We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, breakfast and near Gare of Tours”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Tours Centre Gare
Ranked #11 of 88 Hotels in Tours
Curitiba, PR
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great rooms, breakfast and near Gare of Tours”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

After a bad experience in Paris with a three star hotel, we check in at Mercure-Tours.

The check-in was very quick. We had two triple rooms. They were very very spacious. They have carpets in it, but as the standard of hotels Mercure, it was very clean.

The shower and sink are separate from the toilet, which can be very usefull if you have 3 people inside the room at the same time.

One of the bathrooms had a bed smell after a shower, or after you remove the plug/stopgap from the bathtub/sink. The hair dryer was good.

They pillows are very small, and the third bed has a not-so-good blanket as the other beds.

The breakfast was very good with great options. But there were a guest who insisted to bring his dog to the breakfast room with him (and stayed with it near the buffet).

I was concerned to stay right behind the train station, but we couldn't hear the trains at all with the double windows. But you can always demand a room that is located in the oposite side of the gare.

They don't have restaurant at night, only for non-guests that are in business at the hotel. The room service works until 9p.m. If you want to eat something after that, you'll need to walk a little bit to find a McDonalds or something (that probably will be closed) in city-center. And more then once there was no-one at the front desk. They keep only one employee doing everything after a certain hour (front desk, bar, room's orders).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    263
    142
    53
    22
See reviews for
76
262
47
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Spent a couple of nights here on business, The hotel is located near the station, Rooms are large and comfortable and I found the welcome and service from reception was excellent. The bar and restaurant had nothing special to offer but only a short walk will get you to some nice bars and restaurants and a 10 to 15 minute walk (follow directions for St Martin) will get you to the old town square which has a great atmosphere and a huge selection of places to eat and drink.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Clean, bright, nice room. Found the WiFi not terribly easy to use and was important to us - an English translation of how to log on would have helped. Breakfast also good but not fantastic value for money.

Room Tip: For a quiet room, ask the the top floor (7).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Langued0cienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My wife and I had a great at the Mercure Hotel in downtown Tours, near the train station. Everything was great. The only thing we would have liked better was a restaurant inside the hotel. Indeed breakfasts were served every morning between 6:30 (7:30 on weekends) and 10:00. But having the possibility for lunch and/or dinner would have been nice as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lpaget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

It is a good location for those arriving by train. Yet, the hotel has nothing special to offer. Rooms are without any extra touch. Staff offers low service and the restaurant is small. Breakfast is not really great value for money. In Tours you wiil find a nicer hotel in the real city centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor, so you will have the better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caspar v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 836 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Hello again Folks,

Please find our fair and independent review of Mercure Tours Centre Gare hotel.
If you find the review of some help, please take the time to press the helpful button at the end. Thanks.

We arrived on Friday 6th July, 2012 and found the hotel after some difficulty, as tom tom did not recognise No 29, only street number 30. As you turn left into Rue Edouard Vaillant, you see the train station on your right and drive straight down to the next traffic island. There you want to enter the service road on the right hand side, where hotel alliance is. The service road runs parallel with the main road. At the very end of the said service road, you will find Mercure Tours Centre Gare hotel.

First impressions of the hotel were that even though it is billed as City central, it must be 350 - 450 yards from the main action. We didn’t find the local area that nice and the hotel is also situated right beside the train tracks. The hotels design, colour and presence is best described as different, unappealing and perhaps drab.

That said, we arrived very early and enjoyed safe, free parking right opposite reception. The lady on reception was very welcoming and spoke great English and said that even though we arrived so early, if we could wait 20 - 30 minutes, she would have a room made ready for us. My Wife asked if we could have two coffee’s while we waited and they arrived shortly.

Sadly, the coffees ended up on the final bill.

We were allocated room 206 at a fee of 89 euros, with free parking. The room was very nice. Modern, clean, tidy. The bed was massive and very comfortable. We enjoyed tea / coffee making facilities, good a/c, a balcony and bath and shower.

Holiday Inn Hotel Alliance, The Grand Hotel and Hotel De Europe are all closer to the main centre and possible alternatives, but Im not sure how good they are ? Its was first impressions only Im afraid !

Tours I presume enjoys city status, as it is very large and busy. it’s a great place to visit with thousands of bars / restaurants. The food was great. We ate at the Continental Pub where two mains and wine came to 41 euros. Locally, two small beers averaged 6 euros.

The Municipal buildings, Cathedral and old square are beautiful. I wish that we could have stayed for more than one night and definitely recommend a visit to Tours. Wifey said that the shopping here was very good too.

Just a word of warning about the toll roads this year. All manned stations appear to be removed due to austerity measures I presume, so clients now have to pay by cash into a machine or swipe credit cards. Queues for the cash tolls were lengthy and long. I strongly recommend that you use your credit cards for all road tolls, especially during the children’s holiday period.

Thanks
Gary.

Improve vacation…

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ruddstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

A very pleasant hotel, very central about 5 mins walk to the railway station and the main town, including the Tourist Information Office.
Breakfast was plentiful but there was not resturant on site for evening meals.
Extra tea, coffee and UHT milk was not available once you have used the supply given to you until the next day.
The rooms were clean and very presentable and the bed was large and very comfortable.
Free wifi was available at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel as the railway lines run along the back and can be noisy ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tours hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel L'Univers Tours
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus L'Artist Hotel
1.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Chateau Belmont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel de Tours
Grand Hotel de Tours
#17 of 88 in Tours
846 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Tours Nord
Mercure Tours Nord
#7 of 88 in Tours
557 reviews
3.9 mi away
Inter-Hotel Le Garden Tours-Sud
Inter-Hotel Le Garden Tours-Sud
#1 of 10 in Chambray-Les-Tours
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Tours Centre Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Tours Centre Gare

Property: Mercure Tours Centre Gare
Address: 29 rue Edouard Vaillant, 37000, Tours, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tours
#13 Business Hotel in Tours
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Tours Centre Gare 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Tours. This hotel offers a warm and cosy environment. Close to the Convention / Exhibition Centre and the train station. 92 spacious air-conditioned / sound-proofed rooms equipped with bathroom and satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Tours Centre Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Tours Centre Gare Hotel Tours
Accor Tours Centre Gare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing