We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really needs a 6th star”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Roche Le Roy

La Roche Le Roy
Ranked #2 of 585 Restaurants in Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $82
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really needs a 6th star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was great! Food, service, everything was outstanding. No wonder this place has such a long list of superb reviews. A Michelin one star, but should probably have two.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SunsetJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    82
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Superb friendly service as well as a Gastronomic delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We had a personal recommendation to this restaurant , which proved to be correct .The resturant is in an old 18th century Mansion just Outside Tours with easy parking.
http://www.rocheleroy.com/
The whole experience was of a family atmosphere ,with an accent on good food , good service and good value .The wine recomendations were excellent and not excessive , for those with a lack of French do not worry all the staff spoke English and Marilyn, is indeed from Newcastle. The restuarnt was full when we were there on a Thursday so book a table ,I think the website gives you the rest you need to know , worth a visit,put it on your list if in the area you will not be dissapointed .

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
217 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

The food is wonderful but it is surpassed by warm and welcoming service. The hosts can't do enough, and you feel their extraordinary hospitality. How wonderful!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Bostonian80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must for the eye and the palate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

The experience starts right from the very moment you go through the gate. The restaurant is set in a superb and typical manor/castle with a pretty and well kept garden and terrace. the welcome we received was warm and friendly and the dining rooms were stupendous: from the delicately painted ceiling beams to the table dressing, nothing was left to desire.
Our food was most delicate and exquisite. As you would expect from such restaurant, you're spoilt for choice with an impressive wine selection. We went for some local Loire valley wines as we decided it was trickier to find a good Loire wine than a bordeaux or a bourgogne and so we followed the Maitre d'h. 's recommendations and were most happy.
We enjoyed our dinner from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. the michelin star of the restaurant is most deserved. Everyhting is perfect, flawless.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Marengo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fabulous food with great service to match”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

My wife and I wanted to enjoy the best food that the Loire Valley had to offer so opted for lunch at La Roche Le Roy (we tried to book at Charles Barrier as well but they were not serving lunch that day). The restaurant is in a beautiful chateau just off the motorway so easy to get to, and with parking out front.

On arrival we were greeted warmly and shown to a table in a small private dining room downstairs which was tastefully decorated. The staff all spoke perfect English and happily answered all our questions, and suggested perfect wines to match our meal. Everything we ate from the lobster amuse bouche to the cheese platter followed by chocolate dessert was amazing, fresh and delicious. I opted for local seafood while my wife chose local meat.

Overall, we had a lovely dining experience at La Roche Le Roy, and they thoroughly deserve their Michelin star. Price wise, obviously it's a little more expensive than other restaurants but you get what you pay for, in this case, quality.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank thatblokeDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Roche Le Roy also viewed

Saint Avertin, Tours
Tours, Loire Valley
 
Tours, Loire Valley
 
Saint Avertin, Tours
 

Been to La Roche Le Roy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing