We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply fantastic!”
Review of Le Theleme

Le Theleme
Ranked #83 of 601 Restaurants in Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fusion
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Simply fantastic!”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We arrived just prior to service commencing on a Saturday evening without a reservation. Luckily we were welcomed warmly by the lady owner and were sat at a large table in the window. Later on as the restaurant filled up, we realised this was a very popular place with the knowledgable locals. Plumping for one of the set meals, we were delighted as each dish arrived. Not only were the dishes delicious, they were delightfully presented. We started with foie gras and prawn and our mains were a fish and a steak dish. The service was of the highest standard but in no way intrusive. As per the previous reviews, our host sensed we were tourist and proceeded to inform us of the various sighseeing opportunities in the vicinity. Yes, the location of the restaurant is uninspiring as the road outside is being dug up. Nevertheless, you shouldn't let this detract from the unpretentious but stylish ambiance of this restaurant. It was a pleasant surprise for us to find this super restaurant on our first night.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FayetteBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    71
    12
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tyndrum.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A jewel found by chance”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

What a gem. After 4weeks of traveling and dining out we stumbled on this restaurant without booking. Our reception was great and we were shown to a premier table, not the usual back corner one as so often happens. Service and food were brilliant. The owner spent time with us and gave us a detailed history of the chateaux in the area and which we should visit. Her son was very knowledgable of the wines of the area and delivered us a bottle of wine suitable to our South Austtralian taste.
Overall a fantastic evening which will standout in our memories of our long holiday.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maurice555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Jewel Family Owned”
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We were on a 15 day tour of France and ended up in Tours...our hotel recommended this restaurant.
I can not say enough nice things about this restaurant.....the food, service and ambience was excellent.
The owner spent time with us explaining everything in English and even told us of some spots in France that we must see.
The husband, son and daughter in law are the chefs ...I had the best salmon ever....My husband had the best duck ...we recomend this restaurant very highly.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank margaretm562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A magical little restaurant!”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Booked at the last minute by phone, Le Thélème is in the most offputting of locations, on a deserted dark road ruined by the ongoing tram works- but do not let its setting put you off. We were welcomed into the cosy, well-decorated, quirky restaurant with three different levels of comfy seating complete with cushions. The table was set with precision and everything was immaculately clean. The place was warm and lively and it was nice to be able to watch the plates coming out of the kitchen.
The waitress and waiter were some of the most professional, polite and friendly people we have encountered in a restaurant, slowing the usually fast French down so we could understand every word. They even endeavoured to tell us the exact location of some of the dishes.
The menu is extremely varied and full of wonderful plates of food, with a good range of vegetarian and meat-filled dishes. We were served an exciting amuse bouche before our meal. For starters, three of us chose Gambas with sauteed cauliflower, discs of beetroot and wafer-thin slices of mango jelly, with the other having goats cheese from the nearby St-Maure-de-Touraine farm with avocado cream, rocket salad and black pepper ganache. These dishes were fabulous- full of flavour and vibrancy.
The mains were less spectacular- but still were cooked to perfection and tasted great. We all had tender cod fillets on an aubergine ragout with a tomato provencal sauce.
For dessert, we enjoyed "Secret Tibetan tea" ice-cream, with a ginger snap, sour lemon jelly, and clementine mousse, which was sensational, and others had nougat ice-cream with an assortment of berries.
After our meal, the waitress came over to our table and spoke at length to us about how to spend our last day in the Valley. She recommended Fontevraud and Loches, the latter of which we visited the next day- and she was right, it is a small but magical place.
We came out of the restaurant feeling very happy that we had found a hidden gem in among the tacky pizzerias of central Tours. Highly recommended!!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank neppyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Suprisingly good food, a hidden gem!”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

The service at this restaurant was very good. Our water was refilled when it neared empty, and we could get information about the dishes in English from the waitress (one of the owners I think?).
The food might be even better still. We got one of our best meals in Tours here. We ate the entrecote, and got it just the way we wanted it, pink and perfect. My partner was very happy with his starter with goat cheese, and I really liked my salmon, even though it could have been even better with some lemon and more coriander (I can't get enough of coriander).

I would absolutely recommend this place in Tours!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank knyppeldynan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Theleme also viewed

Tours, Loire Valley
Tours, Loire Valley
 
Tours, Loire Valley
Tours, Loire Valley
 
Tours, Loire Valley
Tours, Loire Valley
 

Been to Le Theleme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing