checking in at any other time), a breakfast with breads and butter but no knives for the butter, no wifi in room 31 - it's FOUR flights up (no lift!) under the roof so the signal can't reach it - in spite of the hotel's promotional material claiming that there is free wifi "sur tout l'hotel", and perhaps worst of all no ice or fridge or any way to chill a bottle of Loire Valley vin blanc! The only good thing about Hotel Modial is it's location which is, admittedly, excellent. A total rip-off in my opinion.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

After 20 p.m. there's no staff from the hotel, so one has to check in before that. The reception is situated on the 2nd floor of the building - no elevator! Thank God our room was on that same floor. No noise from the disco/bar though. The room were clean but there was no door to the toilette. Bad!

It has a great location, its a step away from everyting.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisbonKiteRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tours hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ronsard
Hotel Ronsard
#8 of 88 in Tours
368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'adresse
Hotel L'adresse
#26 of 88 in Tours
140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colbert
Hotel Colbert
#3 of 88 in Tours
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Theatre
Hotel du Theatre
#43 of 88 in Tours
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Logis Hotel des Chateaux de la Loire
0.1 mi away
Best Western Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mondial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mondial

Property: Hotel Mondial
Address: 3 Place de la Resistance, 37000, Tours, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 88 Hotels in Tours
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mondial 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mondial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondial Hotel Tours

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing