We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple two star but excellent”
Review of Hotel du Manoir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel du Manoir
Ranked #27 of 88 Hotels in Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2011

I run a small solo operated French travel agency specialising in custom built, independent tours in France. Tours is an ideal destination for the traveller who wants a short time out of Paris in the provinces and does not want to drive. An hour and a quarter out of Paris, Tours is the centre for trips to the castles of the Loire and is an interesting city in its own right. I visited in September 2009 but have booked people there since.
Hotel du Manoir is excellent. It is two and a half blocks from the main rail station and so within easy distance on foot of restaurants, tourist office (where trips depart) and cultural sites. Owners are unfailingly courteous, friendly and helpful. The breakfast is outstanding for a small hotel. There are many more esteemed hotels where I have not been able to get freshly ground and brewed decaf coffee for breakfast. There is fresh fruit, yoghurt, cheese, cereal and an interesting and changing variety of patisseries and spreads.
Rooms are a good size, scrupulously clean and very comfortable. Monsieur will park your car in the very tight front yard of the hotel. He mended my computer overnight and presented it to me at breakfast next morning. I have probably booked about 12 lots of clients here and they all have loved the hotel and really appreciated the service, the comfort, the breakfast and the convenience. Many of these clients would normally be three or four star hotel clients who were delighted. Well recommended on every count.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aboutfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Manoir
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 178 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2010

We stopped at Tours on our way back to Calais with four fractious kids and a fractious couple of parents! We wandered around and decided to stay the night. Looking in our Rough Guide we found this little gem and happily got two rooms big enough for us all.

It was lovely, quiet, friendly, clean and a haven for us after a hard day's travel.

We got a good deal for us all and it included three free breakfasts. No matter what you usually think about hotel breakfasts: have this one! It was a lovely range of meat, cheese, eggs, yoghurts and pastries. Top of the range and all organic - a real treat and genuinely delicious, not a packaged thing in sight (apart from some of the jams).

Can't recommend this highly enough, we'll be back.

When you eat out in the evening take a good walk around the old town before choosing, lots of great and unusual places. Don't forget many don't open until 7pm though.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
2  Thank overthemill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We have stayed for 3 nights in this hotel in August 2010. We had two rooms as we were travelling two parents with one child and one grandfather. The rooms are clean, with nice bathrooms.
The staff is very nice and helpful, but we speak French, so I do not know how they manage in other languages.
The hotel does not have A/C, but for us it was perfect, as the weather was very cool.
We also took the excellent breakfast for an extra 9 euro per adult, and it was with very good quality organic products.
Wifi internet is included for free.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for people on a modest budget.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

comfortable hotel, could use a few updates but for the price it is on point. The location is perfect easy walk to cafe's and for sight seeing. There is a great park behind to walk or just watch people. The staff was very helpful. The breakfast was nice and available all morning. The only drawback is the construction across the street and it will go on for sometime. But if you take advantage of the city you will be gone during the bulk of the noise.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colleen53ashevillenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2009

This hotel is very poor . The street it is on has prostitutes, we saw two outside the hotel on our way back from a meal out.

There is no air conditioning, no fans which at the end of August makes the rooms unbelievably hot. The only person in the hotel to have a fan is the live-in manageress. The hotel is on a road which is fairly busy with traffic throughout the night, and don't forget the rubbish carts which arrive at 6.00am.

The room rate might seem good value but don't forget to add breakfast, parking charges and tax, basically another 50% onto your bill.

The only decent feature is the breakfast which is not included in the price.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LazyMcLazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We stayed at the Manoir for one night in the middle of our trip to the loire . The staff were very helpful, our room was clean and adequate . Car parking was useful at 6 euros . We walked to the old town in the evening ,about fifteen minutes walk , booked a restaurant for dinner , on a little side street , it was called " Gourmand ". Food was wonderful , Bit more pricey , but worth it and much nicer than the tourist restaurants on the main street . You wont be dissappointed if you eat there. The owner was very friendly and welcoming .

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scrumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

The hotel was near the railway station, and most locations in town were within walking distance. The staff were courteous but the room was small and not clean The lift was barely big enough for two people without luggage. Whilst there was no stand out problems the descriptions by other visitors whch give the hotel a number 1 rating are not representative of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Afagato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tours hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ronsard
Hotel Ronsard
#8 of 88 in Tours
384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colbert
Hotel Colbert
#4 of 88 in Tours
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#11 of 88 in Tours
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Val de Loire Hotel
Val de Loire Hotel
#33 of 88 in Tours
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Logis Hotel des Chateaux de la Loire
0.3 mi away
Best Western Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Manoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Manoir

Address: 2 rue Traversiere, 37000, Tours, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Tours
Price Range: $87 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Manoir 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet street of the city center, the hotel is a 5-minute walk away from Tours train station. Our 20 rooms all have en-suite bathroom and TV. All floors can be easily reached with our lift. Paying parking spaces are available upon previous request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel du Manoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Manoir Hotel
Du Manoir Tours

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing