We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When you want to be pampered..go to Charles!”

Restaurant Charles Barrier
Reserve with
Restaurant Charles Barrier is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #58 of 601 Restaurants in Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $133
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Breda
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“When you want to be pampered..go to Charles!”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Just great! One of the best restaurants in Tours. Great menu, great wines and champages. The service is sublime. They even speak a bit of English;-). When you want to have an extensive romantic dinner: you have to go to Charles.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    68
    24
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Why no enthusiasm??”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

We have been to this restaurant several times now on our overnight stay closeby (en route to Spain). While we always look forward to the menu 'Gourmande' we have to say that the atmosphere seems to become more austere and the staff less welcoming each visit. I do admit that our French is very poor and the English spoken at the restaurant is minimal, but we are always friendly, polite and appreciative so why the lack of interest?? It doesn't help that the 'Muzak' is really dire, Leonard Cohen would be jolly in comparison!! No doubt we shall visit again as the food is creative & delicious (if very expensive but it is Michelin starred). Just wish that the welcome and service was a little more friendly and that they could perhaps have a translation of their tasting menu, may seem a request too far but there have been English speakers present on other tables at every visit so far. Overall worth a visit for foodies but not if the ambience is important to you as it obviously loses something in translation!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynnpatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extraordinary dining in Tours, France”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We recently had the opportunity to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary while traveling in France. We were torn between celebrating in Tours or Paris. Logistically it made more sense to find a great restaurant in Tours. We asked friends in the area for their recommendation and they whole-heartedly recommended Restaurant Charles Barrier as the best in town. We were not to be disappointed. It is tucked away on a small side street with more than adequate parking. The entrance to the restaurant was inviting. We were seating indoors but overlooking a quaint courtyard. My daughter was with us and she has rather severe dietary restrictions (celiac disease). She contacted them via email prior to our arrival and they assured her that they would be able to provide her with a very enjoyable dining experience. The staff was excellent and worked diligently to make sure my daughter's needs were met. The wine choices were superb and paired very nicely with our dinner choices. We honestly could not have chosen a better restaurant for this occasion. They can count on us being back when in the area again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cemonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“too hard to get into”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

If you want to eat here and get the prix fixe menu, reserve well in advance. We were very disappointed to not be able to get in.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank strathspey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crozet, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Traditional atmosphere, great service, and innovative French cuisine in Tours”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

On a weeknight in Tours, where we were staying at the nearby Clarion Chareau Belmont (which I highly recommend), we decided to splurge for dinner at the Michelin starred (1) Charles Barrier restaurant (note: not the also good but much more informal and casual bistro of the same name). We showed our American sense of time by actually showing up when the restaurant opened at 7:30, and were the only customers in sight for a while. We chose one of the simplest options--appetizer and main dish only--but that, along with multiple amuses bouche, was plenty. I would describe the atmosphere as formal and correct but not "stuffy," the service as very good, and the food as being of high quality and reflecting innovative approaches to traditional cuisine for the Loire Valley region. The prices certainly were not low, but seemed reasonable for what we were getting. The only minor glitch of the evening was that after two and a half hours at the table, I was ready to pay the bill and go, but at that point the previously very attentive wait staff was not so responsive. I've run into this in upscale restaurants in France before--I think they simply can't believe you want to leave in such an unseemly "hurry."

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wahoo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Charles Barrier also viewed

 
Tours, Loire Valley
Tours, Loire Valley
 

Been to Restaurant Charles Barrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing