We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food; rooms not so”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau de Beaulieu
Ranked #21 of 88 Hotels in Tours
Los Altos, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food; rooms not so”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We spent one night at this converted chateau during a group bicycle trip. The setting is charming and arriving at the hotel by bicycle was easy as it is not in a congested area. The room that we had was quite cramped, with barely enough space for the two of us to open our suitcases and get settled. Wi-Fi appeared only to be available in the lobby area and not in our room.

We had a group dinner on our final night of the bicycle trip and the food was outstanding--the French do know how to eat. Additionally, the breakfast served in the dining room the next morning was quite elegant, although it was only a "continental" breakfast.

The grounds of the hotel are extensive and a lovely place in which to walk.

Room Tip: If your room is located on the front gravel driveway, it's best to close the blinds at night to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    87
    49
    19
    6
See reviews for
46
136
2
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I went with my boyfriend and his mother to Tours for one night. She lives in Paris and none of us have been to Tours before. We wanted to stay in a chateau and found this place last minute online. It's a ways out of the town, but it really is adorable. It's small, clean, and charming. The staff was very helpful and had good suggestions for us while we went into town to explore.

My favorite part was dinner. It really was delicious! We spent all day in town, came back for a nap, and had dinner in the dining room. We really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SabiniInday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We've stayed here several times, because of the location. This time we had a room in the annexe, which was fine, but the free wifi only works in the main building. The restaurant has a view over the Cher valley, and serves good food, but the service was a bit on the slow side. Pleasant garden to stroll around.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astronomer-at-large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We have visited the Chateau several times over the years and during our trip last year with friends, we detected a slight shift of focus away from being a hotel destination to a top class restaurant with rooms. The restaurant is indeed excellent and the service generally quite good. Chatting with the staff (who I found friendly), it became clear that the money is in the restaurant service - particularly serving the locals, business lunches etc and of course weddings and other functions. The hotel side is really just for "les touristes". Given the economic circumstances worldwide, this approach is understandable.

Some of the bedrooms could do with a makeover and there are quirks - the only tiny wardrobe in ours was full to the rafters with spare bedding covers - in July! We removed them from the wardrobe (which we really needed to use) to a chair by the linen cupboard on the landing but they were returned the next day to clutter up our bedroom again! We did find the housekeeping to be a bit haphazard. On the whole though, the bathrooms are clean, bright and have been modernised in recent years.

If your priority is fine cuisine rather than plush accommodation, then you will find the Chateau and its gardens perfect for a short stay.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms overlooking the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveFrenchWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

The chateau was very easy to find with a GPS nav, but the name in GPS was "Baulieu".
The place is very romantic, silency and the food is great. The room decoration has a Provence style, but the bathroom is modern with bathtube and hairdryer. The place has the charm of a castle and the facilities of a boutique hote.
The only bad thing was the wirelless, it's free, but works only in the lobby. The very best is the price, very reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bventuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

This hotel is simply beautiful. There are two buildings, we stayed right in the Chateau so I can't comment on the other building. Our room was amazing, the windows looked over the grounds, there was a vanity table in front of one window where I sat like a princess while I finished getting ready each morning. Definitely appropriate as this hotel leans more towards the upscale end of the spectrum. The room was enormous! The decor was very charming and everything was clean clean clean! My only complaint was that, as an American, I'm still not used to no shower doors/no shower curtain in the shower room -- but whatever, I'm the American who must conform to the European ways, not the other way around as many of my cohorts unfortunately believe. Other than that, everything at this hotel is simply wonderful. The restaurant has the most amazing food, and it seems that it is a highly regarded restaurant in the area, it was full each night but not just with guests from the hotel. The gardens and grounds are beautiful, one morning I went around and took a bunch of pictures, there are manicured shrubs and a fountain. The staff were also extremely helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LnT2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

We stayed for six nights and booked from the website. The chateau was very hard to find even with a sat nav. Level of friendliness was very poor. In the six days no member of staff ever engaged us in conversation other than say hello when we walked in and goodbye when we were leaving and what did we want for breakfast.(we do speak French) We were misled on wifi connections. Staff were very friendly to some guests but not to others. No sitting area in the chateau. all 'public' areas are dedicated to dining or function facilities. Frankly guests seem to be an inconvienence to the staff. We stayed in the Pavillion which is not a bit like it appears on website. It was dark and cold even though outside temperatures were in the high 20s. Definitely not a place to return to.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francelover15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tours
3.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Chateau Belmont
2.4 mi away
Hotel L'Univers Tours
5.8 mi away
Chateau d'Artigny
Chateau d'Artigny
#2 of 4 in Montbazon
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Inter-Hotel Le Garden Tours-Sud
Inter-Hotel Le Garden Tours-Sud
#1 of 10 in Chambray-Les-Tours
299 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus L'Artist Hotel
4.8 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Beaulieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Beaulieu

Property: Chateau de Beaulieu
Address: 67 rue de Beaulieu, 37300, Tours, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tours
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tours
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Beaulieu 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th-century Chateau Nestled Amid Idyllic Park And Gardens - 4 Km From City Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Chateau de Beaulieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Beaulieu Tours

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing